Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Panko Bread Crumbs Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Panko Bread Crumbs

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on March 02, 2011

      Brilliant!!! As a ceoliac, I always felt I was missing out on the wonderful crunch of Panko breadcrumbs, I always thought it was the flour used not the method that made them unique,,,now I know better,,,I have just made some using gluten free bread, and BRILLIANT.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2009

      Wonderful recipe! I used leftover sourdough bread and sprinkled some Italian herb with parmesean cheese seasoning into the crumbs before I baked them. I used the panko crumbs to coat my chicken tenders and the chicken was wonderfully crispy on the outside and tender on the inside. It was a big hit at our party! This recipe works out so well! Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2012

      Thank you for posting this recipe. I knew it had to be easier than going to the store and buying panko. I used it for fish and chips. Thank you again,

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 08, 2009

      I just bought my first food processor and just had to try this. I used leftover hotdog and hamburger buns and it worked perfectly! I'm excited to use this on a fried shrimp recipe! The flavors on these are endless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      Hello Jim; Made your Homemade Panko Crumbs 3 days ago. I used a loaf of Italian Bread and I can't believe how well they turned out in the food processor. I very lightly sprinkled the crumbs with some Seasoning Salt before lightly toasting in the oven. The crumbs turned out great, look as good or better than the store bought Panko Crumbs. Thanks Jim, I do not have to worry about running out of Panko Crumbs, will have them readily available. "Uncle Bill"

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 15, 2006

      I used a cheap brand of white bread and mostly the heels. I make fresh bread crumbs a lot, but never have used the grater disk. This made the fluffiest crumbs that baked up great. I wasn't paying much attention so they did get lightly browned, but no uneven spots. I topped my Three Cheese Baked Mashed Potatoes Three Cheese Baked Mashed Potatoes with these and they added such a wonderful light crunchy topping. They really do have a better texture than regular crumbs. I've used panko crumbs before (several years ago) and think these will make an equally good breading for chicken, etc. Roxygirl

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 10, 2013

      This worked out great! I was a skeptic but I was impressed. I dont think they are exactly the same as panko but they are much cheaper and they are close enough for me. Love it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2013

      Wow!! What a find! No need to buy panko crumbs again. Thank so much for sharing the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2011

      I used 57 saltine crackers, which I ground in the food processor, to make approximately 2.5 cups panko crumbs for my chicken recipe. I cooked them for 8 minutes in the oven, sifting twice as suggested. They came out nice and crispy, making a good coating for the chicken. Thanks a lot for this recipe, it certainly helped me out of a bind.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2010

      This makes perfect panko, and is perfectly easy! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2010

      Thanks you! I make my own bread and wanted to have Panko Crumbs to make chicken nuggets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2009

      Great panko recipe! I'm never buying panko again. Thanks for posting a true keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 18, 2009

      This worked out well. I hate wasting money on storebrought breadcrumbs so this recipe was great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      Wow, so easy! I'm going to try using a batch of homemade white bread next time, too. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2008

      Super easy and work great. I will be using this in place of bread crumbs in any recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 06, 2008

      I needed some panko crumbs to make up some fried shrimp, and this recipe worked great. I will use this from now on, and will never be without again! Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 13, 2008

      I was out of bread crumbs and bread. I came across this recipe and was so happy I did. I used Saltine crackers. Thanks Jim !!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      Jim in Washington, thanks for posting this recipe, which has saved me $$$ and gas. I use panko often. A great method. I couldn't believe how it turned out! I used a long loaf of cheap bread and filled a gallon ziplock bag. Thanks from Janet!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      wow am I ever happy I finally made this, there will be no more store bought panko for me, these are just as good if not even better, I know I will be making these over and over, many thanks to you Jim for sharing this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2008

      I was going to buy panko but was shocked by the price. I'm very glad I found this recipe. I made a big batch from leftover bread (homemade & storebrand) I keep it in the freezer. Once you try these you will never go back to regular bread crumbs. They will improve any recipe that calls for breadcrumbs.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Panko Bread Crumbs

    Serving Size: 1 (425 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 354.6
     
    Calories from Fat 39
    11%
    Total Fat 4.3 g
    6%
    Saturated Fat 0.9 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 681.3 mg
    28%
    Total Carbohydrate 67.4 g
    22%
    Dietary Fiber 3.2 g
    12%
    Sugars 5.7 g
    23%
    Protein 10.1 g
    20%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites