Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Mayonnaise Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Mayonnaise

    Average Rating:

    80 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-80 of 80

    Sort by:

    • on July 21, 2008

      Better than Helmann's! WOW! I went to make a large batch of cole slaw and realized I didn't have enough mayo....thanks for coming to the rescue with this wonderful recipe! I will never buy from the store again. What at gem!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 06, 2008

      This was a quick, easy mayo recipe that came together easily. I used cider vinegar, rather than white and it was perfect. I found that during the blending, I needed to stop and stir the mixture, so the oil didn't sit on top. I think that's my blender though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2008

      I followed this recipe exactly. Got to the end and realized the salt hadn't been added! I guess it was supposed to be added with the dry mustard, etc. Hmph. Well, I added it after the 2nd addition of oil and it seemed to come out fine consistency-wise. Upon immediate tasting it was too tart, too salty and a little oily tasting, even though I used good quality canola oil. I'll let it sit in the fridge for an hour or two and taste it again once the flavors have had a chance to meld. UPDATE: After letting it sit overnight, it tastes better, although still a tad oily. Maybe next time I will try a lighter oil or do half olive oil. I think I'll also sub fresh lemon juice for some of the vinegar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 12, 2008

      Easy, pleasy, tasty, this is going into my permanment files! I remember my mother making mayo, but it taking a long time and was had to get it just right. Not this recipe! Added the paprika this time, will try the rosemary next time to go on some potato salad. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 22, 2008

      First time making mayo, used my immersion blender. This was so easy! Family thought it tasted so much better than store bought. My hubby was concerned about Salmonella but I read up on it and the chance of it being in the inside of the egg (her is says to wash the outside) is something like .005%, very minute. For those still concerned, there are instructions out there on how to pasteurize the eggs before making the mayo. Found a nice article about it on ezinearticles.net BTW, mayo should last 3-7 days in the fridge. I'll definitely make this again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 21, 2008

      This was so easy and fast. I made this recipe exactly as directed except I did not use the optional paprika. I will never buy mayonnaise again, what a perfect recipe! Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      I had run out of mayo for something else, so quick looked up this recipe. Wonderful, fresh flavor. Easy to make. Subbed corn oil for the canola as that's what I had on hand. The two tablespoons of vinegar was just perfect for us. The trick to thickening this is to pour the oil into the egg mixture in a very thin stream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2007

      It didn't thicken up very well for me and there was too much vinegar in it. It tastes good in my potato salad, though. I wonder if I did something wrong....

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 13, 2007

      This is great! This saves me the high cost of mayonnaise. I hardly ever use a full jar. Even when I buy those little jars that cost over $3. Now I can cook all the wonderful recipes I've seen on Zaar that call for mayonnaise. Hurray! I used white wine vinegar in mine. It was delicious! Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2007

      Mine came out a too salty. Otherwise very good.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2007

      try 1 tblsp vinegar & 1 tblsp lemon juice, even better

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 10, 2007

      Well, I had a recipe I wanted to make that called for mayo, and I was out so tried this recipe and it came out great. I had to use apple cider vinegar and did put 1/2 tsp. sugar, but will get white vinegar and will make this again. I don't say I will never buy store mayo again, but this is very good and easy!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2007

      I liked this a lot. It was very light and creamy. And it was super quick and easy to make. I think I'm going to start using this instead of the store brand stuff. It's probably healthier and it just tastes better.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 16, 2006

      I was in the middle of making some spinach and artichoke dip (Copycat of T.G.I. Friday's Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip) and realized I had no mayonnaise... just an empty container that my BF had put back in the fridge!!! This recipe came to the rescue. I used 1/2 cup of canola oil and 1/2 cup of olive oil because that is what I had in the pantry. Otherwise followed the directions, which were easy to follow. It was a little tart for my taste upon first tasting but in the dip it was quite good. We will see what my BF thinks when I make him a sandwich for lunch tomorrow!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 10, 2006

      I made this for some Belgian frites I'm making tomorrow. Our brewclub is making a Belgian Dubbel, so I wanted to keep with the theme. Anyways, I just made the mayo and it's delicious. I used a stick blender which worked beautifully. I was a bit nervous at first but as soon as I hit the second quarter cup of oil, it all came together. My changes were using malt vinegar (hey- I'm a brewer) and adding 1/2 tsp of garlic powder. I think it'll go great with the fries

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2005

      Looks just like store mayo. Taste even better. Very good, simple and quick. Never made home made mayo before, but will make it again. We both enjoy it. Thank You.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2004

      Simple, quick, easy, good substitute for the grocery-store mayo. I prefer making home made mayo since you can make it fresh and as much as you require. Leftovers assist the next morning breakfast!! Thanks.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 27, 2004

      Just made artichokes, then realized we had no mayo! Instead of running to the store, I ran to Zaar and found this little gem! I've always been hesitant to make mayo, but with my FP, it was a breeze and cost just pennies!! My 13-year old is chowing as I type. Thanks for the save (and the new habit - who needs best foods?) :-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2004

      This is my first time making mayonnaise. I thought it was a little too tart. Next time I'll try it with 1 tablespoon of vinegar instead of 2 and see if it helps. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2004

      WOW! This little mixture makes the best tasting mayo, and right in jig time! It's quick! I doubled the ingredients and made enough to use in txgammi's Homemade Ranch Dressing/Dip Homemade Ranch Dressing/Dip. I'm not even going to bother buying commercial anymore ... This is just the ticket! Thank you for sharing, BG ... I love your recipe! Laudee

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Mayonnaise

    Serving Size: 1 (15 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 100.4
     
    Calories from Fat 100
    99%
    Total Fat 11.1 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 9.3 mg
    3%
    Sodium 61.7 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites