Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Laundry Detergent Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Laundry Detergent

    Average Rating:

    40 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 40

    Sort by:

    • on January 27, 2008

      This does work well. Honestly, I don't know why anyone doesn't make this versus buying the stuff from the store. The store products will take the colors out of your clothes because they have additives in them, like ash. Look up the ingredients online---it's not the best stuff in there. FABRIC SOFTENER: You know those little plastic balls you are supposed to put liquid fabric softener in so during your spin cycle it spins out onto your clothes? Put some white distilled vinegar in it. It will soften your clothes without the smell. And here's another tip: If you get static cling, wad up some aluminum foil and toss it in your dryer when you dry your clothes----it takes the static cling out of your clothes!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 24, 2008

      I really like this stuff, though it is a little messy. I made it in a 5 gal igloo container (like the orange ones they use for Gatorade at sporting events) and I was hoping I could use the spicket for it like the 300oz store bought containers. Unfortunately because mine gelled somewhat unevenly I was unable to do that so I just scoop it out with a measuring cup. Works great though, smells clean. I use vinegar for fabric softener. For anyone having problems finding the ingredients they're all available on soapsgonebuy.com at a very reasonable price. Thanks Daphne! EDIT: After a good working over with a slotted spoon my detergent does in fact go through the pour spout. YAY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2003

      I will never buy laundry detergent again. I have made 2 batches since the day this recipe was posted. The first, I used baking soda like the last reviewer and it did a good job but didn't gel up. The second I did exactly like the recipe and it is super. I have terrible water even with a water softener and so laundry is somewhat frustrating but our clothes were so clean with this and talk about removing odors from horrible socks! With 6 active people in this house (including 2 teenage daughters) this lasts so long. This is great. THanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 03, 2003

      This works very well and so cheap! My husband didn't even notice that I was using something different. I think it rinses cleaner than regular laundry detergent. The washing soda is a bit hard to find but it is well worth the effort!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 16, 2012

      I made the liquid version of this recipe two days ago and washed my first load of laundry with it yesterday. My husband is a welder and his work clothes are just nasty at the end of the day. So I thought if this could get those clean then it should work really well on the rest of the laundry. And boy did it work. Not only cleaner, but brighter compared to the ones washed in commercial detergent. Made it in a five gallon bucket, let it sit overnight, then stirred it for about 45 minutes with a giant whisk. I noticed this morning that the soap had started to separate in the containers I poured it into and wondered if anyone else had this problem? Anyway, it works really well and I will be making this again. I'm considering trying this in the powder form next time and then just dissolving what I need in a cup of hot water before adding it to the wash.Update 2/2012 My first batch lasted 7 months!!! I did try the powdered version, it didn't last as long as the liquid and it was a pain to dissolve in hot water before adding to the wash. For those looking for an alternative to fabric softener you really should try vinegar - i fill my softener dispenser cup with white vinegar then dilute it with water. My clothes come out soft and my towels are more absorbent than ever.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 07, 2011

      Awesome!! I honestly think that this cleans better then the $21.00 a bottle I was paying for and I would get 1/4 the amount. I make 5 gallons at a time & add 20 drops of Clean Breeze essential oil. I use it with regular fabric softener (haven't found a homemade one I like yet) use nothing in the dryer and my clothes smell wonderful, even socks, underwear and towels! Plus it's kind of fun to make with the kids!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 17, 2010

      This is amazing, I heard the recipe from a woman I know on another site but I couldnt remember the amounts. I love this because I have a lot of skin alergies and this doesnt affect me, and I'm not afraid to use it for my babies clothes. I use a scented dryer sheet to get a good smell, other than just clean, but Ive heard its good to put about 3-5 drops of scented oil per gallon.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2010

      Wow! Who even knew? Our grandmothers probably. This is great. Even gets the bottoms of dirty socks clean.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 05, 2008

      This recipe was incredible! I was skeptical at first as I am a tide fan. I do an avg. of 3 loads/day 7 days a week and this will save our family over 200.00/yr. compared to tide prices. This costs us an avg. of 1.87/5 gallons. It cleans great and rinses clean. The clothes do not have much of a smell but you can still use your downy or dryer sheets to help with that. The ultimate test for me was when this got blood out of an item. I did pretreat with liquid tide as recommended by someone else though. I may just try the detergent on the next stain I get and see what happens. I am really excited and am giving samples to friends along with the recipe. I did have trouble finding the fels naptha soap but our kroger ended up having it. This is a great money saver!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2007

      As a former lover of Tide and Downy, I LOVE this and have used it for about 6 months. It works VERY well, and it is very inexpensive. I changed it a little though. I used half a bar of Ivory lavender soap, 1/2 cup of Washing soda, and no borax. Instead of pouring into a 5 gal bucket, I poured it into my old 300 oz Tide plastic container. Then I added enough hot water to fill it, and shook it to mix well. The next day it was gelled perfectly. Also, for fabric softener I mix 1 part fabric softener with one equal part water and one part white vinegar. It makes your fabric softener last 3 times as long, and it smells great. The first batch or two you might not smell it because you're used to the super-strong smell of the straight fabric softener, but after the 2nd load, it was awesome.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 04, 2004

    • on February 25, 2004

      I've made 2 batches of this detergent so far and find it to work just as well as my usual laundry detergent. For the bath soap I use the leftover little bits we've saved from all our bars (all different kinds of soap) and I'm just thrilled to finally find a good use for them! Depending on the kind of soap you use, it can sometimes take a while for it to melt in the hot water, so be patient guys :^) Mine never really gelled either but no matter, it still works well. Maybe it depends on the kind of soap you use? That seems to be the only difference I can see. I poured mine into empty detergent jugs and use 2 capfuls which is pretty much one cupful per load. No more buying laundry detergent for me. Thanks, Daphne!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2004

      This is certainly more economical than a name brand cleanser, but with our lousy water here, it just didn't do the job. My clothes just didn't come clean. All is not lost, however, I use it for "general cleaning"....walls, counters, baseboards, etc.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 23, 2004

      I LOVE THIS DETERGENT!! I made this with the Fels Naptha, but will be using Pure and Natural soap for my second batch. Mom has horrible childhood memories of being washed with Fels Naptha as a cure for poison ivy... This detergent got all of my wash sparkling clean, with no residue, no odor and no perfume. When combined with Homemade Fabric Softener, this recipe will save you so much money. The first batched lasted almost two months in our house (two adults and one baby girl). Edited to add: the second batch came out even better! It gelled much more and smells great when made with the Pure and Natural soap. editing again to add that while the soap gelled better and smelled good, the Pure and Natural version tends to leave white residue on my black clothes and it takes more to get stuff clean...back to Fels Naptha for us!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2003

      This is so easy and quick to make. I can't believe how white my whites were. This was not expensive to make and I will make this to use from now on. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 23, 2003

      This was really easy to make and works well! Wonderful for a penny pincher like me also! Mine didn't gel up very well (it was just a little thicker than water), but it worked just fine. I will definitely be making this one again! Thanks for posting Daphne!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 19, 2003

      Thanks for this good recipe. I have made a half quantity and it has worked out just fine...didn't know how I was going to store 20lts of liquid but 10 is easier. I used a soaped called 'Laundry Velvet' which is a pure soap and has a lemon fragrance. I also used baking soda instead of washing soda, since the 2 are so similar and I wasn't able to buy washing soda easily (can check the discussion thread about this). I have done 2 loads of washing using this mix and everything seems to have come out just fine, judging from the colour of the water during the wash. Will be interested to see what it does on really soiled clothing.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 17, 2009

      This stuff works great! I mixed mine up Friday night, and I can't remember a weekend when I looked forward to washing clothes. I washed all weekend long. So excited about all the money I'll be saving from here on out. This stuff is da bomb!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2009

      An awesome money saver! I use 5 one gallon buckets (empty plastic ice cream containers) with 3T Arm & Hammer Washing Soda and 2T Borax placed in each bucket. I grate a bar of Fels Naptha and place it in a large pot with water on medium heat until the soap dissolves (15-20 minutes). I then equally pour the dissolved soap into the 5 buckets and mix with the Arm & Hammer and Borax. I then add hot water to fill the bucket, stir and place a lid on it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 30, 2009

      This is all I use now. In fact I have another batch on the stove now. Thanks! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Laundry Detergent

    Serving Size: 1 (151 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 0.0 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites