19 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Good basis! I opted to roast the tomatoes under my broiler until the skin split. I also roasted garlic for use in the sauce. I used my hand to just squeeze the tomatoes into the pot. I also roasted a red pepper which I added later, and I cooked meatballs in the sauce. The sauce was really good without the extra additions, but divine with. It must have been good, the kids ate it lol! While it might be cheaper to buy a jar or can of sauce, you will not match the superb quality or satisfaction of making this one yourself.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Shu Shu May 27, 2009

This was great. I had to use regular tomatoes and guessed at the amount. (It ended up being about 7 cups finely chopped.) I cooked it in my 5 qt saute pan and in thickened up beautifully in about an hour. I'm guessing that those who are having trouble getting it to thicken are either scimping on the cooking time, or cooking it in a sauce pan which has less surface area for evaporation. I didn't puree the tomatoes, but they mostly fell apart during the cooking and provided the sauce with a slight amount of texture. I used only 2 TBSP of sugar and adjusted a few other things becasue of what I had on hand, but I think anyone could make a great sauce with this as written.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hpetryinchina May 27, 2009

Just what I was looking for to use up the fresh tomatoes from our garden. I added a can of tomato paste, some water and used just 1T of sugar. I think it would have been way too sweet for our taste with more. Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chris from Kansas September 10, 2013

This was great. Used regular tomatoes from the garden. I just eye-balled all the ingredients. I used the full amount of sugar because my tomatoes are very acidic. It was sweet, but I like a sweet sauce.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Charmie777 September 02, 2012

Thanks for the recipe! My Aunt gave me a bunch of regular tomatoes from her garden. I used those along with a can of crushed tomatoes and added some red wine I needed to use up and 2 cans of sliced mushrooms. I filled 3 containers and popped them in the freezer. I will keep this recipe for the next time I get a bounty of tomatoes.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sunsh1ne September 01, 2009

Nice basic sauce! I added tomato paste as someone else suggested and it cut down on the time waiting for the sauce to reduce. I liked the blend of spices, not too spicy or bland. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
hojo September 30, 2008

Nice sauce. Very fresh. I made as directed, but will add tomato paste next time as the other reviewers mentioned. I did add some red pepper flakes to pick up the flavor a bit.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PanNan September 26, 2008

This got rave reviews. I also added a can of paste to thicken it a bit. I shared it with my friend and her family loved it also.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
charlened September 16, 2008

This sauce is great! I did add two large cans of tomato paste because we like thick sauce. Once this was added, this marinara sauce was awesome. We'll be growing tomatoes for years to come to keep this in our house.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sheri826 August 21, 2008

I love this recipe! This was the first homemade marinara sauce I've ever made and I will be doing it again. I also added tomato paste to thicken it a bit. I used it for a pizza the other day and yum! My husband couldn't get over how good it was. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Cucina Italiana de Pepe August 04, 2008
Homemade Marinara Sauce