Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Pizza Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Pizza Sauce

    Average Rating:

    93 Total Reviews

    Showing 81-93 of 93

    Sort by:

    • on October 16, 2006

      Outstanding, says it all!! I needed a quick pizza sauce recipe to whip up and this done the trick. The ingredients are everything that I had on hand. I will keep this in my cookbook.. Thank you MizzNezz for an awesome recipe..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2006

      My husband says this makes the best pizza. It is very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 03, 2006

      Very tasty sauce. I added on tbsp of brown sugar as suggested by a reviewer, but my kids said the sauce was too sweet. I guess I will stick to what was written next time. Thank you for posting

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2006

      This recipe sure doesn't need another glowing review but it was so dang good that I just had to add mine too! I made it as written except that I added 1 tsp of crushed red pepper and 1 tablespoon of honey. This is the best pizza sauce I've ever tasted! Thanks for posting the wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 05, 2006

      This was good. I sauteed the tomato paste and the onions together and it gave it a different sort of taste that is hard to describe, but pretty good. I doubled it and froze what I didn't use for later on. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 25, 2006

      Wowzers!!! This sauce is SO good! I read all the reviews, and I too had small changes, but not much that would change the flavour. It is Very hard to get Good Toms in winter, so I too Used a 15 oz can chopped toms. I drained liquid off (reserving) measured out a cup (8oz) toms, and pureed the rest. (I didnt have any tom sauce) Measured out 1 cup and went with it. I did everything the way the recipe called, but I did add 1 tsp w.sugar. the onions, i sauted, not browning but sweating them. When it came to the herbs, I only had dried. The recipe didnt specify what was used, so ASSUMING dry was used the I went a head and used the teaspoon of each. I got lucky, and it was right. If you only have fresh..the formula for that 1Tbsp FRESH = 1tsp DRY. I did start to notice it was getting real thick, so ended up adding all the left over puree AND the reserved Tom Juice which was about 1/3 cup. YUMMY....I could almost just eat this by itself...What a wonderful sauce! THANKS FOR SHARING.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 07, 2006

      This is an excellent sauce..I had to omit the tomato paste because noticed I had none after starting but I don't think it hurt the flavor. I did add a tsp of sugar to cut the acid but made no other changes and my family loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 20, 2005

      Fabulous sauce! This is exactly the pizza sauce I've been trying to replicate for years. Since it is just past tomato season, I used a 15-ounce can of diced tomatoes and pressed out all the juice. It worked great. Definitely a keeper recipe. Thank you, Mizz Nezz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2005

      This is an OMG recipe! I have been using another from Recipezaar, but decided to try this one and am I glad. I added one tsp of sugar (or Splenda) because I find the tomato paste in any recipe a little bitter and it made it just to my liking. Thanks so much for a recipe that will be used many times. Carole in Orlando

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2005

      This is great Pizza Sauce! I also added chopped canned tomatoes and a Tablespoon of brown sugar and a tiny bit of water. It really turned out wonderful tasting and full of flavor. Thanks MizzNezz..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2004

      This was ,indeed, very thick. I thought it tasted a lot like the pizza sauce in a jar - hubby who likes that stuff, loved this sauce. Overall, not bad - but I prefer Nick Stellino's No-Cook Pizza Sauce (on this site) - it tastes more like whats on a NY style pizza...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 25, 2004

      A very thick sauce! I also added some brown sugar and next time will add a little water. Better than store-bought!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2004

      Absolutely loved this recipe. I added the brown sugar, more water, and marjoram as others mentioned and just loved it. I froze "pizza size servings" in freezer bags. Now when I want to make pizza I just pop a bag out of the freezer. Also much cheaper and more substantial than buying canned pizza sauce. I've had such a hard time with sauces and I had almost given up on homemade pizza, because I think the sauce really makes the pizza, thanks MizzNezz!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 5 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Pizza Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (713 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 264.0
     
    Calories from Fat 130
    49%
    Total Fat 14.5 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2446.4 mg
    101%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 7.3 g
    29%
    Sugars 19.4 g
    77%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites