Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Ranch Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Ranch Dressing

    Average Rating:

    47 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 47

    Sort by:

    • on April 24, 2003

      Thank you Mirj! I'm so glad you posted this "legal" recipe! I too love Ranch dressing. I've seen other recipes with a million ingredients, so this was a welcome suprise! In my humble opinion, this tastes better when you chill it overnight. The flavors have a chance to mingle and it firms up nicely! Love this stuff on raw broccoli, mushrooms, and celery.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2003

      This is a great dressing. I made it using everything low fat and it turned out awesome!!!! I created a monster with this stuff....my husband wants it everynight with his salad. Thank you Mirj for getting my husband to eat his vegetables!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 21, 2003

      This is the perfect Ranch flavor, without the "yucky stuff." My DH complained that it was too "mayonnaisy," and I felt it got a little *too* thick in the fridge, so next time I'll try 1 c. mayo & 1 c. sour cream, which might solve both issues.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2003

      I agree with this being a great recipe for an Atkins diet. I am watching my cholesterol and carbs and this recipe fills the bill. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 23, 2003

      Mirj you have made my life a little more tasty. I love ranch, but most have MSG. I have a lot of sensitivities. This is awesome. I used it for the dressing dip for Carmen's Ranch Chicken #49410. We had stir fry veggies with your dressing. Thank you so much! Peggy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2003

      This should be a #1 Atkins Diet recipe! I have been tired of eating salad with vinegrette and this is dressing is great and on my diet too! I made this dressing to go along with plain vegetable salad at a recent dairy meal and this was definately the hit of the meal. I have been eating the leftovers all week and just went out to buy more ingredients. This is also great used as a dip for veggies and I hope to make it next as a creamy cucumber salad. This dressing has really livened up my boring salads! It was so easy to make too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2003

      Great! I must watch the fats, so I made it with skim milk and lowfat sour cream, and it's still creamy and delicious. I too love this kind of dressing on my steamed vegetables. I believe it can also be made with natural low fat yogurt.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 05, 2003

      Ranch is my grandson's favourite dressing & he says this is awesome - so move over Mr. Kraft!! Its also very quick & easy to prepare. Thanx Mirj!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2011

      This is a good basic Ranch recipe, but definitely needed more flavor. I doubled the dill and garlic powder, added in a bit of onion powder and paprika, a pinch of salt and pepper, and was much happier with the results.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2004

      Wow, so easy and tastes much better than the bottled stuff! I usually have all the ingredients on hand, so it'll be easy to whip it up when I need a dressing. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2004

      I didn't even know what this was before it was called for in another recipe. I really liked it. My bf said it was great. I liked the creamy, tangy, garliciness of it, especially as I've never had premade before. I plan to make this for sandwiches. I put it in some tinned salmon and it was lovely!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2003

      Mirj, pardon me for saying so, but I could not be MORE delighted that you had to resort to this to have Ranch in Israel! This is "lick the spoon" good! Due to dh's celiac disease, it has been really hard to find a really good ranch dressing, even in restaurants. We'll be taking this with us in a little container. LOL

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 25, 2014

      Wow! This was a big surprise. Who knew you could make such a great tasting dressing with so few ingredients? After reading a couple reviews, I decided to use less mayo, I'm a little mayo sensitive, so I used 1 cup and left everything else the same. Turned out great! Thanks for posting this simple and delicious keeper recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2014

      This dressing rocks! I halved it because I didn't need that much dressing - I cut the mayo down even further to 1/2 cup. I think the proportions are forgiving, and that makes this recipe versatile. It's fantastic paired with chicken and assorted veggies on a big dinner salad. After I put the salad together, I added some freshly ground Himalayan salt and black pepper to the top. It paired really well with seasoned baked potato wedges, and it would also be a great dipping sauce for a veggie platter. Thank you so much for posting such a tasty, simple recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2012

      Way too strong on the mayo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2011

      I agree with other reviews that this is a good basic ranch recipe. I like a little more flavor, so I also added more garlic, onion powder, parsley and paprika. I did think it was a bit too lemony and slightly too mayo-y, but after tinkering with it a bit it tasted pretty good. Mine was not runny at all, something that I really like as most homemade ranch recipes just don't have that same consistency as storebought. Will continue to use this as a base and cut back on the lemon juice in the future, thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 12, 2010

      This makes a great base for ranch dressing but I added some extras to make it to my tastes (to be fair though, I didn't let the original recipe sit long enough to know what it tastes like after the flavors melded). I added extra garlic powder, onion powder, paprika, black pepper, salt, and parsley. It is soooo good (after sitting for an hour) I could eat it with a spoon.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2010

    • on April 09, 2010

      Although this recipe was good, it was a little lacking in flavor. So I added about 1/2 tsp salt, 1 tsp sugar, and a pinch of black pepper. This also toned down the strong mayo flavor. Part of my problem may have been that I used plain yogurt instead of the sour cream, since I was out. Will definitely try the recipe again with sour cream. It tasted good on wings and I'm sure it would be great on a tomato sandwich.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      This was very good! My family really liked it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Ranch Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (34 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 16

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 113.4
     
    Calories from Fat 91
    80%
    Total Fat 10.1 g
    15%
    Saturated Fat 2.7 g
    13%
    Cholesterol 14.5 mg
    4%
    Sodium 163.9 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 5.8 g
    1%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.7 g
    6%
    Protein 0.4 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites