96 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This sauce is pretty near perfect! It's nice and thick, and tangy, and flavorful, and of course simple to put together! We really enjoyed this. I followed the recipe as written except I finely chopped the onions and added a pinch of sugar, which I always do with tomatoes to cut the acid. I have to say, I enjoyed this more than the "Ultimate Pizza Sauce" also on this site, which while good has more ingredients and more chopping and isn't quite as tasty, in my opinion. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Stefi February 28, 2012

I tried it and this is great! Added a few shakes of pizza seasoning as well. Delish! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ITRIEDIT February 16, 2012

Easy and good and inexpensive. Someimes I change the type of tomaatoes from diced to fresh, to canned to sauce to paste. All good, all slightly different.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha August 23, 2011

Making this tonight with fresh tomatoes and herbs from my garden...also plan on tossing in the blender to make it smooth.

Miller---that was great! Made me giggle!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LaReinita August 09, 2011

Super easy and very tasty sauce. I doubled the recipe and made only slight mods (added about a tsp of brown sugar as others had suggested and a dash - ok maybe a couple dashes! - of red wine.) Doubling the recipe yields a LOT, about 5 cups... I make pizza often, though, so froze them in individual baggies for easy thawing. This is a great, simple recipe for traditional pizza dishes. Would also be great with a calzone or fried cheese sticks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kimad May 16, 2010

Outstanding sauce! Better that you will ever find at the store and much better that ordering from a pizza joint, I also added just a little bit of brown sugar to take down a bit - that's just personal taste - it still is the best recipe I have found for pizza sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Jack B April 03, 2010

The flavor was excellent, however the consistency was a little too thick...I don't know what you would add (maybe more tomato sauce) to make this more of a sauce and less of a paste. It worked well for what I needed it for, though. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Baking Bunny February 18, 2010

This was absolutely delicious. It was the closest recipe i found to the pizza we used to have at my best friend's birthday. Thanx for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. Yousri November 14, 2009

This was pretty good. I followed the recipe exactly, except I didn't have enough minced garlic so I used 1/4 tsp garlic powder and added some sugar. The flavor was VERY strong, which I don't actually like which is why I didn't give it 5 stars.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
College Gal May 16, 2009

Very nice sauce. I think I will leave out the tomato sauce next time and used water to thin out the paste some. I added a little sugar also. Thanks for sharing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
~Nimz~ March 29, 2009
Homemade Pizza Sauce