81 Reviews

Followed the recipe exactly, and it came out great! This was my first try making homemade mayonnaise, and I couldn't have been more pleased. I used it in http://www.food.com/recipe/big-johns-killer-caesar-salad-dressing-26431, which tastes fantastic! Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Teacher, Baker, Candlestick Maker February 26, 2011

Amazing! I've never made mayo before! This was perfect and has such "room" for the addition of other ingredients. Thanks for sharing!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Herb-Cat June 11, 2010

I have never made mayo in my life, but I was making tuna salad and realized I was out. You made it sound so easy, I figured what the heck...I'd give it a try. I did what others said, and added the oil in a thin stream. And it worked! :D It's a little tart for me, so next time I'll either try less vinegar or add a bit of sugar. Other than that, I'm thrilled!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katlinn June 11, 2010

Excellent! The trick as pr other reviews is trickling oil in VERY slowly. That allows the air to incorporate and thicken the mayo. I would not take this to a picnic or pot luck where it is going to sit out. It needs to refrigerated until served to prevent food poisoning. If you have heard potato salads are risky when kept warm before serving then its worse if you use raw egg in the dressing.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bitch'n kitchen March 20, 2010

Really good homemade mayonnaise. I doubled it and it was excellent. The comments from others' reviews regarding adding the oil in a thin stream for thickening made a difference! I have tried to make in the past and it never thickened right. This time, excellent. Great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Barbara in southern Brasil January 17, 2010

This was really good and so fun to make. My DH doesn't like mayonnaise, or so he says, so I never buy it. However, he loved the cold slaw I made with this. Now I can use mayonnaise in all kinds of things. Thanks so much Beachgirl.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Connie Lea November 16, 2009

Yup, it's mayonnaise! I decided to try this because I like to make my own salad dressings so I can go through some mayonnaise. And have you seen the price of mayonnaise? Crazy! The only thing I did different was I added a teaspoon of sugar. I will try a splash or two of freash lemon juice next. Not exactly Best Foods (my fav) but this is a 5 star review because I am tired of paying top dollar for mayo! Plus I think you could tweek this to suit your own personal taste. I'd have no idea how to make my own mayo if I had not seen this recipe, thank you for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
madetobemagic71 November 13, 2009

so quick! and it's tastes great! i added the tsp of sugar with the rest of the ingredients, and i can't believe how well it turned out! i added my oil really quick at the end (by accident) but it's still a good texture.... also, i decided to take the bottom off of the blender to "funnel" it into the jar.... not a good idea. anyone out there who needs sleep first, take note: do not attempt to funnel! ;) oh, i also used prepared mustard (it's what i had) and veggie oil.... but next time i'll try olive, and a friend suggested adding coconut oil too... :) thanks so much!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ahungrywolfe October 14, 2009
Homemade Mayonnaise