9 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

The dough is good, be careful to make small little balls of it or you'll end up with huge cookies! The filling is good - be sure to sift a couple times and whip the heck out of it till really fluffy. Together - divine! And to really get the Oreo taste, hide them for a couple days - they mellow sooo nicely! I made one batch for my grown son who came for a visit and I've just made a second batch for work where I know they will be devoured. Addendum: The "original" recipe I found calls for 1/2 cup plus 2 T butter and the dough is perfect.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Acceptance September 29, 2012

I can't give this five stars yet... every time we make them, we eat the cookies before we can make the filling! The batter is a little fussy to make (a little on the dry side), but well worth it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Anemone March 02, 2011

I have looked at several recipes for homemade oreos, on different sites. And this is a very unique oreo recipe. I found 27 recipes for the devil's food cake mix - oreo recipe and I was actually looking for a hard cookie recipe. I liked this recipe a lot. So did some family members. The only two people who would not even taste it hate oreos. Very Good.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ida.jesper77 July 18, 2009

These were good, but I had a little trouble putting them together. I tried melting the butter in the batter, but it was too dry. Maybe next time I'll add milk or water to soften it. The sugar filling was also dry. I think 1 1/2 cups would have been enough sugar. And instead of slightly flattening the spoonfuls of batter, I had to press very hard to get a reasonably flat cookie. I really want to try this again some time; and thank you for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Buckwheatjr. April 26, 2009

I just finished making these and I wasn't sure if the butter should be melted or not. I didn't melt or soften it. The dough won't come together in a ball, so added water until it did. The flavor is great. Ate half a cookie and will enjoy the rest another time. Very rich!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
adopt a greyhound December 06, 2008

Young lady you have awakened the cookie monster in me that I didn't know exsisted. Like Kimngabe_mommy I used your filling to glue chocolate chip cookies together. I made 46 cookies. We had company the animals ANIMALS left me two (2). BUT, I have the recipe for both the filling and the cookies. Four of the seven folks are still pleading for it. Thank you from the bottom of my heart.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Firehousecook AKA Cap'n Jack November 03, 2008

Okay, the only reason I can't give this 5 stars is because I didn't make the whole recipe. I just made the filling to use for my chocolate chip cookies. This tasted EXACTLY like oreo filing, and I will definitely be making the whole recipe soon! Thanks so much for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvinmykids November 02, 2008

Are you kidding?! These taste exactly like the ones from the store, but better. I was the hit of the party. Seriously, I had to xerox the recipe for everyone at work the next day. You have to try this. I ordered the black cocoa from King Arthur Flour online, only 6 dollars for a lot. And I'll need it to make these a lot more times !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lklankford February 24, 2008

Great recipe! They were so easy to make and so delicious. I made the filling with coconut oil which gave them a great flavor. I loved watching people try to figure out what was in the filling. I’m sure I will be getting requests for this recipe. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
"My White Knight" February 24, 2008
Homemade Oreos -- Pure Goodness, Minus the Yucky Additives