Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Marshmallows Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Marshmallows

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on June 21, 2008

      OOOOH, these are so good. I followed the recipe exactly and they are wonderful. I did spray my 9 x 13 pan with cooking spray and then sifted confectioners sugar onto the sides and the bottom. If you have trouble spreading them out, spray your spatula with cooking spray and the dust it with confectioners sugar. The variations are limitless with this recipe. Peppermint extract, toasted coconut, dipping them in chocolate and caramel, etc.....................

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 21, 2010

      This recipe is fantastick! I am allergic to corn and corn oils and syrups so I subsituted the corn syrup with Light Agave Nectar and it was WONDERFUL! I am making them again and will decorate them for Halloween for my students!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 30, 2007

      Absolutely fabulous! I found this recipe in the King Arthur catalog, and knew I just had to try it. My very first batch came out just perfect. I used a 9x13 pan and got 40 marshmallows. The only downside to these- once you eat them, you will never want to settle for the supermarket variety ever again. I had to hide some of them to conduct and aging test. The first two days (sealed in a metal tin lined with parchment paper), they remained very fresh tasting, retaining the softness. After the 4th day, they started to resemble the supermarket variety in texture, but they were still much better in flavor. I passed them around at the various offices at my work (used those people as guinea pigs I did), and had a few people come to the next day asking if I still had any left. I also had to pass out several copies of the recipe. Most people didn't even realize you could make homemade marshmallows. No one believed me when I told them how simple it was. I will most definitely be making these again; in fact I'm making another batch tomorrow for my husband to take to work.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 14, 2007

      One word --- OMG! :) My daughter has an egg allergy and this week at preschool, they are making stuff in the kitchen. I volunteered to bring in the sugar cookies and marshmallow fluff so I could make them without eggs so she could participate and eat the food too. Most parents don't realize these grocery foods contain eggs :( Anyway, due to the yield, I doubled the recipe b/c I needed enough to fill a jar full of this white fluffy stuff. Much to my surprise, my mixing bowl was overflowing after about 10 minutes of mixing. This was a super easy recipe. I didn't have a candy thermometer so once it got to a roaring boil (212 degrees), I boiled it for another 3 minutes to get to about 240 degrees. I also didn't have clear vanilla extract and since I wanted white fluff, I decided to use orange extract and it tastes wonderful! I filled up one jar and had to make marshmallows with the rest. I filled up to 9x13 pans and am waiting for them to dry out so I can cut them into marshmallows and give some to my neighbor and make some rice crispy treats. Since my fluff tastes GREAT, I am sure my MMs will be just as great! Thanks for the eggless marshmallow recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2013

      Never buy packaged marshmallows again! This recipe makes it so easy to create them at home. Plus, they are so much more fluffy and yummy when homemade. The only catch was getting them out of the pan: it had plenty of powdered sugar on it but they still stuck. I discovered that if you use powdered sugar to handle these/cut them up like you would flour with dough (i.e., getting it *everywhere*), it's much easier.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 17, 2013

      great recipe, I cover them in chocolate. They are delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2011

      These marshmallows are awesome! My (almost) 3 year old helped me make them and had a blast. We followed the recipe exactly as stated except we put colored sugar on top of the marshmallows instead of powdered sugar because my 3 and 1 year olds think everything is better with sprinkles...I happen to agree :) I only had regular vanilla on hand, not the clear kind, and the marshmallows still turned out perfectly white. I can't wait to make these again! Now I just have to stop myself from eating them all! Thanks IslandGirl!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2010

      This is a wonderful recipe! These are VERY easy to make, and I use them as holiday gifts for my kids' teachers. I've tried to mix it up a little and used peppermint extract, swirling red or green food coloring over the top to make them festive looking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2010

      This is an absolutely wonderful recipe. I have used it over and over for a year in my home based bakery. I get lots of wonderful comments. I was surprised to find it on here on the zaar. I highly recommend.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

    • on December 30, 2007

      Who knew marshmallows were so easy to make!! Although I was happy to have my trusty kitchen aid mixer to do the whipping for me. I wanted to do something other than holiday fudge this year and thought this recipe fit the bill perfectly. I dipped my squares in a dark chocolate, which was a nice contrast to the already declicious light treat. When the plate was put on the dessert table they just seemed to vanish. I will make these treats again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2007

      I attempted at making this recipe three times and everytime I ended up with marshmallow soup. The batter wouldn't turn fluffy. I followed the directions exactly and even after 35 minutes of vigorous beating, I still ended up with soup. This recipe really ruined my night, and my Thanksgiving Yams. I don't recommend using this recipe. There's a reason that companies make and pre-package these.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 15, 2007

      I loved these and they were really easy to make. We added food coloring to turn them pink for valentines day and used them to make rice ceral treats. Thanks for the recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2006

      This is an amazing recipe! I've made them twice now and both batches have been consistently excellent. To the second batch I added a little almond extract, and it made them even better. It seems to me that one could add any flavoring to these and they would be spectacular. (Maybe mint?) I made Rice Krispies treats and they are the best I've ever had. Thanks, IslandGirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 18, 2006

      Loved this recipe. I melt Dove milk chocolate then dip these marshmallows inside the melted chocolate and they taste better than Fannie Mae's chocolate hearts, which only come out near Valentines day and sometimes I dip them in Dove dark chocolate. They taste so much better than store bought marshmallows. Thanks for sharing this recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2006

      these were so amazing! mine didn't stick to the pan, but they did start to stick together after a day or two of being stored in a ziploc-- not that there were many left! as a sidenote, i feel like i read somewhere that if you stop after step 10 and pour it into a jar, you can use it as marshmallow fluff. maybe i'll try half and half next time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 21, 2005

      These are so good! Mine did stick on the sides, but not on the bottom (I used lots of powdered sugar). I also found it easiest to cut them with a wet kitchen shears, then redust them. I used these in a recipe for corn flake drop cookies-very good but they made the cookies much more sticky than store marshmallows. I'll definitely make these again. I like having control over the ingredients. Thanks IslandGirl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2003

      Great recipe. However i would spray entire pan with pam spray then powder generously on bottom and sides with the sugar. Mine stuck but nobody minded! Thumbs up on this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Marshmallows

    Serving Size: 1 (913 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 69.8
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    57%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 26.4 mg
    1%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.6 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 12.2 g
    49%
    Protein 0.5 g
    1%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites