Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Pizza Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Pizza Sauce

    Average Rating:

    94 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 94

    Sort by:

    • on July 07, 2002

      There once was a chef named Inez
      Who made great pizza sauce, no less.
      She shared it with Miller
      Who said “This is killer!
      In fact, it is simply the best!”

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2002

      A "tangy" pizza sauce. I cheated and added chopped tinned tomatoes. Also added a tablespoon of brown sugar to mellow the taste. A nice thick sauce, I am tired of those runny sauces. Had to stir frequently to avoid "burning", but it was worth it. Will definitately make again and might try adding some basil pesto.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2002

      Since the "fresh" tomatoes are expensive & not that good in December in Canada, I used my own canned tomatoes from last summer's garden - just drained off the excess juice. The result was a terrific sauce for home made pizza!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2002

      I absolutely loved this sauce! It was very thick and those chunks of onion and tomato...oh yum. What better way to use those home-grown tomatoes we've all got lying around right now? :D No more of that canned/jarred junk for me. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 12, 2003

      Just one thing--after trying this pizza sauce, I will NEVER EVER purchase a store-bought brand again. It was easy and mighty tasty. Rave reviews from my husband. Thanks Inez!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 01, 2003

      This is a really great pizza sauce recipe. It was very easy and the end result was way better than any I have bought in a store. I did use canned tomatoes. I pureed them in my food processor because my hubby doesn't like whole tomatoes, and the sauce still turned out great. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2003

      This was A-One! No more canned pizza sauce for me! All of us thought it was absolutely great, and I did use fresh tomatoes. They weren't quite up to summer tomato standards, but pretty decent for this time of yesr.Coupled with Sackville Girl's Easiest Ever Pizza Dough, it's a real keeper. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2003

      I was looking for a "special" sauce for the homemade pizza dough I made tonight. When I saw this one and that it was from Inez, I knew I couldn't go wrong. I substituted a can of diced tomatoes as I didn't have fresh and it was wonderful. I will look forward to making this as written when fresh tomatoes are in season. Thanks once again, Inez.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2004

      Miss Nezz I really appreciate recipes for all homemade sauces and dressings as they are so hard to come by in India. We are getting a lot of stuff now due to the opening up of the economy but they are too expensive. I made pizzas(with homemade dough) and used this sauce and they were enjoyed. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2009

      I did not like this at all. It wasn't zesty like pizza sauce should be - it was more like a tomato sauce you'd serve over pasta.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2010

      Thanks MizzNezz for sharing and posting. We used this to make homemade pizza sauce and it was delicious. It is a chunky sauce to be sure but the flavor is great. One of my family members thought it would be great on pasta also. Thanks. Enjoy! ChefDLH

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 26, 2010

      Very tasty sauce. The use of fresh tomatoes and fresh herbs (i use the ones in my garden) really gives it a rich flavor. I did add 3 teaspoons of unwashed sugar to offset the acidity of the sauce. This first time I made this sauce it was chunky and i really thought it added to the pizza. However, my dear family does not like chunky sauce that much. So the next batch, I used a small immersion blender and made the sauce smooth. This is how i serve it now. Great recipe!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2010

      This was pretty good! I added 1 tsp brown sugar and 6-7 shakes red pepper flakes. I also thought the sauce was a little thick for our taste so next time maybe I'll use a little extra tomato sauce. I froze half of the sauce and have used it since and it thawed nicely! Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2003

      Used this recipe tonight for our homemade pizza and this sauce was fantastic! Very easy to make. I will never use another store bought pizza sauce. This tastes way better. I used canned tomatoes because that was all that I had on hand and it worked perfectly. Thank you MizzNezz, we all loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2003

      Excellent sauce !! This was my first experience making homemade pizza and I wanted to make everything from scratch!! My DH said that he was very impressed with the outcome. This kids loved it too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2014

      This is a wonderful pizza sauce recipe. Love the chunks of fresh tomato!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2013

      I love this pizza sauce! I made a double batch to put some in the freezer. We have tomatoes from our garden so they add an extra good flavor. In pizza sauce I've made previously I didn't care for the seeds from the tomatoes so I took most of them out this time. Since a lot of the juice also is removed when you do that, I added four ounces of water so it had some room to cook down and blend the flavors in the half hour of simmering. Whenever I try a new recipe I cut back on the salt, today I used a quarter less salt and don't even miss it. Thanks for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 10, 2012

      My husband and I love this pizza sauce! It's so easy to make (throw everything in a pot and cook, basically). I usually use canned tomatoes (it's easier and quicker than chopping whole tomatoes) and drain some of the liquid out. I use an immersion blender to make it smooth like pizza sauce you get at a store or on take out pizza (not much of a 'chunky' fan). I make a double batch of this sauce, then freeze it in serving size portions. Then when we make pizza, I thaw out a portion and use it. It freezes/thaws really well, too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2012

      This sauce is pretty near perfect! It's nice and thick, and tangy, and flavorful, and of course simple to put together! We really enjoyed this. I followed the recipe as written except I finely chopped the onions and added a pinch of sugar, which I always do with tomatoes to cut the acid. I have to say, I enjoyed this more than the "Ultimate Pizza Sauce" also on this site, which while good has more ingredients and more chopping and isn't quite as tasty, in my opinion. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2012

      I tried it and this is great! Added a few shakes of pizza seasoning as well. Delish! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Pizza Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (713 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 264.0
     
    Calories from Fat 130
    49%
    Total Fat 14.5 g
    22%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 2446.4 mg
    101%
    Total Carbohydrate 32.7 g
    10%
    Dietary Fiber 7.3 g
    29%
    Sugars 19.4 g
    77%
    Protein 7.0 g
    14%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites