48 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Thank you Mirj! I'm so glad you posted this "legal" recipe! I too love Ranch dressing. I've seen other recipes with a million ingredients, so this was a welcome suprise! In my humble opinion, this tastes better when you chill it overnight. The flavors have a chance to mingle and it firms up nicely! Love this stuff on raw broccoli, mushrooms, and celery.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yooper April 24, 2003

This is a great dressing. I made it using everything low fat and it turned out awesome!!!! I created a monster with this stuff....my husband wants it everynight with his salad. Thank you Mirj for getting my husband to eat his vegetables!!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boca Pat October 20, 2003

This is the perfect Ranch flavor, without the "yucky stuff." My DH complained that it was too "mayonnaisy," and I felt it got a little *too* thick in the fridge, so next time I'll try 1 c. mayo & 1 c. sour cream, which might solve both issues.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
evewitch September 21, 2003

I agree with this being a great recipe for an Atkins diet. I am watching my cholesterol and carbs and this recipe fills the bill. Delicious!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
M. Joan June 25, 2003

Mirj you have made my life a little more tasty. I love ranch, but most have MSG. I have a lot of sensitivities. This is awesome. I used it for the dressing dip for Carmen's Ranch Chicken #49410. We had stir fry veggies with your dressing. Thank you so much! Peggy

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Young Living in Texas June 23, 2003

This should be a #1 Atkins Diet recipe! I have been tired of eating salad with vinegrette and this is dressing is great and on my diet too! I made this dressing to go along with plain vegetable salad at a recent dairy meal and this was definately the hit of the meal. I have been eating the leftovers all week and just went out to buy more ingredients. This is also great used as a dip for veggies and I hope to make it next as a creamy cucumber salad. This dressing has really livened up my boring salads! It was so easy to make too.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Caryn Gale June 09, 2003

Great! I must watch the fats, so I made it with skim milk and lowfat sour cream, and it's still creamy and delicious. I too love this kind of dressing on my steamed vegetables. I believe it can also be made with natural low fat yogurt.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lilyvictoria May 21, 2003

Ranch is my grandson's favourite dressing & he says this is awesome - so move over Mr. Kraft!! Its also very quick & easy to prepare. Thanx Mirj!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CountryLady May 05, 2003

This is a good basic Ranch recipe, but definitely needed more flavor. I doubled the dill and garlic powder, added in a bit of onion powder and paprika, a pinch of salt and pepper, and was much happier with the results.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Emoximuu April 12, 2011

Wow, so easy and tastes much better than the bottled stuff! I usually have all the ingredients on hand, so it'll be easy to whip it up when I need a dressing. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grace Lynn April 16, 2004
Homemade Ranch Dressing