Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Italian Bread Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Italian Bread

    Average Rating:

    26 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 26

    Sort by:

    • on April 05, 2011

      Fantastic! I just ditched my previous favorite Italian loaf recipe for this one. For a little extra flavor, after brushing on the egg white, sprinkle some kosher salt over the top of the loaf.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2008

      ahhhh! there is nothing like homemade bread, and this was exceptional! Baking in general is a challenge for me, but this was wonderfully straight forward. Mine did not look like ~Nimz~' s beautiful loaf (I just tell people my loaves are rustic!), but the taste more than made up for my poor presentation! Thank You!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2014

      I took a chance on this recipe, using it to make 4 loaves of bread for an Italian-themed dinner the other night for a visiting university choir. The music director is himself Italian so I felt "on trial." I've got to say the loaves turned out beautifully! And the taste was superb. The music director praised the bread. I had to work hard to sneak a half-loaf home to my husband. This recipe goes into my winner file. :o)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 29, 2012

      The kids loved it and that is saying a lot in our case;) Excellent recipe, great result. I made one with sea salt and rosemary on top which I added at the start of baking. Worked out great. I'll try a olive and thyme next. Thanks for this great recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 11, 2012

      I have tried to make bread in the past, with so/so results. This bread, however, is the BEST I have ever had! It beats restaurant quality! I love it! Will make again and again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 20, 2011

      This is by far the best bread recipe I have made so far. Loved it. Thank you for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 20, 2011

      A 4.5! Excellent! This bread was SO easy to make. I have another bread recipe I use a lot, but it needs a lot of rising time. I didn't have the 6 hrs. total time to bake it and I didn't want to drive all the way into town (especially with gas prices what they!), but I wanted fresh bread for dinner. This was the first recipe that came up and I had all of the needed ingredients. My family LOVED it. I'll definitely make it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 18, 2011

      I had left over turkey from last night and wanted to make turkey salad, well the only way to eat it is on romaine on homemade bread. I was tired of the regular white bread recipes.. So when I saw this I tried it and I AM SO GLAD I DID! This was easy to do, put it together while doing homework, and the bread came out great! My first loaf looks a little funny, my rolling technique lol but it was really good would suggest to anyone! thank you for posting this Mystery Girl!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 26, 2010

      I made this bread today, it was my first time ever making homemade bread. Instead of putting it in a pan I baked it in a glass bowl so it was round like boule bread. After it cooled I cut the top off,took the bread out of the center & filled it with dill dip and took the remaining bread and put it around the bread to dip. Absoulutly delicious! Everyone raved how great it tasted with such little ingredients. I didn't use a bread mixer either, I did it all by hand. Feeling quite proud right now! Thanks for sharing such a great recipe ;)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 04, 2010

      I made this bread and it was FANTASTIC. Turned out perfectly. Try it. You'll love it too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 08, 2009

      This is the most excellent I have baked so far. The texture is excellent and it tastes so very delicious! I'm off to make some more now! Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2009

      I made this bread to go with a lasagna at a friend's birthday party. It was amazing. I brilliantly didn't read through it and threw out the egg wash before doing the second coating, but that was fine. The bread had great texture, amazing taste, it was gorgeous. I will make this again and again, thank you for posting. Excellent.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      I made this yesterday to go with my spaghetti dinner for our Valentine's dinner tonight. This bread is picture perfect and it smelled so good while baking. I tasted an end with some butter right out of the oven, and I can tell you it will be enjoyed with our dinner tonight! It is delicious!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 28, 2009

      I need bread dough so I could make my mother In-laws garlic bread. We normally use the frozen 3 pack from the store. I cut this recipe in half and made the dough then made my bread. When my husband said it was the best he has ever tasted the garlic bread I new we had a keeper. Looks like I'm going to have to make the bread from scratch from now on. Needless to say it went along with homemade ravioli's, meatballs and sause.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2007

      Well Mystergirl, you should know that you've completely changed my outlook on making bread with this recipe. I've never had any success at making homemade bread until now! Thank you so so so much. I decided to try one more recipe, this one, before I completely gave up on trying to make bread, and I'm so happy I did this. It is time consuming, but it's well worth the effort and the wait. It is a little more dense than regular Italian bread, but not overwhelmingly so and it does have such an incredible flavor for so few ingredients! Also, I love that the bottom of the bread is just a little crispy, but soft enough that it's easy to cut through, and I love the way the top of the bread gets crusty from the double dose of the egg wash. I followed your directions to the letter, however, next time I may wait to brush the bread with the egg wash until right before it goes in the oven, since I only had a towel to cover the loaf with during the last rising time and it ended up sticking to the dough. Overall, a wonderful recipe and I am so happy you shared it with us. THANK YOU for giving me bread-making hope again! =)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      Wonderful bread! I am new to baking homemade bread and found this recipe easy to follow, thank you Mysterygirl! I sprinkled sesame seeds on one loaf and poppy seeds on the other. This is a must try recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2007

      It is the easiest recipe,few ingredients and the best Italian bread we have ever tasted..My DH says this is the best homemade bread he's ever eatten.You get a better texture to the bread if you knead it the full 25minutes.It was 10 below zero here this a.m. and the house just didnt feel warm enough for rising bread. So, I used a electric throw set on medium and put the rising bread bowl between the throw.It worked wonderfully..I make this recipe at least 4 times a month..Thank U SO much for this great recipe..

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 21, 2006

      Excellent texture for an "Italian-style" bread; great slicing ability (did not crumble as much as others I have tried); taste was good (especially when warm from the oven); and so easy to make with children. This will be made over and over. Makes great toast, too. Do not use French baguette pans ... I did the first time and the the bread rose way above the pans when baking in the oven . The loaves were top heavy and laid on their side when removed. Use a pan made especially for Italian bread or a flat baking sheet.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2006

      delicious yummy yummy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2006

      This bread tasted so good. Pretty easy to prepare. Topped one of the loaves with breadstick seasoning #109314. Thanks Mysterygirl. Bullwinkle.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Italian Bread

    Serving Size: 1 (1563 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 1681.3
     
    Calories from Fat 45
    68%
    Total Fat 5.0 g
    7%
    Saturated Fat 0.7 g
    3%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 3537.2 mg
    147%
    Total Carbohydrate 348.8 g
    116%
    Dietary Fiber 14.1 g
    56%
    Sugars 1.3 g
    5%
    Protein 51.5 g
    103%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites