18 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

YESSSSSSSS. MY hair is hot. I use apple cider vinegar conditioner now too. my hair is fab!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
College Girl May 10, 2011

A few years ago I went to my hairstylist in a complete panic because my hair was turning a dull flakey grey in patches. She took one look at it and laughingly told me not to worry that it was just product build up. She said it could be easily fixed by making a paste of baking soda and watert and letting it sit for about 5 - 10 minutes then deep conditioning. I trustingly went home and did as she instructed and was amazed that the patches were all gone and my hair was back to its normal color. I don't know that I would do it on a weekly basis but it does get rid of all the gunk that regular shampoo doesn't.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JPsBarbie January 26, 2011

I have been using this method for years. It removes all of the residue from your hairsprays and styling products. I usually use this solution first and then wash with a mild baby shampoo. Sometimes if you have used alot of products in your hair you can smell an odor of ammonia as it washes out all of the junk you have used.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bonnie Young January 16, 2011

Used this morning instead of shampoo.This was really great.I can't believe how simple and cheap this is!I was afraid this would leave my hair too dry,but since it doesn't lather like commercial shampoos it left the natural oils and my hair was really soft.It seemed to add body to my hair,too,which is a plus since I have really thin ,fine hair.I'm not ready to give up my volumizing mousse just yet but this will definitely help stretch it and I'll know what to use when I run out and don't have time to go to the store.I think next time I may add some essential oils .I like that this is all natural.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
strangelittlebeast January 15, 2011

I have never put anything on my hair that made it feel like this did... UGH!!! It must not be for all hair types because my hair felt like straw! Even after using conditioner, it was difficult to brush out. As soon as I tried to blow it dry my hair strands "expanded" and my hair felt like I had been riding in a convertible all day. I could not even get a brush through it - horrible, horrible experience :(

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs. DeVelopment April 24, 2010

I just want to shout it from the roof tops! I tried this this morning, and my hair looks and feels great! My hair is long, so I doubled the recipe, 2 tsp baking soda to 2 cups hot water, and took it in the shower with me. I poured it all over my wet hair and massaged it for a bit, then rinsed it. Then conditioner, then I followed that with 2 cups of water mixed with 2 tsp of lemon juice. I have city water, so I mixed all my ingredients with filtered water. I gave it a final clear rinse with a gallon of spring water, and voila! My hair is smooth and shiny! For the past weeks and months I thought about cutting my hair, which is past my armpits, because I have little stragglers sticking up everywhere and couldn't get it to lie down, even with conditioner. The humidity made it 10x worse. I tried almost every shampoo out there. Never again will I use regular shampoo! When I see women standing in the shampoo aisle now, I just want to go up to them and say, "Let me give you a little advice...." LOL. This is great, thanks a mill!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
imsavedbyhm August 22, 2009

I really like the results I get with this... I use it a few times a week and my scalp feels great. I do not add any shampoo to this. Make sure you tilt your head way back and massage this in as you pour. I didn't think to do this the first time and it got in my mouth-- YUCK!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Queen Roachie August 04, 2009

Oh how I wished that I had found this sooner-like years ago!! I have fine thin hair. :( and this shampoo actually gives it the fullness and texture that I could not find anywhere else. I also have my hair dyed and this is the only "product" that saves the color. I have used so many and am always disappointed. DH was so impressed with my hair and stated "boy the shampoo industry is such a scam!" lol Thank you so much for posting this. What a find!! BTW- I use it as is and do not add any shamppo. I don't want to wreck it. :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
luvmyfurrbabies March 11, 2009

Ok I am shocked that there are not MORE 5 star ratings on this!! It is past my bedtime but I could not wait until tomorrow to post this review. It is amazing, my hair feels like silk. I took a small bowl with the mix in it and dumped it on my head after I put the shampoo on, left it on for a minute and conditioned as usual. My hair is to my butt and the amount was perfect. I will use this once a week and I cannot wait until I get to work tomorrow to share this! Thanks so much for posting. FYI- my soda box stated you can add 1 tsbp directly to the shampoo, but I did the water mixture as you posted and I LOVE IT!! For every review reader (with hair) you must try this tonight :) Again thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bella Rachelle September 16, 2008

I also mixed it up in a small plastic travel bottle, works well in that. I did use a small bit of shampoo, since it seemed hard to get it all through my hair without it. My hair feels and looks better, I can really tell the difference in the texture and it shines more. I'll be using this once a week also, great tip THANKS!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Susang September 15, 2008
Homemade No Color Strip Cleansing Shampoo