41 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

I will never eat store bought marshmallows again! This recipe is wonderful!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VICKIE HARRIS December 28, 2001

Ooohh! Fresh marshmallows! I made these to take camping, and tested them by taking some into work. They were a hit! I added two drops of almond flavoring as well as the vanilla. I can't wait to make them again, I'm already dreaming up ways to color/flavor the next batch!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
**Tinkerbell** March 22, 2002

Oh my, these are really good!!! since I´m in Sweden , corn syrup is hard to get so I used what we call "vit sirap" a colorless syrup that is made out of sugar beats and it worked beautifully. I did some changes to the flavouring: 1: since I just have an awful vanilla essence I didn´t add any vanilla instead I mixed som powdered vanilla sugar with the confectioners sugar. 2: I topped the white syrup with maple syrup and got a subtle maple flavour that was really good, I will add more next time!! so easy, so good, thank you lauren!!!!!

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MarieFromSweden April 18, 2003

These were delicious! They tasted the best the first day they were made. Of course, my body, my kitchen, and my mixer were coated in the stickiest marshmallowy mess ever. Completely worth it!! Tip for cutting: Dump marshmallows onto cutting board. Spray a sharp knife with pam and then dip in powdered sugar before each cut. Thanks for the recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pink Kitchenaid Lover October 12, 2009

This was my first time making marshmallows and I have to say that I am very pleased with how they turned out. I followed the directions exactly and had no problems. I used Sonoma Syrup Co Vanilla Bean Crush extract which has vanilla bean in with the extract and it produced the most wonderful vanilla flavor and scent! I've shared some and so far nothing but rave reviews. My mind keeps coming up with new flavors to try next! Anyone know if substituting honey for corn syrup would work? I made these a second time adding cocoa powder, cinnamon and instant coffee. Wow they were good!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cannoli August 29, 2009

I LOVE this recipe. It is so easy to make. Pam or butter is your friend with the recipe-- use it on your spatula and bowl so that the marshmallow won't stick. Half of the recipe works great in an 8x8 pan. My grandmother LOVED these so I decided to make "Peeps" with the recipe and lots of sprinkles for Valentine's Day.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nori M February 11, 2009

I made this with 6 kids. It was so much fun!!!! We made peppermint ones and added to our cocoa. I used non-stick aluminum foil and coated with butter and then dusted that with powdered sugar and cornstarch. I had no issues with it sticking at all. We will be doing this again. Thanks for posting this great, fun recipe.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bbblampwork January 06, 2009

My first attempt wasn't so great. Use a much bigger pan than you think you need and keep the heat around medium, not high. whipping for 15 minutes resulted in a congealed goop that couldn't be spread. I might try 5-7 minutes next time. The marshmallows turned out rubbery, maybe from over whipping. I used half the vanilla extract and they were still way too icky vannila-ey for me. Good starting point though. I want to make some changes and try again with brown rice syrup instead of corn syrup.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MDMama April 30, 2010

These were great. We had a hand mixer and mixed it for half the time, but they turned out perfect. Tip-cut lengthwise with a knife and then use kitchen shears to finish them off.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
fatty mcgee January 10, 2010

WHOO HOO!!! We have liftoff! These are goo-ood! I think the best part is that you can cut them the same size as your graham cracker. I like the almond extract suggestion. I think I'll try that next time.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Little Woman September 30, 2009
Homemade Marshmallows