86 Reviews

My family lobes this recipe. We eat all organic and have our own free range chickens for eggs. I had been complaining about store bought mayonnaise being made with canola oil due to canola oil being questionable as far as organic. So I used organic avocado oil, braggs organic apple cider vinegar instead of distilled. The finish is white, fluffy, creamy, and tasty. Thank you.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Erin M. August 23, 2015

Unbelievable. I was very skeptical, but decided to try the immersion blender method. I thought the trick to homemade mayo had to be in the emulsifying process, so just dumping all of the ingredients in together seemed risky. Went on the other reviewers word for it and dumped all ingredients into a tall glass jar (warmed with water and dried first) and also used room temperature egg. Put stick blender into bottom of jar and turned it on. Pulled it up through the mixture and viola, perfect homemade mayo in literally less than one minute from start to finish.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
anita121683 August 05, 2015

An excellent recipe but why the caution about elderly people? I am 73. I am pretty good home cook and prepare nearly all my meals myself. I eat many eggs and eaten by themselves I like them undercooked. Elderly people have built up their immune systems for their entire lives and less likely to be sickened by something on the shell. Eggs are naturally sterile when laid by the chicken. Any contamination comes later and is not likely.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Don B. June 28, 2015

I use a lot of mayo (probably too much) and have been searching YEARS for even a " passable " copy of my favorite Kraft Real Mayo. Now that it's over $5 per quart in the supermarket the need had become pressing, that is until I stumbled upon YOUR simple little recipe ! <br/>I made it EXACTLY according to your ingredients list, measurements, and directions. For the mixing, I used a VERY large hard plastic tumbler ( about 25 oz. ) and my single speed immersion blender. I DID sneak in one dash of a personal favorite ingredient to add a little tartness ( not lemon or lime juice ). <br/> When I saw and tasted the ivory white, thick & creamy result I knew INSTANTLY that my years long search had finally come to a wildly successful end. I can't thank you enough for publishing this masterpiece recipe, you're an ANGEL ! Joe S.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Simon L. June 07, 2014

I love this mayo! I put all the ingredients in a narrow blending container and used my immersion blender and blended away! It all came together in less than a minute..thick and creamy. Thank you for posting such a wonderful recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mavis S. March 08, 2014

This worked well. My son made it, because he doesn't care for the store bought stuff. It turned out really tasty and was easy too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kim~In~Canada October 14, 2013

Have made this recipe just as written many many times and it always turns out great! (I don't prefer the optional paprika, but make no other changes.)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Hoddevik July 19, 2013

I haven't made homemade mayo in a long time and I couldn't find my recipe. I search quite a few recipes and decided to try this one. I guess that recipe I lost can stay lost, using this one from now on!! All I did was cut the salt in half, perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
csilcox75 June 30, 2013

This has worked every time for me except the one time I forgot what I was doing and added everything to the blender at once. I've never made with white vinegar only unpasteurized apple cider and I use already prepared brown deli mustard I need to pick up both at the market. I don't like mayo but maybe its a in my brain thing because this is pretty tasty.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AuntJeni June 04, 2013

Wow.....Who knew!!!! I ran out of mayo and needed some to finish the amount called for in the recipe I was making so decided to hit food.com to see how hard it was to make my own rather than pack up and go to the store. It was totally simple and tastes just like store bought only a better texture. Thank you sooooooooooo much for sharing this one. I'll never buy mayo again!!!! You just saved me a trip to the store (probably more in gas than what a jar of mayo would cost) and it's totally fresh. Love this recipe and definitely will be making this over and over again :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yedenmatka May 07, 2013
Homemade Mayonnaise