9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Fun, fun, fun!!! Even better is that they tasted way better than store bought pop tart! My DH was so impressed! I used strawberry jam, baked at 425 for about 12 mins, brushed with powdered sugar glaze that included a couple drops of almond extract and then finished with colorful sprinkles. They looked adorable! Thanks for the delicious, easy, quick keeper recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lucky in Bayview January 23, 2014

Five stars! Here's what I did: I used Pillsbury refrigerated pie crusts & rolled them out flatter, and trimmed them so I got six 3x5 rectangles out of each pie crust (so 12 rectangles = 6 poptarts). I spread 1 generous teaspoon of strawberry jam on half of them and topped with the other half. Crimped edges & pricked top with fork. Baked at 450 for 8 minutes. I melted some cake frosting and glazed them and used sprinkles too. Family loved them--better than the storebought, they said!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
HisPixie April 20, 2008

Totally loved these!! My daughter is allergic to soy and eggs and thankfully, Pillsbury refrigerated pie crust is safe to eat! We used Conchito guava preserves. So good...thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Michelle Figueroa January 16, 2014

Loved this recipe. It was so easy and earned me the titl of "Best Nanna" with the DGSs and friend who is visiting. They loved the taste and I loved knowing what was in it. So easy using refrigerated pie crusts and then I followed ZeeCooks idea of melting prepared frosting to use as the glaze and topping with sprinkles. Easy and looked great. Thanks so much for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie G #2 November 07, 2010

These were really good! So much flakier and tastier than a regular pop tart. I put more fruit filling in them, too. I frosted them with a basic glaze and they were a big hit. I will be trying some variations for sure! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SteelerSue December 17, 2009

I love these! Better than poptarts! I mix some cinnamon and brown sugar together for mine! I love that kind! What a great recipe, fun! Thank you!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lisajean77 December 16, 2009

good food. looks like a real pop tart

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
poliny1999 October 26, 2009

Really, really good. They probably would have been fabulous frosted but I couldn't wait that long this time. I used the "Most Incredible No Fail Pie Crust" recipe off this site. Thanks so much for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookbook junkie 2001 August 12, 2009

This is a good idea! I made these for DH, who adores the real thing. Mine were very messy, but I chalk that up to user error since I had trouble rolling the crust. I used low sugar preserves (not frankensugar, just reduced sugar). It would have been nice to have an approximate amount of jam in the recipe. They must be yummy, because even though mine came out mangled I couldn't toss them :). ETA: DH just came home and tried these, and he is a fan. He says they are surprisingly like the real thing :).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
smellyvegetarian April 14, 2008
Homemade Pop-Tarts