Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade 'Oxygen' Cleaner Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade 'Oxygen' Cleaner

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on July 08, 2002

      VERY GOOD ONE....It works and it is good. Yes it removes Blood..I know hubby fell and cut his arm..I used it on the towels...This will be good for people with hard water. Thank You.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2002

      I've been using the name brand oxygen cleaner for a couple of years and the results from this recipe are impressive. I plan to try this using the pre-wash cycle on my washing machine, but have had good results using it as a pre-treater for stains on whites and light colored items. Thanks for sharing a useful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2003

      With four children, this is probably the most useful "recipe" I have found.....Thanks alot!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2002

      This has been very good to use for "potty training" stains. I soak overnight and wash as normal and it works great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2003

      My friend bought the " other expensive stuff " and wasn't pleased with the results at all, so I knew I wouldn't waste my money buying it either. I came across this recipe, using my washer on the " mini " setting, I used 16 oz each of baking soda and hydro perox. because the water ratio had increased. I tossed in 5 " Parrothead " t - shirts ( white background / coloured scenes ) that had become yellowed on one side only ( DH had smoked in the bedroom ). I also tossed in a few pairs of ground in dirt white socks ( I " borrow " his white socks to run around the house ( & outside..shush ) - my intelligent blond logic to him... " But honey, See how dirty the floors really are ! ". I swipe them because they are so much thicker than womens socks, but he wouldn't care about that. I added the dry ingredients after the washer filled, agitating them a few minutes to mix. Added the clothes and socks letting them run as a wash for 10 minutes, turned off the machine ( only have a max 12 minute cycle ), reset the machine back to 12 minutes, did another 10 minute cycle, shut it down at that point, then forgot about them till the next day ( what can I say..LOL ), I then washed as usual after completing the full cycle. I've never seen white so white, it didn't bleed nor fade any of the colours and it dissolved the ground in dirt..AMAZING !!!!!.. Thank you for an awesome recipe, It cost me $.71 total for the soda & perox. It doesn't get any better than this !!! And, yes I will still " borrow " his socks. Keeps him happy, his knowing I'm so logical when it comes to seeing how dirty the floors can get so quickly...Thank you again for this recipe, it's the best !!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 28, 2003

      Okay, I was skeptical. But...wow! I gathered up some clothing items that were stained (old stains and fresh stains) including a clean article of clothing that happened to have an old, largish blood stain. I ran some hot water into my washer, added a full bottle of hydrogen peroxide as well as 2 cups of baking soda, then ran more hot water into the washer -- enough to cover all the clothing items. I likely watered down the mixture too much, but even so the results were highly impressive. Most impressive were 2 items: firstly, an old pale-yellow sweatshirt I wear around the house (and often wear when cooking) that had lots of old pale stains. They disappeared! And secondly, the large bloodstained item had the stain disappear by about 80%, and also lightened up. And this stain was OLD! I will definitely pretreat my clothing with this solution again; next I'm going to try it on old gungy socks. Thanks for posting this :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 15, 2004

      I quadrupled the peroxide and baking soda and just added it straight to my washing machine with a small load of whites. I actually let them set in the machine overnight and then finished washing the next morning. I will be using this method from now on! My clothes were bright white and looked great. I did have a few things that had some color on them and it didn't hurt them at all. Thanks for a great recipe, Tish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2003

      This was really good. I never had any luck with the original oxy cleaner and so tried this directly in the washer. Couldn't believe how the socks were white again! Thank you! This is a great alternative to bleach

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2003

      Tish, this stuff is GREAT!!! I use it for pre-soaking stained white clothing. It even removed sweat stains from my son's t-shirts. WOW! I love it!! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 27, 2012

      I LOVE this recipe... thank you so much for sharing!! Ok, I had to add this to my review because all the other reviews are about how awesome this is on laundry stains. I used this on a stainless steel pot where I had burnt something in it to the point where I thought it was completely ruined. I mixed up the recipe, put enough cleaner in there to cover the bottom, then scrubbed for a few minutes.... it made my pot sparkle. it also cleaned my glass top stove with ease. I just had to rinse the stove several times.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2012

      This worked great! I used it to clean carpet stains from a naughty puppy and it worked like a charm. No stain or odor left!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2008

      HI, BILLY MAYS HERE! ARE YOU TRYING TO STEAL MY THUNDER!? LOL, just kidding.. ;)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 01, 2004

      I had cream colored leather couches that were very hard to get somewhat clean. I used to use harsh cleaners on them. Surprising enough the leather cleaners never worked on them. This recipe worked like a charm, and the very best thing about it is that it is home made and I dont have to worry about putting those nasty harsh cleaners on MY couch!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 22, 2003

      This stuff is awesome! I had soaked some blood-stained clothing in it over night and by morning, the stains were gone! What a fabulous, inexpensive idea! Thanks so much for sharing. ~Amy

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2003

      This is fantastic for my son's baseball pants.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2013

      Works like a champ!!!! I had some stains a visiting dog left me a couple years ago. I had covered them and recently moved stuff and decided I had to get rid of them. Gone.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 27, 2011

      SURE DID work on a stain i have washed and dried through a dozen times but still stayed there!

      Cheap, easy and I'm thrilled! I too have super hard water in my area.

      Denver

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2011

      I used this to soak some white lab coats that had been sitting, and getting yellow for the past couple of years, in the closet. I was about to throw them out when I saw your recipe and decided to try it. It brightened the white to the point I will wear them again this winter! I also recycled the baking soda from my fridge for this. Thanks for posting Tish.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 20, 2011

      This is good stuff! I used this on a load of whites with old dirty socks and stained t-shirts. They came out great.

      Then I tried some spot cleaning on a white couch and it worked really too.

      The real test was a couple of spots on the carpet from my grandson's dog. It really cleaned up the spots and sure helped on the odor too!

      Thanks Tish for a nice keeper.
      Made for Cookbook tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2010

      Husband is a tow truck driver and his uniforms are covered in miscellaneous stains that are difficult to remove: oil, grease, blood, food (eating & driving), sweat, etc. It removed these stains better than the expensive store brand! It also removed black dye that bled onto one of my favorite white sweaters. Also useful in removing dark deoderant stains from clothes. I used the washing machine method, but I left the clothes soaking over-night (because I forgot about them) - the clothes were beautiful and undamaged!! Great recipe. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade 'Oxygen' Cleaner

    Serving Size: 1 (349 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 15332.8 mg
    638%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    hydrogen peroxide

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes