37 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We were short on syrup so I turned to the zaar for help. I did not have any maple flavoring so I used almond and vanilla. It was wonderful!! A nice break from the store bought stuff. I like many others will be making this from now on... and I will get some maple flavoring for the next batch.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Simply Yummy November 29, 2009

My picky teens loved this and I used a cheaper brand of corn syrup. They said the syrup was not as thick as store bought and that is why they liked it .

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scammy November 21, 2009

The skeptics here gave this a big two thumbs up. And I loved it too. This is so much more affordable than even the cheapie syrups at the store and so much more flavorful. The only thing better than this is 100% real maple - and that costs a bundle! Thanks for this great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cookworm October 11, 2009

This is a lovely recipe, not too sweet, the kids loved it. I have made this 4 times this week alone, not just for the family but nieces and nephews love it too. Thanks for an inexpensive alternative.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
j.a.c.k. November 11, 2008

OMG!! This was really good. I was out of the store bought kind and with grandkids wanting pancakes I had to make some. I used splenda brown sugar instead and maple pecan flavoring. The kids ate it up and did my dh. Thank you so much for posting this recipe. I will be making this again and again! No more store bought for us.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
DianeRN in Neosho, Missouri November 02, 2008

Wonderful Syrup! I am so glad to find this recipe. My DS likes name brand syrup, but I don't like the high fructose corn syrup that's in it. The rest of our family likes pure maple syrup, but it can get expensive. I added more maple flavoring and about a tablespoon of molasses, just to give it a stronger flavor - trying to make it taste similar to the name brand syrup. My DD & I really like it, now we'll have to see if DS can tell the difference.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jwalls October 18, 2008

PHENOMENAL!!! So Good! VERY easy! I couldn't find Maple Flavoring at the store, but it didn't matter. I used 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla extract (suggestion from another review) and it came out spectacular! Thank you WJ for submitting the recipe!! I am NEVER buying syrup from the store again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Daniele1969 October 11, 2008

I had no syrup in the house and Husband wanted french toast. My computer was on so, I did a quick search and found this simple quick recipe. I used half light and half dark corn syrup because it was all I had on hand and only the Vanilla extract. It is great and Just like store bought.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bellabluejungle July 28, 2008

This worked out great for my kids. I had made pancakes but forgot to stock up on syrup so I tried this recipe. I tried to drip the maple & vanilla in the mix but it came out too fast so mine probably had a tsp. or more of each flavor. It is a bit sweeter & runnier than the store brands but my kids don't mind. Thanks for sharing the recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Lil' Momma Jenn July 26, 2008

Very easy and delicious. I used dark brown sugar, and didn't have any maple flavoring so I used vanilla and butter flavorings. I look forward to trying it again with the maple flavoring. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jujusmommy May 11, 2008
Homemade pancake syrup