Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Oreo Cookies Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Oreo Cookies

    Average Rating:

    12 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-12 of 12

    Sort by:

    • on October 01, 2002

      THESE ARE AMAZING!! JUST LIKE OREO's!! I really did not think these were going to work, but give the cookie dough a few minutes in your mixer and it comes together beautifully. I tried this recipe for my son who is allergic to milk, he like them, and most of all my picky co-workers went crazy over them. Two tips --- I cut out my cookies with a small cookie round cutter for uniformity, and it took extra baking time to get the cookies crisp on "air" bake cookie sheets.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2002

      Yummy. I made these this morning, yes this morning. I had a craving for oreos. I only had a devils food cake mix and used it and tinted the filling orange for the fall season. They were very good and so easy to make. Cooling them on the sheet made them a little tough to get off. Next time I think I will let them cool for about 5 min and then take them off and put on the cooling rack. I also made mine jumbo oreos. Then I can say, I only ate one! Thank you for such a fun and tasty recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2004

      I was skeptical - totally - but I had been challenged to make a batch of Oreos and I love a great baking challenge. I have made the cookies 3x in two weeks and the jury came back with a unanimous decision: This recipe is a KEEPER. Sure, they don't taste exactly like an Oreo -- the same way a home-made chocolate chip cookie does not taste like a Chips Ahoy. There are 4 changes/suggestions I make -- 1. I used 2tsp of vanilla instead of one 2. To make things go faster and easier, I used a small cookie dough scoop to make the cookie wafers (the scoop holds approx 2tsp of dough). The wafers were about 2 inches across. 3. I pressed the cookies a second time -- right after they came out of the oven -- to make a more compact wafer. This made the cookies a little stronger - no crumbling - and they looked more uniform and packed better to be shipped across the country. 4. I used the same scoop to measure out the filling. Again - it was quick and easy and they result was a uniform batch. With these changes -- I got about 2 dozen big cookies per batch. My daughters can eat 2 at a time - and be very filled (they usually go through 5+ Double-Stuff Oreos). On the other hand, one cookie is really a handful. I have also used the wafers to make ice cream sandwiches (they are excellent). The girls and I have also tried cookies with different-flavored cake mixes -- again, very successful results. I know you don't know me - so it might be helpful to know that I make a lot of cookies and do not often add to my favorites. This one is an immediate top 3! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2003

      These really taste like oreos. For the filling, if you find them clumping, take liberty to add more water bit by bit and stirring till you get a nice filling consistency

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2009

      I made these for my DS's today. They turned out great! DH tried them and immediately said "Tastes like an oreo". I am not an oreo fan, so the "wow" was probably wasted on me. Make sure that you loosen the cookies on the sheet after cooling for a minute. My first sheet didn't turn out (a bunch of 1/2 crumbled cookies). I used the greased bottom of a glass to flatten and that worked well. Filling was not as smooth as an oreo, but I think I must have done something wrong....I'm not a very good baker! All in all, I even liked these cookies (remember, I'm not an oreo fan - so that says a lot!)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      These little gems tasted exactly like Oreo cookies. And after we stacked a platter full of them, they made for a very beautiful presentation. Loved 'em.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2008

      Amazing! I just made up a batch, And ohhh my goodness, they're terrific. My store didn't have dark fudge cake mix, so i went with devils food. Maybe it's just me, but they do taste like real oreos! My icing turned out very crumblyat first as well, but when I mixed it morethan I thought I should have and it was perfect. It did make a LOT of icing, so I'm about to try the same recipe again with spice cake, as it's the only other mix I have on hand. Thanks for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2008

      I found this recipe was a little hard to work with. The filling part made way too much icing. I found the icing was a little too sweet and very crumbly. The cookies did not press together very well, and did not stick together. They do taste good, but do not look the greastest. I will make these cookies again, but probably with a differnt recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2007

      Loud sigh! ! ! !! ! !! ! ! ! ! ! !

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2005

      These tasted good, but nothing like the real stuff:( Thanks for the recipe though!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 13, 2004

      Maybe my expectations were too high, but I just didn't think these were that great. My husband thought they were okay, but I ended up throwing half of them away because they didn't get eaten. This is not something I would bake again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2004

      I really liked these cookies. I had lots of frosting leftover so I made another batch with carrot cake mix and those were good too. The frosting was too sweet for doublestuff, but a thin layer tasted great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Oreo Cookies

    Serving Size: 1 (1215 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 85.5
     
    Calories from Fat 31
    36%
    Total Fat 3.4 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 71.2 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.8 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.2 g
    0%
    Sugars 10.7 g
    43%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites