Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Potato and Cheese Pierogies / Old Fashioned Perogies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Potato and Cheese Pierogies / Old Fashioned Perogies

    Average Rating:

    10 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-10 of 10

    Sort by:

    • on January 15, 2011

      Thank you so much for this recipe it is exactly like my Grandmothers "Baba" I opened a restaurant March of 2010 now the perogies are on going the menu as of next week. My grandmother has passed on years ago, the recipe was lost. I remembered the ingredients but not the amounts as I was doing a trial run of the Pierogies I was in tears because my grandmother was sitting on my sholders telling me what to do. In honnor of my Grandmother the restaurant is called Baba"s Kitchen. Stop on by !!!!!!!! Asheville North Carolina. Thank you so much for bringing back the fond memories of my Grandmother. Regards and Hugs Carol Meenan

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      This is a great recipe, like my great grandmother used to make. I would like to add that after boiling and dried they need to be fried in pork fat renderd from cut up fat back (not salt pork). after cooking the pieces of fat back skim the pieces out with slotted spoon, then in hot oil cook lots of garlic skim that out then fry a chopped onion in the same oil. now you are ready to fry the pierogies. the garlic and onion give the oil a flavor that it incorperated through the perogies. probably not the healthiest way but the way my great grandmother used to make, enjoy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2010

      I have to say, a Pierogi was something I always thought would be one of those next to impossible little buggers to make. I personally do not like Pierogis but that's ok, my whole family loves them! I seen your recipe and the dough seemed easy enough so I figured I would try to make them. I did cheat. I bought a bag of the frozen Mashed Potatoes. It was a bag from Alexi company or something like that that cooks in the Micro for 10 min. I then added 2 large handfuls of store bought shredded cheddar cheese & black pepper to the potato mix & started stuffing them & boiling them. Well.. they came out fantastic! my Dad who goes crazy for Pierogi's then fried them up in butter and said they were Polish Restaurant quality. Thank you so much for sharing! I will be using my Kraut recipe next as a filling!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2013

      These pierogies are so awesome. We made them for the first time and they all look awesome and taste so delicious no matter if they are freshly cooked, fried or snacked out the fridge a few days later. We'll have pierogies very often from now on. Thank you for this recipe!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2010

      Excellent recipe- was fantastic! I tweaked the flavors in the potato mixture a lot...otherwise did everything exact and the perogies were so yum. Served with Niman Ranch Apple Gouda sausage, bacon and green beans.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 15, 2008

      Tasty!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2005

      I made these for my boyfriend as an entree for dinner last week. He loves them! The recipe was so easy to follow. He wants me to make more for him! I think I will try other fillings in the future!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2004

      YUM! really good! lots of work, but the yeild was very large... and i froze some for later.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2004

      I think these were great! I had leftover cheese mashed potatoes i used instead. A great way to use up leftovers. My husband loved them as well! definitley be making these again, and the directions were very user friendly!! thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2003

      Well Mimi I did it. I thought these were great. Your directions were wonderful. Thanks I will be trying your other Pierogies recipies in the future.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Potato and Cheese Pierogies / Old Fashioned Perogies

    Serving Size: 1 (305 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 512.6
     
    Calories from Fat 115
    22%
    Total Fat 12.8 g
    19%
    Saturated Fat 5.6 g
    28%
    Cholesterol 72.7 mg
    24%
    Sodium 870.3 mg
    36%
    Total Carbohydrate 80.1 g
    26%
    Dietary Fiber 3.7 g
    14%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 17.5 g
    35%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites