Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Potato Tots ( Tater Tots ) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Potato Tots ( Tater Tots )

    Average Rating:

    15 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-15 of 15

    Sort by:

    • on February 14, 2011

      Try this: after you have made your tatertot balls, roll them in some egg wash and bread crumbs, then fry them. Delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 07, 2009

      I live in the Netherlands - a TaterTot-free zone - so I had to find a substitute. Saw the problems with binding and made some changes, which worked-out very well: * Used a higher-protein bread flour instead and a small egg to bind it all * Used dehydrated onion instead. Less wet and it bound nicely. * Riced 6 potatoes and then roughly chopped the last two, so there were more meaty blocks of potato in the mix. In the deep fryer and it worked out perfectly! I also used some cracked pepper with my salt because I like the little kick. Really good recipe...Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 15, 2008

      I posted the recipe not knowing this was already posted. I made it again this weekend. Skip the onions and use dried onion flakes. It makes it more wet using the onion. Shape into balls and set in the fridge to chill. Make sure your deep fryer is on the hottest setting. Use a deep fryer. Pan won't get hot enough. My kids won't touch the bagged stuff. They love this recipe. You can add a cube of cheese in the middle of each tater tot while shapping them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2011

      I made some alterations by accident - forgot the flour - and only boiled up two potatoes. I wanted to make sure my DD liked them before making a full batch. They still turned out good w/o the flour and my DD liked them. I think the trick for the potatoes is to boil them just until you can put your fork through them without them breaking or cracking. I used my cheese grater (the smallest hole side) and shredded the potatoes. They were actually kinda sticky. I grated about 1/4 cup of onion and minced about 3 garlic cloves. I put the mixuture into one of my icing bags with a cupler and squeezed out tiny logs - about 1 to 2 inches long. I got about 60 little logs. I fried them up in about 3-4 TBS olive oil, then baked them at 400 degrees for about 15 minutes. Thanks for a great school lunch addition to "spice" things up from the ordinary sandwich.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 22, 2011

      These tots taste like little bites of heaven, but MAN this is a lot of work. The only thing I changed in the recipe was I subsitutes eggs for flour since I was unknowingly out of flour when putting all this together. Also, you MUST drain water out of the potatoes by squeezing them in a some sort of cloth otherwise they will not stick together.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 18, 2010

      Thank You, Thank You, Thank You!!! This recipe is wonderful. I had a ton of potatoes from our garden and was looking for ways to use them. My kids love tater tots, but I hardly ever buy them. We try to stay away from processed and pre-prepared foods, so was tickled when I found this recipe. I cooked my potatoes in the microwave like a baked potato, and then when they came out I used my food processor to chop them up. Worked great. I then added remaining ingredients (I used dehydrated onions though) and placed my mixture into a disposable pastry bag, snipped off the end and piped out long potato rolls. I then cut them into bite sized nuggets and fried them in oil. My kids were eating them faster than I could fry them. I am planning on making a lot more of these for the freezer this winter. They had an awesome flavor!! Thank you Kittencal for another awesome recipe!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 09, 2014

      This recipe was awesome!!! I am trying to stay away from processed foods but hubby missed his tater tots. So I tried this recipe and I didn't have any problems. I set my electric skillet at 350 and they fried up nicely. I baked my first batch of potatoes for 25 minutes as I was using my oven anyway.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2014

      Do not boil the potatoes until soft. Boil them until them are semi hard still then grate. If you boil them all the way, you wind up with potato cakes. Tasty recipe though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 23, 2010

      turned out very yummy!!. I did use a deep fryer and i added the egg. I also used one of those pampered chef chopper thingy and that worked great! Thanks i will never buy frozen again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2009

    • on December 29, 2008

      I had the problem of them disintegrating on me also. So, I put in an egg and a little bit more flour. The kids liked them with a small cheese cube in the middle. I wasn't to fond of them. They tasted more like fried mashed potatoes to me. They take forever to make. I am still making them and I am going to try it with the oil not so hot and see what happens.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2008

      The flavor of these were good with the onions. The making of them -- not so good. I must have done something wrong -- maybe not grated finely enough, but the actual making of the tator tots wasn't pretty. They kept disintegrating on me in the hot oil. I tried both in a pan on the stove and in the deep fryer. So I ended up turning them into fritters and they were yummy. Sorry. I can't figure out what I did wrong, but I can't imagine the problem was with the directions so it must have been me. The taste was good once I turned them into fritters, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2007

      Just made these and they came out tasting great! The onions made them taste even better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      I am living in Mexico right now, and I have looked everywhere and can't find any, so I am going to try this out. Sounds good :) Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 27, 2006

      I had some potatoes that I needed to use up before they went bad, so I gave this a try. The tater tots turned out well, and they tasted great. It was really labor intensive, though. It took me almost an hour to get all the potato balls fried up. It's a good way to use up leftover potatoes, but it can't compete with the store-bought price when my time is factored in. Thanks for posting, though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Potato Tots ( Tater Tots )

    Serving Size: 1 (1738 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 33.5
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    73%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 60.7 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 7.5 g
    2%
    Dietary Fiber 0.9 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.3 g
    1%
    Protein 0.8 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites