Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Marshmallows Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Marshmallows

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on November 11, 2008

      Ok...I'm giving it a five because it had a great taste. Friends loved the vanilla flavor and I cut it down to 1 tbsp. That being said, they were a little creamier than we would like. I would make them again as gifts but my family says they like the store bought ones better. Sad but true!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2008

      This is so easy to do thanks to this recipe!. I followed everything exactly as the recipe says and it turned out perfect! I had a little trouble coaxing the marshmallow out of the dish i put it in to "dry out" even after spraying the pan heavily with pam and sprinkling a cornstarch/powdered sugar mixture on the pan. the next day i dipped them into some melted chocolate. Wow..they looked really good and tasted like they were from a candy shop. Thanks so much for sharing this.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2008

      Have made this recipe several times over and it's ALWAYS been a huge hit! I use small cookie cutters to cut them in shapes for the current holiday (ie pumpkins and leaves for the fall). Thanks for your posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2008

      These are my son's new favorite recipe. We had a lot of fun. He loves his hot cocoa and it was a treat for him to make these when his school had a snow day. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2007

      I loved this recipe! I'm not much of a cook, but even I couldn't mess these up. My 6-year-old grandson gave them two thumbs up, and asked that I pass the recipe on to his other grandma. Ask me if that made me happy!!! You can be sure I'll make these again and again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      I found the mixture hard to spread in the pan, but may have whipped too long. They tasted great in hot chocolate and out. Would have liked a little more information about how to cut.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2007

      I like mint on occassion but this is so delicious, even addictive! I too added a teaspoon of mint extract and I love it! I even dropped red food coloring on the top and drug-it through with a skewer/toothpick, to make it look like candy cane stripes! This is a definite keeper. Super easy. The only thing different is I wanted larger ones so I on the next batch I used an 8x8 pan vs the 8x12. I also found it helpful to spray my spatulas/utensils with nonstick spray and then sift the powered sugar over them. This helped it from being too much of a sticky mess when I moved it from bowl to pan. This is fun and easy and my next batch will include dipping them in bittersweet chocolate! Happy Cooking~

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2007

      Really great- thanks for posting. I did one batch as written and another with peppermint extract instead of vanilla- dipped them in dark chocolate- outstanding!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2007

      Awsome! I put half the "batter" in a 8x8 pan and then added 1 tsp. peppermint extract to the rest. Both batches were wonderful, but the peppermint ones were my favorite. They were good plain, but then we had the idea to half/dip the peppermint ones (we cut them in half, or they were too big after dipping) in dark chocolate and then coat them with crushed peppermints. They are scrumptious just to eat, but I can't wait to try them in hot chocolate!!!! These will make the perfect Christmas treat for the neighbors. Thanks for the recipe, I am so glad I tried it. We were not big marshmallow eaters, but we are now. It was fun to make with the kids!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 20, 2007

      These marshmallows were the best I've ever had! The kids were asking me to make Rice Krispie Treats and, since I don't use anything artificial in my cooking or baking, I thought I'd make homemade marshmallow and continue the recipe from there. Oh, my goodness! They were completely gone before the day was out! I'll have to make traditional marshmallows next time. Thanks so much for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2007

      Excellent easy to follow recipe. They came out perfectly. I may never buy marshmallows again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2006

      I too saw this and agree, it's a 'good thing'.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 17, 2006

      These are easy and absolutely delicious. I made these for a holiday brunch for work and served them with a homemade hot chocolate. They were a hit! I'm going to try dusting them with cocoa powder and powdered sugar next time, but they were wonderful just the way they were.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2006

    • on June 22, 2005

      At first I was skeptical that one could actually make real marshmallows at home, but boy was I proven wrong! These are fantastic, and SO easy! I will never need to buy the grocery store ones again. This will come in really handy when the kiddos want Rice Crispie treats. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2005

      I use this recipe all the time. I never buy store bought marshmallows since learning how to make them. I never wait to cut them. I use a ton of powdered sugar to loosen the mallow from the pan and cut them right away. I am eating them within an hour of making them. They are great! Drizzle them with melted chocolate and sprinkle them with crushed "Heath" candy! Great treat! I have done a ton of different things with this recipe, the possibilities are endless.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 06, 2004

      I've always wanted to make marshmallos! WOW! This recipe was SUPER easy! I only added half of the vanilla (I could still really taste the vanilla) Next time I'll try other flavors! I get to use all my cool extracts no! YEY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2004

      I didn't have a candy thermometer, so I assumed the "firm ball stage" meant that a lot of medium-sized bubbles were bubbling over, so my recipe may have gone wrong. However, the marshmallows are surprisingly similar to the store-bought kind. It was too vanilla-y for me, I'd cut the amount at least in half. Also my mallows were still inside after more than a day, so they were hard to cut. I'd wait it out for 2 overnights instead.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 14, 2004

      These are great! Since the recipe didn't say anything about softening the gelatin, i added about 1/3-1/2 cup of cold water. Also, I only had smaller pans, so i made them in 2 different sized pans. 2 1/2 tablespoons of gelatin comes out to 3 packages. I had to toss the cut-out marshmellows in more powdered sugar to stop them from sticking to each other. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2003

      People are asking how I made these. Easy and fun recipe. They actually last a long time. Much better tasting than bought ones! They are also good dipped in dipping chocolate as a candy! Yum.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Marshmallows

    Serving Size: 1 (923 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 56.4
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    18%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 20.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 9.8 g
    39%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes