Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Ice Cream...in a Bag! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Ice Cream...in a Bag!

    Average Rating:

    74 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 74

    Sort by:

    • on August 28, 2007

      Very Easy, great for kids. I used a cheaper zipper top bag and some salt got in. I'll know better for next time. Looking forward to trying it again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 15, 2007

      I'm ashamed to admit I have made this quite a few times this summer, but just now getting around to rating it. My BF and I are both in our early thirties and we enjoyed every single minute of making this ice cream! Especially eating it right out of the bag! We used just plain 2% milk and it was still delightful. I used to use this recipe every summer when I was a camp counselor at a summer camp and the kids and adults loved it. We would assemble the bags and "throw" the bags back and forth to each other to keep the kids occupied while the ice cream froze... Just make sure you have tightly closed each bag... We found out the hard (and very sticky!) way! Thanks for posting!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2007

      It's official my DS's rate this recipe the best one on RecipeZaar! My DS's eat more than 1/2c. of ice cream so I did 2-1 cup amoumts and put both the bags in the ziploc bag.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 03, 2007

      Delicious and educational! Much less work than traditional ice cream making. I love it and so did my 9-yr-old son who's quickly becoming "too cool" to do stuff with Momma. Thank you!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 28, 2007

      This turned out great! My daughter had a blast making this (with winter gloves on because of the cold - lol)!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2007

      We made this with my cooking and recipes group to go with desserts that everyone made It was a lot of fun! We wrapped terrycloth kitchen towels around the baggies before we started squeezing, because our hands got really cold! We wrapped a small Zip-Loc baggie inside a lg. heavy duty Zip-Loc baggie, and it worked well. I passed the recipe down to my dil so my grandchildren can make them too!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      I tried this and it actually made ice cream! Boy was I impressed... I did this so many times with different flavors. But even wearing thick gloves, my hands were cold. But still well worth the chill to make ice cream this way. next time I'll have to get the neighbor's kids I babysit on occassion to do this for me =] ... and at least keep them out of my hair for a few hours. But really, this is an awesome way to make ice cream!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 22, 2007

      I'm glad Leilani mentioned that rice milk works for this, as I'm not supposed to eat dairy, and happy that Pamela mentioned that regular salt works, too, as I never have kosher salt on hand. I would like to try this someday. Thank you for posting this Divinemom5, I can't wait to try this. It looks so fun, even for the adult-kid!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 04, 2007

      The grandkids thought this was cool. Ours didn't get very firm but it was very hot out so I think that was a big factor. The taste was good and the entertainment fun made it a great activity. Grandpa participated but I doubt if he will give up his regular ice cream for this version. Great party activity!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 27, 2007

      This really worked. Kids enjoyed. We just got an ice cream machine and it just is a little off on rivaling it-that is why not 5 stars. If creativity was a factor-this would get 6 stars! Try it out-it is fun and really works!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2007

      This recipe was great! We made it tonight as a last minute thing to go with our blueberry cobbler!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 18, 2006

      This was great! Just the ice cream fix that I needed though I definetly think I should double the recipe next time and I will be trying other flavors. Thanks for a great and fun recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 12, 2006

      What an interesting project! I didn't have half-and-half but I figured that if other people could substitute it with milk, I could substitute it with heavy cream. I'm not sure if a little bit of the salt & ice mixture might have gotten into the ice cream or if I added too much vanilla but something was just slightly off... I topped it with melted nutella, chopped walnuts, toffee bits, and some hersheys syrup. It tasted good but now I feel a bit guilty as it is past midnight and I need to go to bed soon...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 02, 2006

      Mmm! I've made this a few times now using milk instead of cream (due to not having cream in the house, and wanting to lower the fat anyway) and it's still just delicious. I've made it exactly like the recipe and I've also had some variations - chocolate (using hot chocolate powder), chocolate-banana (with Milk2Go individual bottles of chocolate and banana milk), and raspberry-chocolate. It's fun to squish back and forth while watching a movie and then eat right out of the bag! Like Debloves2cook, I didn't have rock salt and used regular table salt, it still works beautifully. Thanks for the great idea!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2006

      This was so much fun - I have a 19 month old and she and I had a blast making this recipe! I quadrupled it so it took quite a bit longer and I don't think I had enough ice - but the taste and texture were amazing! Will make this one again!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 25, 2006

      The grandkids and I made this recipe while they were spending time here. It was excellent tasting. I'm guessing this will be a regular thing we'll be making now. Thanks for the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 24, 2006

      I loved this! The sandwich baggie we used in one of the flavors leaked, so it got too much salt inside the ice cream and we had to throw it out. For one we made vanilla with mini-chocolate chips and the other was mint chocolate chip. We used 1/4 tsp peppermint extract, but I thought that was too much. Next time I'd use just 1/8 tsp. They were fun though and I'll gladly make them again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2006

      OOOOH! Yum! Okay, so I got a little impatient and decided to eat it before it was really frozen, the the foamy whippy partial ice cream was still amazing. I used skim milk, splenda, and vanilla. I don't know if I needed more ice, or just needed to shake longer but at 20 mins, it was still not frozen. Great anyway. I'm a grown up kid, and can't wait to share this with a real kid. Thanks for this great, easy recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2006

      Great tasting Ice Cream and fun to make. I did double the amount of ingredients in the small baggie, but added 1/2 tea. vanilla and 1 Tbsp. of malted milk powder. I love malts. Wonderful!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 02, 2006

      We used 3 baggies inside and were a little more gentle the 2nd time we made this. I'm sure you can guess why. We kept it healthy with fat free 1/2&1/2 and added ovaltine (one of our favs!) THANK YOU!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Ice Cream...in a Bag!

    Serving Size: 1 (848 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 209.0
     
    Calories from Fat 125
    59%
    Total Fat 13.9 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 44.7 mg
    14%
    Sodium 71.1 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 12.9 g
    51%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rock salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites