96 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Used this recipe tonight for our homemade pizza and this sauce was fantastic! Very easy to make. I will never use another store bought pizza sauce. This tastes way better. I used canned tomatoes because that was all that I had on hand and it worked perfectly. Thank you MizzNezz, we all loved it!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JaydensMommy22 December 27, 2003

Thanks MizzNezz for sharing and posting. We used this to make homemade pizza sauce and it was delicious. It is a chunky sauce to be sure but the flavor is great. One of my family members thought it would be great on pasta also. Thanks. Enjoy! ChefDLH

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ChefDLH November 28, 2010

Very tasty sauce. The use of fresh tomatoes and fresh herbs (i use the ones in my garden) really gives it a rich flavor. I did add 3 teaspoons of unwashed sugar to offset the acidity of the sauce. This first time I made this sauce it was chunky and i really thought it added to the pizza. However, my dear family does not like chunky sauce that much. So the next batch, I used a small immersion blender and made the sauce smooth. This is how i serve it now. Great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
King Jay II June 26, 2010

This was pretty good! I added 1 tsp brown sugar and 6-7 shakes red pepper flakes. I also thought the sauce was a little thick for our taste so next time maybe I'll use a little extra tomato sauce. I froze half of the sauce and have used it since and it thawed nicely! Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Rollin in the Dough! May 01, 2010

Excellent sauce !! This was my first experience making homemade pizza and I wanted to make everything from scratch!! My DH said that he was very impressed with the outcome. This kids loved it too.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nancy in Montreal December 26, 2003

I have no idea why this has gotten soo many stars. The proportions are obviously off. People change the recipe and then vote on that also. I CANNOT STAND that. Ratings should be on the recipe as-is. As-is, there is a HUGE amount of garlic and I don't think right and can be overpowering. The sauce is very thick, which is fine, but again, too much herbs, especially Oregano which is dominant. 1-2T of Basil and 1/2t Oregano would have been enough. Finally, it's too salty. The salt should have been 1/2t or less. You may want to add a smigin of water to thin slightly also, but up to you. The flavor was ok, but not "great". For this I would have rated it at 3 stars, but due to being too salty and a lot of garlic and herbs, I'll give it 2-1/2 star MAX.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
equinox1971 March 25, 2015

This is a wonderful pizza sauce recipe. Love the chunks of fresh tomato!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Delicious as it Looks July 22, 2014

I love this pizza sauce! I made a double batch to put some in the freezer. We have tomatoes from our garden so they add an extra good flavor. In pizza sauce I've made previously I didn't care for the seeds from the tomatoes so I took most of them out this time. Since a lot of the juice also is removed when you do that, I added four ounces of water so it had some room to cook down and blend the flavors in the half hour of simmering. Whenever I try a new recipe I cut back on the salt, today I used a quarter less salt and don't even miss it. Thanks for a great recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JaniceRenee August 01, 2013

My husband and I love this pizza sauce! It's so easy to make (throw everything in a pot and cook, basically). I usually use canned tomatoes (it's easier and quicker than chopping whole tomatoes) and drain some of the liquid out. I use an immersion blender to make it smooth like pizza sauce you get at a store or on take out pizza (not much of a 'chunky' fan). I make a double batch of this sauce, then freeze it in serving size portions. Then when we make pizza, I thaw out a portion and use it. It freezes/thaws really well, too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mdith4him May 10, 2012
Homemade Pizza Sauce