Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Ice Cream...in a Bag! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Ice Cream...in a Bag!

    Average Rating:

    74 Total Reviews

    Showing 61-74 of 74

    Sort by:

    • on July 26, 2006

      I love how fresh this tastes. Reminds me of when my dad used to have us take turns with the hand crank churn. I only had corse kosher salt, but it worked. I only had whole milk, but it worked. I also added some fresh ground nutmeg. I can't wait to make this again with cream. I will add mari-chino cherry's and some of the juice. Perhaps some shaved chocolate as well. YUM YUM Thank you for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2006

      This is great - a fun thing to do with the kids. A great activity for a birthday party - 4 and up. The little ones get disinterested after 2 minutes and you are doing all the shaking.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2006

      Very good, my husband and I made it one night when it was hot, I made mine just the way the instructions read and he added a dash a cinnamon, which was really good as well! Very fun!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 12, 2006

      Ummmmmmmmmm goooood! This was so fun and tasty too! We made two servings (two pint ziplocs) in one gallon ziploc bag. I made one serving of vanilla just like the recipe and one chocolate, I just added a tablespoon of chocolate milk powder instead of the sugar and vanilla, it came out great. It would have been fun to eat it out of the bags but we put it in bowls and added strawberries and whipped cream. Oh and I used regular table salt with the ice, as I did not have rock salt on hand, worked great. Thanks for this fun ice cream treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2006

      Thank you so much for this recipe. As I am only 16, I'm not a mom but i do baby-sit quite alot so this idea comes in handy during the hot summer months. I must admit I'm not a fan of vanilla so instead of 1/4 tsp of vanilla I subsituted with 1/4 rounded tsp of cocoa. I was worried i wouldn't work out but did and it was better than what you can get in a tub so thank you very much.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 10, 2006

      Wonderful.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2006

      I have used a similar recipe with a class of children several times. They love it! A word to the wise, though. One year we thought we would use snow (we don't often get snow, so this was a big occasion) and do it outside. Sounds like a good plan? Nope! It took FOREVER to freeze the ice cream. I think the science is (and I'd love someone to confirm or dispute this for me), that the ice has to melt and the salt takes the temperature of the melted water below freezing, thus freezing the cream. Same principle as sea water not freezing at 0 degrees Celsius, but freezing at a much colder temperature. So, if you are doing this, better to do it in a warm place, I think. But I encourage you to give it a go with kids, they are so enthralled when it freezes and they love to eat the result! I'm glad I found this recipe here on 'Zaar so next time I want to do it I won't have to look through all my files! Thanks for posting, DivineMom5!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 07, 2006

    • on July 07, 2006

      What fun!! I plan on doing this with my grandchildren the next time they spend the night!! I can't wait!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 04, 2005

      5 stars for ease of preparation and 5 more for the fun and fascination we had making this recipe. I made it twice: once with plain fresh milk and the other with half-and-half. I prefer the latter. Gonna put some rum soaked raisins in the baggie when I get a chance to. Had a bit of salty ice cream and to avoid getting any more, I'd put the sealed bag with the milk into another similar bag, seal or tie up that bag and then put it into the bag with ice. When ice cream is done, I'd just remove the innermost bag and wallah! Sweet ice cream.:-) This is definitely a keeper!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 09, 2005

      My girls just made this for dessert. What fun and it's pretty tasty too :-) I'm sure you could add berries or chocolate chips to jazz it up a bit.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 16, 2005

      The kids just made this for dessert. They loved it! DH loved it so much he had to go start up the electric ice cream maker. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 25, 2004

      We've made this several times with the kids in our program. It's been a hit every time and the ice cream tastes great. We bring a jug of plain ice water to rinse the little baggie before eating, just to avoid getting a spoonful of salty ice cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 08, 2004

      This was such a fun activity! My daughter and I made this bt playing catch with the bag in the backyard. It was a great summertime activity.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    1 2 3 4 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Ice Cream...in a Bag!

    Serving Size: 1 (848 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 209.0
     
    Calories from Fat 125
    59%
    Total Fat 13.9 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 44.7 mg
    14%
    Sodium 71.1 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 12.9 g
    51%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rock salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites