Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Pie Crust Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Pie Crust

    Average Rating:

    97 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 97

    Sort by:

    • on December 08, 2001

      Did a half and half butter to shortening for a bit more flavor. Great crust!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 02, 2010

      This is the perfect pie crust...I've used it many times. I use butter every time (shortening is full of trans fats and is terrible for you) and make it in my KitchenAid mixer. Works like a charm! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 03, 2010

      Great simple recipe for flawless flakey pie crust. Have made this several times and have used butter with great success. Delicious! Remember, the standard recipe is for 2 pie crusts or a double pie crust, so if making one open pie, half the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2011

      I am giving this five stars! I started to make my apple pie and got to where I was ready to put my pillsbury crust into my pan and put all my filling in the crust but when I got my box of crust out I realized there was only one crust and not two! I was frantic because my apple pie is so tedious to make and I had already spent so long to get it this far and it was well past 9 oclock at night and i couldn't just run to the store with my kids asleep so i was looking for a quick recipe with ingredients that I had especially butter instead of shortening and I found this one! It was easy and quick with little ingredients that it took my five minutes to get it done, cut it and lattice it over my pie! I baked my pie and I was worried about the crust since I always use premade but it came out great! The edges didn't burn and it was such a pretty golden brown even though I cooked it for 45 minutes! Its nice and crunchy. I followed the directions to a T except that I didnt have a pastry cutter so I took my mixer and mixed the butter and flour in short spurts until it was crumbly then I added the water and mixed with my hands. It was perfect Thx!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      Yum! This is the BEST pie crust I've ever made. I've made a lot of pies. It cooked up flaky and tender, but it wasn't to flaky as I was rolling out. I will definitely make this again! Thanks Elizabeth!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 01, 2010

      PERFECT pie crust. Used 1/2 cup shortening and 1/4 cup butter because that's all the butter I had then I zipped it up in the food processor instead of using a pastry cutter. Used it for a rhubarb pie with a lattice top-the lattice held up but wasn't tough or mealy.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2010

      I have shied away from pie crusts. Since I dislike using pre-made or mix type products, I don't bake a lot of pies. So last weekend I didn't have the required refrigerated, premade crusts, and used this recipe. In the food processor. and have since made 2 more pies. OMG I am never buying another store bought crust again. Mix the dry ingredients in the FP, then add the shortening (I've only tried this with Crisco, butter flavoured) and then the water. I also tried milk instead of water--didn't notice a big difference. This is a tender and flaky crust. Everyone thinks I am a culinary goddess because of these pies. thanks for posting it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 05, 2010

      I have NEVER baked before in my life. I had all these ingredients on hand and the crust was SUPER easy to make..Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 11, 2003

      It was very good. I also used half butter and lard. Very easy to make. Thank you for the recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2002

      Gay, I tried it with the half butter /half shortening that you suggested. I agree. It made it much better. Thanks for the tip!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2002

      Very nice crust! I'd never made pie crust before, and this was so easy and wonderful. I don't have a pastry cutter, so I just had to deal with my mixer and my hands, but it still turned out very well. I used this with "Fresh Rhubarb Pie." (I don't have the recipe number written down!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 14, 2014

      Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2014

      Thank you for sharing your wonderful recipe. The pie crust was wonderful, flaky, light, tender and very tasty. It was quick and easy, perfect with the mixed berries I filled it with. I'll be making this again. Made for Name That Ingredient Tag Game.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2013

      This recipe is wonderful. It was my first time ever making homemade pie crust and it turned out great. I used it for an apple pie and couldn't be happier with the results. I'm a novice pie maker but this recipe made me look as though i've been baking pies for a much longer time. Will definitely be using this in the future. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 31, 2013

      Awesome crust! Can't believe how easy it was to make too. Butter all the way! I'll be using this as my go-to pie crust from here on out :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2013

    • on January 26, 2012

      Excellent! I used half butter and half palm oil (veggie shortening). The flavor was great and the crust was super flaky! Yay! I used the crust for mini bite-sized apple pies and they were fantastic. Great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      Awesome and SO easy to work with. I first made a shortening crust which was horrible to work with. After tossing it, I made this and it took about 2 minutes and Voila! Done. So good! Loved how crispy & flaky it was. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2011

      Very easy and tastes good. I used it for a fresh blueberry tart, and it was delicious (with butter, not shortening).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      I halved the recipe and used it with Italian Sausage Pie. It was fantastic. Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Pie Crust

    Serving Size: 1 (60 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 249.4
     
    Calories from Fat 140
    56%
    Total Fat 15.6 g
    24%
    Saturated Fat 9.7 g
    48%
    Cholesterol 40.6 mg
    13%
    Sodium 426.7 mg
    17%
    Total Carbohydrate 23.8 g
    7%
    Dietary Fiber 0.8 g
    3%
    Sugars 0.1 g
    0%
    Protein 3.3 g
    6%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites