Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Pizza Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Pizza Sauce

    Average Rating:

    93 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 93

    Sort by:

    • on June 23, 2008

      I omitted the fresh tomatoes and added 2 (8-oz.) cans of tomato sauce instead. Tasted great and had the right consistency for the pizza..not too watery at all! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2008

      I actually for once had everything on hand . I've never bought store pizza sauce but know it's much cheaper making it at home . This was great and been eating it with garlic breadsticks . Thank you !!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 17, 2008

      This is now thee sauce for me !!Thanks Nezz

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      I love this Pizza Sauce!!! Changes I made included using 15 oz. can diced tomatoes w/ Italian seasoning instead of fresh tomatoes, added a pinch of sugar, and I simmered probably closer to an hour because I like a really thick sauce. It really does freeze well! Thank you for a great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2008

      I tried this when making calzones. It was the best. Next time I will cut back on the onions a bit. I also added just a pinch of Splenda to sweeten it up. Not real spicey like the store bought junk. Loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2008

      I thought this sauce was just ok. It was a bit heavy - like a thick spaghetti sauce. I also thought it was a bit bland so I added more of the herbs and pepper and a little red pepper flakes. I think adding less of the tomato paste would improve the flavor and texture.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 03, 2008

      Yes! It is that good. All of these reviews made me try this one because I had most of it on hand. I did use canned tomatoes instead of fresh and I processed them in the food chopper (lumpy but not chunky). I also did not use the individual seasonings as I had some tomato sauce I accidentally bought that had basil and oregano already in it. Once I get thru those cans I fully intend on using the spices. Also: I did add a bit of cilantro.. but I am a cilantro freak. I put it on everything it seems.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2008

      I have been trying to find a pizza sauce I liked for a while and finally decided to try and make my own. This sauce was fantastic! It was nice and thick and not bitter like so many of the jarred sauces. The only change I made was to substitute a can of diced tomatoes for the fresh, for convenience.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      Very good. I made pizza the other night and used your sauce. I loved it and will never buy store brand again. It was a wonderful pizza thanks to your sauce.....thank you for posting...Stephanie

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      We found this sauce to be bitter. A touch of sugar might have helped. Too, this isn't what I would call a 'pizza sauce'. It's way too thick and chunky. Once the bitterness has been taken care of, it would probably be good as a sauce for meat or pasta dishes, due to the chunkiness. Veal parmesan comes to mind.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      This sauce was great! The only substitution I had to make was to use a 15 oz can of tomato sauce instead of 1 cup of fresh tomatos. It was delicious in pizza rolls I made in muffin tins.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2007

      Delicious and easy to prepare. I used a 14.5 oz can of petite diced tomatoes, drained, instead of the fresh tomatoes. This cut my "simmer" time to about 15 minutes. It's a fantastic, basic sauce... but I love extra spice and flavor, so I added 3 tbs. of chardonnay, 1 tsp. worcestershire sauce, 2 tsp. brown sugar and some crushed red pepper flakes. I also prefer the taste of basil to oregano, so I just used basil to taste. 2 to 3 tbs. of parmesan cheese can be stirred in as well. The flavors are incredible when they marry, so this sauce is at it's best the next day. I always prepare it the night before. It freezes well, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2007

      OK, I've tried a few pizza sauce recipes but this one was wonderful and easy to make! My kids and husband loved it, too. I'm sticking with this one as my staple pizza sauce. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2007

      Best Pizza Sauce EVER. (Should I just stop there?)I halved the olive oil and didn't notice anything missing. This sauce is the perfect herby-sweet balance that every great pizza sauce should be. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      Amazing! My best friend comes over to my house when i make sauce, and he stands over it with a spoon, eating it while it cooks! Because of that i always need to make a double recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 04, 2007

      Wow oh wow oh wow! I'll never buy pizza sauce again. Super easy and super tasty. Only changes I made were to add a little sugar and some red pepper flakes. Thanks for this keeper!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2007

      I used fresh tomatoes - about 1 gallon and followed everything else exactly. I did have to add a can of paste to get a good sauce consistency. This yielded about 12-1/4 cup canning jars! Perfect serving size. Great way to use those garden tomatoes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2007

      This recipe was fantastic. I made it exactly as written (used olive oil since it doesn't specify), except I stuck the fresh tomato in the blender as I'm not a fan of tomato chunks and used only 1/2 tsp of salt. It was super easy and super yummy. I've been wanting to make pizza for a while, but all the store sauces were filled with sugar, sodium, and high fructose corn syrup. My boyfriend and I ate the pizza three meals in a row and we still want more!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      I made it just as it is written, and found it awesome! Thanks..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2007

      Delicious! Based on other reviews, only used 1/2 tsp. salt. I pureed the fresh tomatoes, as we usually don't like them in chunks. This made a wonderful pizza! Had enough for two pizzas, so I'll freeze the rest for another time. (Hopefully that'll work!) Thanks, MizzNezz!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Pizza Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (713 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 264.0
     
    Calories from Fat 130
    49%
    Total Fat 14.5 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2446.4 mg
    101%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 7.3 g
    29%
    Sugars 19.4 g
    77%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites