Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Marinara Sauce Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Marinara Sauce

    Average Rating:

    19 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-19 of 19

    Sort by:

    • on May 27, 2009

      Good basis! I opted to roast the tomatoes under my broiler until the skin split. I also roasted garlic for use in the sauce. I used my hand to just squeeze the tomatoes into the pot. I also roasted a red pepper which I added later, and I cooked meatballs in the sauce. The sauce was really good without the extra additions, but divine with. It must have been good, the kids ate it lol! While it might be cheaper to buy a jar or can of sauce, you will not match the superb quality or satisfaction of making this one yourself.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2009

      This was great. I had to use regular tomatoes and guessed at the amount. (It ended up being about 7 cups finely chopped.) I cooked it in my 5 qt saute pan and in thickened up beautifully in about an hour. I'm guessing that those who are having trouble getting it to thicken are either scimping on the cooking time, or cooking it in a sauce pan which has less surface area for evaporation. I didn't puree the tomatoes, but they mostly fell apart during the cooking and provided the sauce with a slight amount of texture. I used only 2 TBSP of sugar and adjusted a few other things becasue of what I had on hand, but I think anyone could make a great sauce with this as written.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 10, 2013

      Just what I was looking for to use up the fresh tomatoes from our garden. I added a can of tomato paste, some water and used just 1T of sugar. I think it would have been way too sweet for our taste with more. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2012

      This was great. Used regular tomatoes from the garden. I just eye-balled all the ingredients. I used the full amount of sugar because my tomatoes are very acidic. It was sweet, but I like a sweet sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2009

      Thanks for the recipe! My Aunt gave me a bunch of regular tomatoes from her garden. I used those along with a can of crushed tomatoes and added some red wine I needed to use up and 2 cans of sliced mushrooms. I filled 3 containers and popped them in the freezer. I will keep this recipe for the next time I get a bounty of tomatoes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 30, 2008

      Nice basic sauce! I added tomato paste as someone else suggested and it cut down on the time waiting for the sauce to reduce. I liked the blend of spices, not too spicy or bland. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 26, 2008

      Nice sauce. Very fresh. I made as directed, but will add tomato paste next time as the other reviewers mentioned. I did add some red pepper flakes to pick up the flavor a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 16, 2008

      This got rave reviews. I also added a can of paste to thicken it a bit. I shared it with my friend and her family loved it also.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      This sauce is great! I did add two large cans of tomato paste because we like thick sauce. Once this was added, this marinara sauce was awesome. We'll be growing tomatoes for years to come to keep this in our house.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 04, 2008

      I love this recipe! This was the first homemade marinara sauce I've ever made and I will be doing it again. I also added tomato paste to thicken it a bit. I used it for a pizza the other day and yum! My husband couldn't get over how good it was. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 24, 2007

      This was excellent. I did add a little red wine and some tomato paste. I also used fresh herbs. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2007

      This is a nice basic recipe that you can play around with. I removed the tomato seeds and kept the strained juice to put back into the sauce (which added considerably to the prep time). I also added tomato paste and spicy Italian sausage, as well as 1/2 of a green bell pepper, which I added to the onion and ran through the blender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2007

    • on July 14, 2007

      great recipe!!!!!! I also added meatballs to it, and it was FANTASTIC! I will use this recipe again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2006

      Love this sauce! I was trying to get rid of a bunch of tomatoes from the garden. I liked this so much, I went begging the neighbors for extra tomatoes, so I can make more and freeze it. I also used a food processor, and not quite 1/4 cup sugar.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2006

      I just made this today!! Fantastic! Finally the taste I wanted in a Marinara sauce. I did add some tomato paste to thicken it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 30, 2006

      Delicious, easy and a great way to use gardern tomatoes. I used a food processor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 07, 2005

      Since I didn't follow the recipe per se I don't know what my 'five star' rating really means! Suffice to say that already my marinara--cooking down even as I type--based on alanatiger's, is turning out great, so THANK YOU for the inspiration! I've been meaning to do a 'from scratch' recipe ever since 'tomato season' arrived and now I can say I have! Thanks again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 12, 2005

      Very good and easy to make. I did not saute the onions and garlic. I put everything in the pot after putting tomatoes through food mill and simmered until I got the consistency I wanted; about 2-1/2 hours. I left out the olive oil so I could can it. I had enough to make 2 quart jars. Thanks for posting this basic marinara sauce.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Marinara Sauce

    Serving Size: 1 (2063 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 92.4
     
    Calories from Fat 30
    33%
    Total Fat 3.4 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 0.4 g
    2%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 11.2 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 15.2 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 2.7 g
    11%
    Sugars 11.5 g
    46%
    Protein 2.0 g
    4%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites