11 Reviews

We ran out of peanut butter and I didn't feel like going to the store so I decided to make this instead. I don't think I'll buy peanut butter again. This was very good. I only used half of the oil and it seems very spreadable. I'll make sure I have shelled peanuts next time because it took about an hour to shell 2 1/2 cups of peanuts. Thanks for the recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Picante August 13, 2008

Like the other comments. I loved this recipe and wondered why I did not make my own sooner. Next time I will use unsalted peanuts so I can control the salt intake, though the honey really helped masking the salt. The consistency and taste is perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rupinder.thandi June 07, 2015

Pretty tasty! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gingerly88 May 12, 2012

This is fantastic, I have such a hard time finding peanut butter here in Portugal, as I live in a small town, and when I do find it, it's very expensive. This was perfect for me, cheap and very, very easy to put together. So much for the store bought ones, from now on I'm sticking to this one, its so much healther for you. Thank you SOOOOO much for sharing this great receipe!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mia #3 November 12, 2009

This is wonderful! I've been eating the "natural" peanut butter from the grocery store for some time, but I will never go back to store-bought! This is much better (and cheaper). The honey is a nice touch, too. It did get a little stiff after being in the refrigerator, but I'm sure all I need to do is add a tad more oil. I've only made it once, but with a little adjusting, I'll come up with the perfect batch! I still give 5 Stars, though, because it's super quick, super easy, and is definitely the BEST peanut butter! Thanks for posting!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
angelreed August 19, 2009

It's easy, really quick, really cheap. I tasted it before and after the honey, and I might like it better without. Very surprising how quick it came together!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kasha May 12, 2009

mmm yumm!! I don't own a food processor, so I used my blender...it wouldn't completely grind the peanuts, so I have chunky peanut butter...but still delicious!! I ended up adding the 4 tbsp. of vegetable oil, and about 2 1/2-3 tbsp. local homemade honey...it is soooo good!! THANKS!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ashlie <3 May 07, 2009

I would give this recipe 10 stars if I could. I really dislike all the yucky stuff they put into regular PNB and the natural kind is pretty expensive, so this recipe is perfect for my family. I used safflower oil and a small amount of honey. Came out perfect! I am so very happy to be able to do this myself with a food processor! My oldest son seriously thinks I'm queen of the kitchen now! :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
2 boys mom April 26, 2009

Loved this, used unsalted peanuts and added maybe a 1/4 tsp kosher salt. Only needed 2 TBSP peanut oil to make this spreadable, upped the honey to 2 1/2 TBSP - to get hubby to eat it- and about a 1/4 tsp cinnamon. Don't know if this will last too long!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GIBride01 February 21, 2009
Homemade Peanut Butter