76 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This salad was really good! I followed other reviewers suggestions and used just a .5 oz packet of the dressing mix, kept the peas frozen, and used a couple slices of real bacon. It turned out really well except there wasn't as much of it as I thought there'd be. I was planning on making a double batch, but decided to try adding the extra cooked noodles (2 cups uncooked) to the finished batch first to see how it was. I thought that it was even better than before and didn't need anything else! I will definitely be making this again!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pismo December 09, 2006

Thanks so much for this delicious pasta salad! I use McCormick Bac'n Pieces because they are vegetarian, and still-frozen peas because you don't have to worry about being gentle when stirring. After you chill for a few hours, they have defrosted. Also like to use Barilla Mini Farfalle (bow ties). This is fantastic!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kelli701 June 26, 2010

I loved this salad even without the carrots and peas!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
a-torres June 16, 2009

This was really good. I made a double batch of the dressing, half for a party and half for my family. I used a little less than half on ours. I kept the bacon (real) and the pasta in the same amount, and doubled the peas and carrot. Next time I will increase them even more. I used frozen peas...dumped them in. So easy and super yummy. Never had Suddenly Salad, but this is really good. Thanks.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
farmchick #2 April 10, 2009

Really easy. I won't need to buy the box kind again. I used a green onion ranch dip mix from Hidden Valley. Thanks for posting.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Andrea #2 April 26, 2011

This salad is a winner! I don't remember if I ever bought the boxed kind but there's no way I would ever buy it know when this recipe is so easy to make and so yummy. How can anything with bacon be bad? Thank you for posting a keeper!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lvs2Cook January 27, 2010

I am not familar with "suddenly Salad", but this salad is really good. I do not buy bacon bits so I used bacon, fried, and crumbled. I used a different brand ranch dressing mix, and only used maybe 3/4 of it. Followed the directions as written. In reading the reviews, I see some added chicken to the salad to make it more of a main luncheon salad.....I will keep that in mind the next time we have a potluck luncheon at work.....but until then, I will file this in my hard copy recipe file and will be sure to make it often this summer. Thanks for posting such a tasty salad.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sandylee March 12, 2007

I loved this pasta salad. I used home made mayonnaise, crumbled crispy bacon slices and followed all of the directions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marie Nixon September 02, 2013

I make this at least twice a month if not more. I use bacon bits or fry some bacon if I don't have the bacon bits on hand. I use frozen peas and carrots and bottled dressing since I always have it on hand. This seems to be better than the box and faster too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LRMyers1968 August 28, 2013

Excellent! I will make this one a lot!! Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
catmaniacs June 22, 2013
Homemade "Suddenly Salad"