83 Reviews

This was easy to make and tasted good too. I made it jsut as written, but might try with some lemon juice next time.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
iris5555 June 23, 2011

Perfect! I used 1/2 EVOO and 1/2 grapeseed oil. The mayo was definitely more nutty/olivey than the grocery store brand, but we loved it. This is now my go-to mayo recipe. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
jo_mama June 14, 2011

Followed the recipe exactly, and it came out great! This was my first try making homemade mayonnaise, and I couldn't have been more pleased. I used it in http://www.food.com/recipe/big-johns-killer-caesar-salad-dressing-26431, which tastes fantastic! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teacher, Baker, Candlestick Maker February 26, 2011

Amazing! I've never made mayo before! This was perfect and has such "room" for the addition of other ingredients. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Herb-Cat June 11, 2010

I have never made mayo in my life, but I was making tuna salad and realized I was out. You made it sound so easy, I figured what the heck...I'd give it a try. I did what others said, and added the oil in a thin stream. And it worked! :D It's a little tart for me, so next time I'll either try less vinegar or add a bit of sugar. Other than that, I'm thrilled!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katlinn June 11, 2010

Excellent! The trick as pr other reviews is trickling oil in VERY slowly. That allows the air to incorporate and thicken the mayo. I would not take this to a picnic or pot luck where it is going to sit out. It needs to refrigerated until served to prevent food poisoning. If you have heard potato salads are risky when kept warm before serving then its worse if you use raw egg in the dressing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bitch'n kitchen March 20, 2010

Really good homemade mayonnaise. I doubled it and it was excellent. The comments from others' reviews regarding adding the oil in a thin stream for thickening made a difference! I have tried to make in the past and it never thickened right. This time, excellent. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbara in southern Brasil January 17, 2010

This was really good and so fun to make. My DH doesn't like mayonnaise, or so he says, so I never buy it. However, he loved the cold slaw I made with this. Now I can use mayonnaise in all kinds of things. Thanks so much Beachgirl.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea November 16, 2009
Homemade Mayonnaise