Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Microwave Popcorn Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Microwave Popcorn

    Average Rating:

    79 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 79

    Sort by:

    • on January 15, 2004

      Thanks so much for a great recipe, Lisa! I used a chip clip (all plastic, no metal) instead of staples, cause I was paranoid about metal in my microwave and it worked just fine. I also used spray butter on my popcorn instead of melted butter because it has 0 calories. I will be using this often! Thanks again for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 16, 2004

      What a snap! I did the butter spray and salt. Used Scotch tape to seal...no problem.Could re-use the bag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 18, 2003

      WOW! Just tried this and it worked perfectly and was so fast and easy! Mine was done in 2 minutes. I was going to go and buy a popcorn maker but now I don't have to. Thanks for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2009

      I can't believe I have never rated this. I have made this many many times. It's so easy and much tastier than the microwave popcorn you buy in the store! My air popper is getting lonely. LOL! I just fold the bag and have never had a problem. thanks princesslisa.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      I've been doing this for quite a while now and forgot to post a review, sorry. This is really great, no fake butter and hidden chemicals ,just yumminess! Oh, and I scotch taped the bag ,too. I don't think we've bought microwave popcorn from the store for more than a year and a half. Thanks so much for posting :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 13, 2011

      Oh my gosh, it worked. We added a little olive oil instead of the butter and used one staple. We used the popcorn setting on the microwave. It came out perfectly. The only thing I would do differently next time is to put the bag on a plate--it was extremely greasy, and made a mess of the microwave turn table. I don't think I will ever buy commercial microwave popcorn again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 13, 2010

      I've been wanting to try this for a while, and I finally did! It was awesome. I just put the popcorn in the bag, folded it over and made a "paper staple" like we used to do in school, and popped for about 2 minutes. It popped perfectly! I just sprayed a little cooking spray in the bag a couple of times and shook, then lightly salted and shook again! Will definitely make this regularly! I don't like store bought micro popcorn because of the palm oil and such.....this is GREAT!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2009

      Ah this was cool. I just folded the paper bag since I don't have a turntable in my microwave so I wasn't sure how safe staples would be if they were stationary. I had a few unpopped kernels but I also erred on the side of taking the popcorn out early . I used only 1 tbsp of butter. The flavor was between plain air-popped popcorn (which is too bland for me) and microwave popcorn (which has too much "flavor" for me). In other words, I really enjoyed it. I think with a little experience this will be an easy method.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2009

      Thanks for posting this! My girls (1.5 and 3.5) love popcorn and have it for an afternoon snack nearly every day! You can imagine we were going thru quite a bit of microwave popcorn (which I didn't even really care for!) This turned out great; maybe I will cut down the butter b/c our bag was a soggy mess (will place my bag in a bowl next time so my microwave doesn't get buttery). But it popped up quite impressively (I used scotch tape, not staples--I'm paranoid and our microwave is new!) Sprinkled lightly with butter flavored popcorn seasoning. Fantastic. Kiddos are munching on it right now!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 27, 2014

      I just learned how to make this a few weeks ago. I like it better than the store bought bag. The only thing is if I leave it in for the whole time when I push the popcorn button on the microwave it burns. So I just have to shorten the time. Healthier this way!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2014

      If you all are getting soggy bags of popcorn I recommend that you wait until after the popcorn is done popping and then put the popcorn in a bowl then have the butter be melting in a small sauce pan on stove to pour over the popped corn after it's all done. I always melt my butter on stove, pop my popcorn in paper bag in microwave then put it in bowl, then pour melted butter and seasoning over it and mix it up that way there is little mess in microwave.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2014

      Yay! This worked great! I wish I had known about this recipe years, well decades ago.I used tape and it was done in 2.5 mins. Thanks so much!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2013

      This is very flexible method! I've tried sweet, salty, and plain versions! My current microwave isn't as powerful as the one I had before, but I still had to reduce the popping time to 90 seconds. At 2 minutes, I had to open the doors and windows to vent the stench before my overly-loud smoke detector went crazy. I use an all-plastic chip clip, but I've used staples and tape (scotch or masking) before without issue. (Microwaves are most dangerous for metal when they can create circular eddy currents, and staples really aren't conducive to circles. Spoons, no way.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2012

      Awesome! You saved me the $30 (plus) for a hot air popper! This popcorn turned out fabulous. My microwave is super fast so for me 2 minutes 20 seconds is enough time to pop. Thanks for sharing this money saving recipe, I absolutely loved it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 19, 2010

      This worked like a charm! I just folded the bag and had no issues. I was not sure when to add the butter, so I coated the popcorn before cooking. . .next time I will just do a slight drizzle of oil before and add the butter after popping. I ended up with about 1.5 T unpopped kernels after 2 minutes on high, so next time I will try 2 min 15 seconds and see what happens. Thanks for the recipe!~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2010

      I love making this. I add peanut oil (if I have it) or olive oil just a small drizzle to the bag before putting it in the microwave. I only leave it in my microwave 1 minute 30 seconds and its done, there are few unpopped kernals, but always tasty. Tonight I melted butter and added cayenne pepper - it was AWESOME!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2010

      It was ok. I folded the top of the bag and didn't need staples or tape. However, no matter how short of cooking time or lowest set of heat on microwave, I'd either scorch the botton of the bag or would have too many unpopped popcorn. Was easier to just buy an air popper.UPDATE 07/2010 I wasn't satisfied with my orginal review and had to try it again. Again didn't need staples or tape, just folded the top of the bag. Every 2 minutes I stoped the microwave and shook the bag to help keep the bottom from scortching. It did help keep it from burning. Still had quite a few unpoped kernels but I think it was way better than my first few experiences.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 28, 2009

      This is the Cliff Note version of popping pop corn. Just too easy for my brain. Made for Alphabet Soup Tag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 25, 2009

      I researched this online yesterday and found that I can use a plastic container with the top fitted loosely. It works perfectly and uses less waste! I will never buy microwave popcorn again. I've tried smart balance butter spread and olive oil. Both taste great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      It works!! However, the first time, the popcorn turned out perfect. The second time I started a little fire so becareful of the type of bag you use.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Microwave Popcorn

    Serving Size: 1 (31 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 33.9
     
    Calories from Fat 34
    10%
    Total Fat 3.8 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 10.1 mg
    3%
    Sodium 33.8 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites