Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Italian Salad Dressing Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Italian Salad Dressing

    Average Rating:

    48 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 48

    Sort by:

    • on March 26, 2002

      Excellent dressing! I used red wine vinegar and added 1/4 t cayenne pepper to add a little zing. We really loved this and it is a lot cheaper than buying off the shelf. Thanks Darlene.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 13, 2002

      You've got my vote, as well!! Definitely a 5-star winner! Very easy to mix up and has a delightful taste. So nice to have GOOD Italian on hand. Thanks a million for posting, Darlene. Laudee C.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2002

      This is the best homemade Italian dressing I have tried to date, mainly becuase the ingredients do not "separate" as quickly as other recipes. I omitted the salt (doctor told me I have to cut back on sodium) and I added 2 tsp. of very finely minced fresh red peppers. My first use for this dressing was to use it to make Marianne's Marinated Vegetables (recipe ID# 21606)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 18, 2002

      Liked this very much. Used raspberry wine vinegar. I also added a dash of pepper. Will use this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2003

      I made two versions of this, one with red wine vinegar and one with white wine vinegar. Both are excellent and used often by my family. Fresh tasting and very zesty. Thanks Darlene, for a great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2003

      This is great dressing! I also used red wine vinegar and I used canola oil, because I wasn't sure what salad oil was. It turned out great, wasn't to strong or sour. I am going to try it in my pasta salads, as I am very picky on the dressing that I use in it and I think that I can cut out almost $7 off of my bill for pasta salad. Thanks again and I will definately be making this often.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 17, 2008

      Really tasty exactly as written, but I appreciated even more that it could be so successfully tweaked to suit our personal preferences. We're partial to 'zesty' Italian, so I added a little cayenne and black pepper for extra zing. Also, I increased the sugar slightly (maybe 1/4 tsp). It was just the tiniest bit too 'sharp' for our tastes, and that took the edge off without making it actually taste sweet. This was served over mixed greens, tomatoes, cucumbers, olives and pepperoncini, with a generous grating of Parmesan on top. Everyone agreed it was as good as the salad at our favorite Italian restaurant -- and it was a heckuva lot cheaper. Looking forward to trying this with different types of vinegar and oil to find the perfect combination!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2003

      I will never buy Italian Dressing again. I had to use veg. oil since I was out of Olive oil and salad oil. It was still great. I also used red wine vinegar and the 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper. Absolutely wonderful. Thanks Darlene.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 09, 2003

      Really good recipe. I substituted a packet of sugar substitute for the sugar and used red wine vinegar. Also added an extra clove of garlic to ward off any vampires. Yum!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 02, 2002

      A lovely dressing. And so easy to make!! This is definitely a stayer. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 06, 2012

      Sorry but this did not work for me. I needed italian dressing for a pasta salad I was making and didn't have any in the house. I followed the recipe as written using EVOO and red wine vinegar. I made the dressing and thought it tasted oily but thought I would let it sit. It sat for four hours but still didn't have any flavor other then the oily taste. I went back over the recipe thinking I did something wrong but I followed the recipe to a t. I had never made italian dressing before so wasn't sure what it needed to "fix" it so I just threw it away.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 20, 2010

      Made this for Fathers Day Italian Dinner and I did follow a few others and added some red pepper flakes and used a mix of EVOO & Canola oil. Excellent before the chill down and I know it will just improve with time! Thanks Darlene for an awesome recipe! I chose this one as it had no cheese or egg in it for my DDIL (who is a PKU sufferer).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2010

      Sorry, I just didn't think this was good. It was extremely oily and also bland. The ratio is way off.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 24, 2010

      Nice, but I would rather have a 1:1 ratio of vinegar to oil. I also added some basil. Nice though! Thanks! Will be perfect on a green salad this evening.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2010

      This was pretty good. A bit too oily, and I would add pepper and parsley next time. Thank you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2009

      I whipped this one up real quick as I needed Italian dressing for another recipe and found I did not have any. I made as written except I did not have any paprika. Really good and not too oily.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 06, 2009

      Refreshing salad dressing. Was worried it would be too oily like other reviews said but I can say that the ratio was just superb. I used red wine vinegar and I also halved the recipe and there was enough for 4 servings. Will make again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2009

      Awesome recipe. So worth the extra effort vs. store bought. We halved the recipe and we found it was still enough for 4 servings. Refridgerated the rest for our next meal. Update; I keep coming back to this recipe and thoroughly enjoy it each & every time. Thanks for sharing, Darlene.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      I wanted to like this, but just didn't. The oil ratio was too high. I added more sugar, more garlic, more vinegar, some lemon juice... and then it was much more to my liking. At no point did the flavor resemble store-bought Italian dressing, which is much sweeter (with corn syrup) and more balanced.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2008

      Used EVOO and red wine vinegar. Still seemed like it was missing something but when I added some onion powder and lemon juice, it was perfect. It does seperate in the fridge but that's because there's no emulsifiers or other preservatives...so I feel better about letting my family use it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Italian Salad Dressing

    Serving Size: 1 (65 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 4

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 483.8
     
    Calories from Fat 486
    10%
    Total Fat 54.0 g
    83%
    Saturated Fat 7.4 g
    37%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 582.7 mg
    24%
    Total Carbohydrate 1.4 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.1 g
    0%
    Sugars 1.0 g
    4%
    Protein 0.1 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites