8 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Performed perfectly. I was sure to consult a recipe for this after forgetting to only use egg yolks a while back ;-). Used this for the Aeoli in Rich's "Fast and Easy Fish Soup with Garlic Aeoli" Fast and Easy Fish Soup With Garlic Aioli (which was also VERY GOOD)

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gay Gilmore February 18, 2002

Nice Zing to it. I used the immersion blender method which is much quicker and I used red wine vinegar instead of lemon juice and it turned out terrifically. Will be keeping this recipe on hand for sure!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LizzieLou January 26, 2010

I had great results. I can't comment on the flavor since I only use mayo as an "add-to". I used this mayo as the base for my own favorite salad dressing and it was great. I loved the texture of the final product. I used safflower oil over olive oil because I wanted to bland safflower taste to combine well with my dressing. This was my first time to make homemade mayo and I'll definitely do it again. Thanks Diana!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
RedFarmGirl July 08, 2007

best i've tasted since my mum's.To improve taste use a free range egg, you'll be surprised what a difference it makes!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rosamunda63 July 15, 2006

A little on the salty side in my poinion. Next time I will reduce the salt. I cut the lemon juice to 1 tsp. on the reccommendation of the reviews before me, but ended up adding some, as it was kinda plain, I thought. It worked out pretty OK overall. I've never made mayo before, so it was pretty satisfying.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
m a n t e e g a June 20, 2005

I used a half and half combination of olive oil and regular (bland) oil. Also, allowed only 1 tsp. of lemon juice basing that amount on others' reviews that this recipe is too lemony. Clear and concise instructions. Very important to let mayo set in frig for 30 minutes as indicated in recipe. Used this mayo for Egg and Watercress Tea Sandwiches.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
COOKGIRl June 03, 2005

This didn't have much flavor for me, other than an overpowering Lemon taste. But I've never been a big lemon lover. I used this mayo in a salad..and it tasted great, so I think I'd leave this recipe to salads, and mixing things, instead of just spreading it on a sandwich.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crazycookinmama January 07, 2005

This was good. I had actually never made or tasted mayonnaise before. The taste and consistency was good, but I thought the lemon was too strong. I used most of it in a sweet potato salad I made, and used a bit in a grilled cheddar cheese sandwich, which gave it a nice creamy consistency. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
89240 July 03, 2004
Homemade Mayonnaise