96 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I omitted the tomato sauce and the tomato; just used a 28-oz. can of crushed tomatoes (no salt added) and 1/2 lb. of cooked/crumbled hot italian sausage. Added the other ingredients as listed. Fantastic!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KP in Canada September 20, 2008

What can I say? This pizza sauce recipe is AMAZING!!! I've tried so many pizza sauce recipes in the past few months and while most of them were okay, I didn't like any of them well enough to make them again. This one, however, I loved from the first bite. I thought to myself "Wow, I've FINALLY found my staple pizza sauce recipe!" Thank you for sharing this recipe. I will be using this recipe from now on. My search for the perfect sauce is over.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DeppFan September 19, 2008

Sauce was terrific. One of the things I like with pizza sauce is a bit of zest. I added a touch of red pepper powder. I also added a touch of sugar. It turned out great and my nieces liked it. Thanks for the idea.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jd_eller2004 August 21, 2008

I omitted the fresh tomatoes and added 2 (8-oz.) cans of tomato sauce instead. Tasted great and had the right consistency for the pizza..not too watery at all! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Vino p.o. prn June 23, 2008

I actually for once had everything on hand . I've never bought store pizza sauce but know it's much cheaper making it at home . This was great and been eating it with garlic breadsticks . Thank you !!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Lisonh June 22, 2008

This is now thee sauce for me !!Thanks Nezz

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Goodieman June 17, 2008

I love this Pizza Sauce!!! Changes I made included using 15 oz. can diced tomatoes w/ Italian seasoning instead of fresh tomatoes, added a pinch of sugar, and I simmered probably closer to an hour because I like a really thick sauce. It really does freeze well! Thank you for a great recipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Jack May 27, 2008

I tried this when making calzones. It was the best. Next time I will cut back on the onions a bit. I also added just a pinch of Splenda to sweeten it up. Not real spicey like the store bought junk. Loved it!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Marilyn Collari March 17, 2008

I thought this sauce was just ok. It was a bit heavy - like a thick spaghetti sauce. I also thought it was a bit bland so I added more of the herbs and pepper and a little red pepper flakes. I think adding less of the tomato paste would improve the flavor and texture.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
momaphet March 09, 2008

Yes! It is that good. All of these reviews made me try this one because I had most of it on hand. I did use canned tomatoes instead of fresh and I processed them in the food chopper (lumpy but not chunky). I also did not use the individual seasonings as I had some tomato sauce I accidentally bought that had basil and oregano already in it. Once I get thru those cans I fully intend on using the spices. Also: I did add a bit of cilantro.. but I am a cilantro freak. I put it on everything it seems.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LyndsyeJoTX March 03, 2008
Homemade Pizza Sauce