27 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

If you read the ingredients on the Kraft Miracle Whip you will see soy (GMO), high fructose corn syrup, modified corn starch and sugar (GMO beet?). The recipe for European consumption is completely different because they do not allow GMO food. I am weaning myself off Kraft Miracle Whip which I have loved forever, because I love my body more. I am pleased to have this recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BrushPrairieFarm July 07, 2013

Wow, I can't believe how this turned out. Most copy-cat recipes I've tried just aren't close enough, but with the suggestions from others, this is a keeper! I wanted to make this to use a healthier oil, so I chose olive oil. If this is your objective, make sure to get the light version, which will be lighter in color and almost no flavor. If you use extra virgin, you will not get the same miracle whip taste you've come to love...I tried.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KimberlyNchicago October 02, 2012

I haven't actually tried this yet, but all the 5 star reviews are a good sign :) The reason I'm giving it a good review before even trying it is because my mother LOVES Miracle Whip but has recently had to all but give it up because she has had to go on Coumadin (blood thinner) and soybean oil (the major ingredient in MW) is a big no-no because of high Vitamin K content. This will allow me to make a copycat version using Corn or Sunflower oil (much lower in Vitamin K) that she can use to her heart's content. Can't wait to try it ! Thanks so much !

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Beth June 04, 2012

While reading through recipes today I came across this one. We happen to be out of salad dressing right now so I decided to try this. I used my stand mixer with the whip attachment and and used vinegar instead of lemon juice (out of that, too). Also added some paprika and garic powder as another review suggested. I was SO pleased with how this came out. It makes about a pint. I can't wait for it to cool down so we can have BLT's with fresh tomatoes from our plant. Thanks!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Grandma Deb September 16, 2011

this recipe tasted nothing like the real mircle whip it was disgusting, i don't recommend anyone to waste their time, effort, and ingredients on this. i was very disappointed:(

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jecampbell July 16, 2009

This certainly tasted like Miracle Whip, I just couldn't get it to emulsify. So I will try again soon. We didn't throw out the first batch though, we used it for Grilled Cheese, Diner Style. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MommaEllen January 10, 2009

I thought this was very good. I did add the extra powdered sugar, garlic powder, and paprika.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lucy4174 June 10, 2007

Like Mirj, we are not able to obtain Miracle Whip unless on holiday in USA/Canada. This turned out very well. It is part of our permanent recipe collection.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PeeGee March 25, 2005

I have been making "MiraCal Whip" for years. I mix Hellmans mayo and splenda + lemon + paprika to get a zero-sugar-starch (don't ask) Miracle Whip knockoff, but the texture was never the same. I guess the corn starch accounts for that.<br/><br/>I tried this recipe with the modifications and it indeed was the best knockoff I've ever heard of.<br/><br/>BUT! I have one idea..... hehehehehe.....dare I say it? Instead of using veg oil....... Anybody thought of using filtered BACON grease?????? I'm getting all light-headed thinking about it.....

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Garrett S. September 28, 2013

This was tasty, I enjoyed it very much. I used an immersion blender adding up to the oil and it worked very well. I will keep this recipe. I have made mayo a few times and have not been crazy about the flavor, very oily tasty and rather bland, but this makes your mouth sing. One note, I don't get the photo. It looks weird or bazaar looking, not very appealing. I don't know what it is exactly, I can't quite make it out. To me it looks like mayo on the bottom and some kind of liquid filling the rest with bits of mayo floating on top. I would recommend changing that . It's not very appealing. But the results are very good. Thanks for sharing this with us!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
scwheeler24 September 10, 2013
Homemade Miracle Whip