Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Marshmallows Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Marshmallows

    Average Rating:

    41 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 41

    Sort by:

    • on December 28, 2001

      I will never eat store bought marshmallows again! This recipe is wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 22, 2002

      Ooohh! Fresh marshmallows! I made these to take camping, and tested them by taking some into work. They were a hit! I added two drops of almond flavoring as well as the vanilla. I can't wait to make them again, I'm already dreaming up ways to color/flavor the next batch!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 18, 2003

      Oh my, these are really good!!! since I´m in Sweden , corn syrup is hard to get so I used what we call "vit sirap" a colorless syrup that is made out of sugar beats and it worked beautifully. I did some changes to the flavouring: 1: since I just have an awful vanilla essence I didn´t add any vanilla instead I mixed som powdered vanilla sugar with the confectioners sugar. 2: I topped the white syrup with maple syrup and got a subtle maple flavour that was really good, I will add more next time!! so easy, so good, thank you lauren!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 12, 2009

      These were delicious! They tasted the best the first day they were made. Of course, my body, my kitchen, and my mixer were coated in the stickiest marshmallowy mess ever. Completely worth it!! Tip for cutting: Dump marshmallows onto cutting board. Spray a sharp knife with pam and then dip in powdered sugar before each cut. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 29, 2009

      This was my first time making marshmallows and I have to say that I am very pleased with how they turned out. I followed the directions exactly and had no problems. I used Sonoma Syrup Co Vanilla Bean Crush extract which has vanilla bean in with the extract and it produced the most wonderful vanilla flavor and scent! I've shared some and so far nothing but rave reviews. My mind keeps coming up with new flavors to try next! Anyone know if substituting honey for corn syrup would work? I made these a second time adding cocoa powder, cinnamon and instant coffee. Wow they were good!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 11, 2009

      I LOVE this recipe. It is so easy to make. Pam or butter is your friend with the recipe-- use it on your spatula and bowl so that the marshmallow won't stick. Half of the recipe works great in an 8x8 pan. My grandmother LOVED these so I decided to make "Peeps" with the recipe and lots of sprinkles for Valentine's Day.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2009

      I made this with 6 kids. It was so much fun!!!! We made peppermint ones and added to our cocoa. I used non-stick aluminum foil and coated with butter and then dusted that with powdered sugar and cornstarch. I had no issues with it sticking at all. We will be doing this again. Thanks for posting this great, fun recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 30, 2010

      My first attempt wasn't so great. Use a much bigger pan than you think you need and keep the heat around medium, not high. whipping for 15 minutes resulted in a congealed goop that couldn't be spread. I might try 5-7 minutes next time. The marshmallows turned out rubbery, maybe from over whipping. I used half the vanilla extract and they were still way too icky vannila-ey for me. Good starting point though. I want to make some changes and try again with brown rice syrup instead of corn syrup.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 10, 2010

      These were great. We had a hand mixer and mixed it for half the time, but they turned out perfect. Tip-cut lengthwise with a knife and then use kitchen shears to finish them off.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2009

      WHOO HOO!!! We have liftoff! These are goo-ood! I think the best part is that you can cut them the same size as your graham cracker. I like the almond extract suggestion. I think I'll try that next time.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      These were wonderful! i did them in 3 flavors...vanilla, almond and peppermint! To make sure they come easily out of the pan i first greased it well then layed a thick coatin of powdered sugar on it, marshmallow come right out! (Make sure you grease the side of the pan as well)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 26, 2008

      These were absolutely tremendous!! I was amazed at how easy these were and no dirtying every single dish in the kitchen to make some homemade candy. Very very gooey and sticky though, lol. Next time I might beat them a little less than 15 minutes (extremely difficult to get out of mixing bowl-had cooled off too much I believe) and I used 1 tablespoon of vanilla and it was perfect. Use a pastry cutter and walk it through to cut them. I dipped them in dark chocolate and sprinkled them with candies and they were out of this world-I will be making them for Christmas every year!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 07, 2008

      I have never made homemade Marshmellows before and they were pretty easy to make... I think that the 2 tablespoons of Vanilla was too much... I think next time I will cut back on it...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2008

      This was my first time making anything even remotely like this.I decided to substitute peppermint extract for vanilla.They ended up being a little too minty strong so I coated them all in Hersheys dark chocolate.Now they're awesome.This recipe is going to be fun to play with.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2008

      Really easy! Make sure you use 2 tablespoons of good vanilla! Also, grease the pan and coat it in powdered sugar (and some cornstarch) before you pour in the mallow to set. It really helps in taking it out!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2007

      This was so easy to make. This first time I made marshallows I nearly burned myself with the sugar but these had great directions and turned out great. I halved the recipe in fact. Also I added raspberry oil to half the marshallow and swirled in red food coloring. They were a hit and I am keeping this recipe for sure. I didn't have a candy thermotor so I just drop it in some cold water (it held its shaped, but was still pliable. What a great recipe

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 19, 2013

      wonderful recipe. This is a keeper!!! ;-)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2012

      Thank you GOOD

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2012

      We love these marshmallows. The only alteration I made was to sub corn syrup for 1 cup sugar and 1/4 cup water. I just combined with the other sugar and water for a total of 2 1/2 cups sugar and 3/4 cup water. Consistency was great. Not sure that I whipped for 15 min though. I waited for it to get kind of stringy and pulling like taffy and they come out perfect every time!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 19, 2008

      I have made these twice now and both times they have turned out WONDERFUL!! This time I added cocoa powder and substituted dark corn syrup for the light and boy are they good!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Marshmallows

    Serving Size: 1 (923 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 56.4
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    18%
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 20.9 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 14.1 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 9.8 g
    39%
    Protein 0.3 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites