Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Powdered Sugar Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Powdered Sugar

    Average Rating:

    35 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 35

    Sort by:

    • on October 13, 2012

      Great recipe! Saved me from having to go to the store....DO NOT DOUBLE! It didn't work as well with two cups of sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 02, 2011

      Oh thank you for posting this! I was in the middle of making the filling for homemade Oreos and looked in my pantry and what didn't I see? Yuppers you guessed it powdered sugar. I thought there was some majical way they made it honestly lol been a baker for more than two decades and always bought my own... Well that stops today! Easy fast and I always have on hand both ingredients. Thanks Southern!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2011

      This works great and is much cheaper than buying it in the store!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2011

      I do this in my coffee grinder-not-used-for-coffee. Works great, makes a cloud of dust when you open though if you aren't careful. In many recipes, you can leave out the cornstarch.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2007

      I am making donuts and I need 2 cups of powdered sugar for glazed donuts and don't have it. Now I do. Thanks so much I live 20 miles away from town, can't just go to the store. Thank You, Thank You Thank You!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2012

      I live way out of town so it's great to know th way to get round not having the ingredients you need Thanks so much

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      I don't buy powdered sugar anymore. I use this recipe! Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2010

      Perfect and powdered in a coffee mill with or even without a starch. I used tapioca starch to be corn free. I would use this recipe again for sure.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 12, 2010

      Thank you, powdered sugar is very price here. I works and a lot cheaper!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2010

      Works wonderfully! I used my not-for-coffee coffee grinder (I don't have a large food processor or blender)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 30, 2010

      This was a perfect find. I was making a recipe that didn't have powdered sugar in the ingredient list. In my hurry to make the recipe, I made the mistake of not reading thru the directions first. Guess what? I needed powdered sugar. So thank you for saving my recipe. It was perfect.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2009

      Didn't have corn starch so I used what I normally use in lieu of corn starch: potato starch. It came out powdery, but not as powdery as I'd want. Will try to run it through the food processor again tomorrow - maybe I hadn't left it running long enough (2 minutes). I used it on the Recipezaar recipe for funnel cake, with great results. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      I keep forgetting to review this. I use it for so many recipes...and l often tell other people about it. Great money saving recipe and easy to prepare ahead. Thanks for saving me alot of money!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2008

      Thank you! I rarely have confectioner's sugar on hand, but I always have cornstarch and regular sugar. This was so simple I won't worry about buying it any more. My blender had a bit of a hard time with it, so I'll try it in my food processor next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 31, 2008

      How easy and sooo much cheaper than store bought! Thank you for helping me keep the food bill down.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2008

      Thank you for this recipe. I actually can't have corn starch (newly developed food allergies) and was going to give up "powdered sugar" but your recipe gave me the information I needed to make substitutes. Now I can make my own using Arrowroot instead of corn starch. My recipes taste just as good as before! Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2008

      Oh yes !! You have just saved my recipe..I thought I had Powdered Sugar. Just used it for Old School-Deja Vu Chocolate Peanut Butter Squares. Thank You Thank You!! Have a wonderful day!! Hugs

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      This really works remarkably well! You saved my dessert I was in the middle of making when I found I was out of powdered sugar!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2014

      Turned out great for a recipe I ran short of powdered sugar in! I used flour instead of cornstarch due to the cornstarch likelihood of GMOs...made no difference! Thanks southern chef!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2014

      I'm not sure what I did wrong but I tried this in the food processor and the blender and it came out slightly powdery but way to grainy.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Powdered Sugar

    Serving Size: 1 (208 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 804.4
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 207.2 g
    69%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 199.6 g
    798%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites