Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Mayonnaise Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Mayonnaise

    Average Rating:

    80 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 80

    Sort by:

    • on August 24, 2010

      I incorporated a lot of the suggestions of other reviewers when I made this. I poured hot water in the food processor and left it for a few minutes, then dried before using. Also, I washed the egg in vinegar, rinsed and dried it before adding to the recipe. I omitted the paprika, reduced the salt to about 1/4 tsp (because many people said it was too salty with 1/2 tsp), used 1 tbsp vinegar and about 2 tsp lemon juice, and added 1 tsp sugar. I mixed all the ingredients (except only adding 2-3 tbsp canola oil) and processed on low for 2 minutes. I then stopped to scrape the sides, before continuing to process on low. The remaining oil I added in a continuous slow stream until it was gone and the mixture reached the consistency of mayo. I was worried early on that it wouldn't thicken, but it took most of the oil for the consistency to really take shape. This turned out so well, and tasted just like real Hellmann's mayonnaise. This is a great recipe and will be sure to make this again, thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 20, 2007

      Beach Girl, you got in first with a real winner. I have been making this awesome recipe since the early 1980s (it is the only mayo my family and friends will eat). But my process is slightly different. I always double the ingredients. I put the eggs, hot English dry mustard, salt and vinegar in a food processor and buzz them for 30 seconds. With the processor motor still running, I then slowly add the oil in a fine stream. If you add the oil too fast the whole mixture will curdle. By the way, you can make it with canola, sunflower, vegetable or olive oil...but never use peanut oil. I learned that the hard way...Â?and it tastes terrible. Also, don't worry too much about the raw egg. I have served this recipe to many ages...from 2 to 96...with no ill effects. But I am very careful about my source of eggs. And a last comment, I think a great aspect of this mayo is the lack of sugar. If you must add sugar, add no more than 1 teaspoon per egg used.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2012

      Thank you for sharing this recipe, homemade mayonnaise is the best!! I followed the ingredients to a "t" but I have to say, there is a much easier way to prepare the mayo than using a blender or food processor. Dump all the ingredients into a tall narrow container (tall, big glass works well) use an immersion, or "stick" blender. Place the blender all the way to the bottom of the glass, turn it on and slowly pull it up. Ta-Da! Your mayo is ready in less than 30 seconds.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 03, 2010

      this is a wonderful recipe. I make mine in the food processor. i have to say a general mayo making tip would be always add the oil in a very thin continuos stream. also if you warm your blender/food processor slightly you get a much smoother mayo. (warm by filling with hot water and let it sit for a few min, then pour out the water, dry well, then make your mayo.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 06, 2010

      The mayo turned out great, really enjoyed it. I wiped my eggs with vinegar. I think the soap might do more harm than good. Also the acid in the vinegar would really make this okay to take to a picnic. No potato salad at a picnic is a fallacy. There have been quite a few research papers written on this subject.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 19, 2009

      Excellent recipe. I've been making mayo like this for years. I recommend olive oil, though. First, it gives a more authentic flavour (for those of you that have had real mayo in Europe). Second, canola oil is awful for one's health. If you add some chopped sweet pickles or a little relish, this makes an outstanding tartar sauce!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2012

      This is now my " go to" recipe for mayo.It's truly perfect. Two of my children cannot have any type of preservative what so ever, and this makes sandwiches and homemade ranch dressing taist better than store bought. Thanks so much!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2011

      I've made this a few times now, and won't go back to store-bought mayo! I use olive oil, as we don't use canola. The flavor is incredible! Thanks for posting this versatile recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 10, 2010

      Fast, easy, great flavor! Exactly what I wanted! Thanks for Posting!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2010

      We don't even buy mayo anymore thanks to your recipe! I really can't believe how easy it is. However, one day I thought I would try making it with my hand mixer and it was a disaster - had a weird taste and would never get to the right consistancy. Blender is so much easier anyway and it comes out perfect every time. Also to eliminate the possibility of salmonella, you can use pasteurized eggs. The only way this could be better is if mayo was actually good for us! ha ha. Thanks again for this recipe! :) UPDATE: I got a food processor for Christmas and it made double batches of this mayo SO much faster and with less fuss than the blender!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 01, 2009

      I just made this today, and I was so amazed at how it set up! It was incredibly easy. I try my best to make as much from scratch as I can in order to be more healty. (Is homemade mayo healthy? =) Anyways, this is so incredibly cheap to make that I will probably be making this instead of buying it from now on. I will definitely try adding in herbs also the next time I make it. I did add some sugar though because it was just a bit too tart for me. My husband thinks I'm a genius!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 19, 2014

      warning to those who are using a " vitamix". do not pour in oil slowly as with other food processers or you will ruin it. mix everything together except oil briefly on high then turn down to about 8 and just pour oil in a stream about the width of your thumb. watch closely for emulsion you may have to go faster. in seconds you have mayonnaise. I use organic extra virgin olive oil and extra virgin organic coconut oil, equal parts.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2014

      I use a lot of mayo (probably too much) and have been searching YEARS for even a " passable " copy of my favorite Kraft Real Mayo. Now that it's over $5 per quart in the supermarket the need had become pressing, that is until I stumbled upon YOUR simple little recipe ! <br/>I made it EXACTLY according to your ingredients list, measurements, and directions. For the mixing, I used a VERY large hard plastic tumbler ( about 25 oz. ) and my single speed immersion blender. I DID sneak in one dash of a personal favorite ingredient to add a little tartness ( not lemon or lime juice ). <br/> When I saw and tasted the ivory white, thick & creamy result I knew INSTANTLY that my years long search had finally come to a wildly successful end. I can't thank you enough for publishing this masterpiece recipe, you're an ANGEL ! Joe S.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2014

      The easiest way to make this is with an immersion blender or stick blender. Put all ingredients into a 2 cup glass measuring cup. Place blender all the way to the bottom and turn on (I used low speed). Lift blender to top and everything is creamy and ready. Less than 30 seconds. Perfect every time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 08, 2014

      I love this mayo! I put all the ingredients in a narrow blending container and used my immersion blender and blended away! It all came together in less than a minute..thick and creamy. Thank you for posting such a wonderful recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 05, 2013

      Love this! Never made mayo before and this is a keeper!<br/>I used half vegetable oil half olive oil.<br/>A quick shot of regular mustard (not dry).<br/>White wine vinegar... and a dash or so of salt, pepper, cumin, and garlic. <br/>This will go perfectly with my baked eggplant 'fries'. YUM! <br/>Thanks so much! Never buying store mayo again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2013

      This worked well. My son made it, because he doesn't care for the store bought stuff. It turned out really tasty and was easy too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2013

      Have made this recipe just as written many many times and it always turns out great! (I don't prefer the optional paprika, but make no other changes.)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2013

      I haven't made homemade mayo in a long time and I couldn't find my recipe. I search quite a few recipes and decided to try this one. I guess that recipe I lost can stay lost, using this one from now on!! All I did was cut the salt in half, perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2013

      Used a kitchen aide mixer and it worked well. Will definitely be making again. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Mayonnaise

    Serving Size: 1 (15 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 20

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 100.4
     
    Calories from Fat 100
    99%
    Total Fat 11.1 g
    17%
    Saturated Fat 0.8 g
    4%
    Cholesterol 9.3 mg
    3%
    Sodium 61.7 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites