Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade "Suddenly Salad" Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade "Suddenly Salad"

    Average Rating:

    76 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 76

    Sort by:

    • on December 09, 2006

      This salad was really good! I followed other reviewers suggestions and used just a .5 oz packet of the dressing mix, kept the peas frozen, and used a couple slices of real bacon. It turned out really well except there wasn't as much of it as I thought there'd be. I was planning on making a double batch, but decided to try adding the extra cooked noodles (2 cups uncooked) to the finished batch first to see how it was. I thought that it was even better than before and didn't need anything else! I will definitely be making this again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      Thanks so much for this delicious pasta salad! I use McCormick Bac'n Pieces because they are vegetarian, and still-frozen peas because you don't have to worry about being gentle when stirring. After you chill for a few hours, they have defrosted. Also like to use Barilla Mini Farfalle (bow ties). This is fantastic!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      I loved this salad even without the carrots and peas!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2009

      This was really good. I made a double batch of the dressing, half for a party and half for my family. I used a little less than half on ours. I kept the bacon (real) and the pasta in the same amount, and doubled the peas and carrot. Next time I will increase them even more. I used frozen peas...dumped them in. So easy and super yummy. Never had Suddenly Salad, but this is really good. Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 26, 2011

      Really easy. I won't need to buy the box kind again. I used a green onion ranch dip mix from Hidden Valley. Thanks for posting.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 27, 2010

      This salad is a winner! I don't remember if I ever bought the boxed kind but there's no way I would ever buy it know when this recipe is so easy to make and so yummy. How can anything with bacon be bad? Thank you for posting a keeper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      I am not familar with "suddenly Salad", but this salad is really good. I do not buy bacon bits so I used bacon, fried, and crumbled. I used a different brand ranch dressing mix, and only used maybe 3/4 of it. Followed the directions as written. In reading the reviews, I see some added chicken to the salad to make it more of a main luncheon salad.....I will keep that in mind the next time we have a potluck luncheon at work.....but until then, I will file this in my hard copy recipe file and will be sure to make it often this summer. Thanks for posting such a tasty salad.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2013

      I loved this pasta salad. I used home made mayonnaise, crumbled crispy bacon slices and followed all of the directions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2013

      I make this at least twice a month if not more. I use bacon bits or fry some bacon if I don't have the bacon bits on hand. I use frozen peas and carrots and bottled dressing since I always have it on hand. This seems to be better than the box and faster too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2013

      Excellent! I will make this one a lot!! Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 09, 2013

      ****Gluten Free**** My family has been gluten free for months now. I used Quinoa brand noodles, used the whole 1.0 package of Hidden Valley Ranch packet, and added more than the recipe called for of real bacon. This was delicious! It really does taste just like the box version but much better; especially knowing all the ingredients are fresh. %u2663

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2012

      I just finished eating this salad for lunch. It really does taste like the boxed salad. I cheated a bit because of the anticipation and used both frozen peas and carrots. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 25, 2012

      I had some baby carrots I wanted to use up, and I needed a side dish, so I decided to look for a recipe while my main dish was in the crock pot. There are very few boxed foods we eat, but Suddenly Salad's Ranch & Bacon is one of them and this recipe came pretty dang close to the store-bought, without all the preservatives. As this was a last minute find, I didn't have frozen peas on hand, but I'll be sure to use them when I make this again in the future. My family really enjoyed it and it's so quick & easy, that it's just as convenient as a box! Thanks for sharing this Wildflour!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2011

      not as good as a regular stuff but not bad

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2011

      Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 29, 2010

      What a tasty way to save money! Even my 2 picky DDs like this version! Thanks for a terrific side for all sorts of meals!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 03, 2009

      I enjoyed this salad! I used veggie bacon bits and a little extra carrot. Thanks for a yummy lunch! Made for TYM game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2009

      This was perfect!!! DD tried the boxed variety at a friends house and requested this (??????) for her birthday dinner. Not one for boxed anything I turned to Zaar for the rescue and voila, there was your recipe. She loved it and so didn't the rest of the family. Thank you so much for posting this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2009

      This was a nice and easy side dish to prepare with our burgers the other night. I really like the dressing it makes....and it's probably just as easy to put together as Suddenly Salad is. My children didn't care for it as much as I did though so I will probably stick to using it for adults.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 21, 2009

      My husband and daughter LOVE Suddenly Salad, and they will make 2 boxes and eat it over a couple of days! I hate that it is so expensive, so I'm really happy to have this recipe! I made it for them 2 times in the last couple of weeks.. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade "Suddenly Salad"

    Serving Size: 1 (139 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 402.4
     
    Calories from Fat 159
    39%
    Total Fat 17.7 g
    27%
    Saturated Fat 3.0 g
    15%
    Cholesterol 17.0 mg
    5%
    Sodium 478.6 mg
    19%
    Total Carbohydrate 50.9 g
    16%
    Dietary Fiber 3.3 g
    13%
    Sugars 6.2 g
    24%
    Protein 10.2 g
    20%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    hidden valley ranch dressing mix

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites