37 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This is delicious. I've been looking for a good recipe rather than the bland suggestion on my maple flavoring bottle. While good the first morning, it tasted even better the next day after it had time to chill and thicken. Very good stuff. The brown sugar makes it. Thanks.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Dani Thorne February 18, 2003

Another 5 star review for your wonderful pancake syrup! I used light brown sugar and light corn syrup as that is what I had on hand. I added approximately 1/2 tsp. of vanilla and 1/4 tsp. of maple flavoring. Mmmm, it's so good. It tastes a lot richer than the store bought stuff. After mine cooled I poured it into an empty Log Cabin bottle. I was confused whether I could store it in the pantry, or if it needed to go in the refrigerator, so I sought the opinion of several people, including the recipe submitter and my Mom. Everyone agreed that it would be safe in the pantry. Thanks again for your GREAT recipe!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
michelles3boys May 11, 2010

Very good! Thanks

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
reciprocity July 30, 2011

Delicious!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BamaBelle30 June 22, 2011

Fantastic and so simple to make. No more store-bought for us anymore. Thanks for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TheHeavenlyHeatherly May 15, 2010

Excellent recipe! I made this recipe yesterday morning after realizing that I did not have enough syrup for my family's breakfast. My DH doubted that any homemade syrup would be as good as store-bought. But now, I'm not sure I'll ever buy syrup again! Thanks for saving me from a bind...and thanks for a great recipe!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amy Cline November 09, 2003

Homemade pancake is great simple. I needed a ratio of water to sugar so I googled and found this one. I delete the corn syrup but increase the sugar. I use "white" sugar and raw brown sugar from the health food store. Even with no flavoring it is good. I usually boil @ 15 min @ medium heat. I store it in the frig since in the haet of summer it gets a microbial growth on it if it's not used within a month or so.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
salokbat August 12, 2011

This was really good and easy. I ran out of pancake syrup so I made and we loved it. I didn't even have the maple to add, just the vanilla. VERY GOOD.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tlgoetz May 02, 2010

Yum, yum, yum! This recipe has been a much needed breakfast-saver for me twice now! Makes a bunch, so for DH and I it pour it from a sauce pan into a pyrex measuring cup, cover it with plastic wrap and it lasts us a few weeks worth of weekend breakfasts. I use the light Karo syrup and instead of vanilla flavoring I use butter flavoring...yum!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Houseblend April 17, 2010

We all thought this was good and saved me from a trip to the store. Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Tamaretta December 25, 2009
Homemade pancake syrup