Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Ice Cream...in a Bag! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Ice Cream...in a Bag!

    Average Rating:

    74 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 74

    Sort by:

    • on September 17, 2008

      This was pretty good ice cream, reminds me of Eddy's. I would recommend wrapping the ziploc bag in a towel or using oven mitts...it gets really cold. My 2 year old keeps asking me to make ice cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2008

      This was great! I had 10 children each make their own at my son's birthday party! They had a fantastic time and one of the little girls told me it was the best party ever! Note: the gallon bag gets very wet. I gave each of the children a hand towel to wrap their gal. bag inside and they squashed, squished and pounded the bag INSIDE the towel. Also note that getting as much air out of both bags helps to prevent the bags from opening. This was truely a super fun activity and the ice cream tastes GREAT!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 11, 2006

      This is a great idea for single servings. I've made ice cream with my Brownie Girl Scout Troop, by using a large coffee can and a small can (used to be 3# and 1#) Of course, the amounts were increased to make 4 servings. Fill the first can with the 1st 3 ingredients, then seal the can with duct tape. Place the small can in the center of the large can, fill with the salt and ice and then seal again with duct tape. Anyway, the girls formed a circle and played a game rolling the can to each other. The end result was a treat they all shared.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 26, 2014

      Love it!!! Used one sandwich bag and one gallon Ziploc bag just as the recipe states. While squeezing the bags, wearing oven mitts helped to keep my hands warm. Ate it with blueberry syrup. YUM!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2008

      This was great! I don't have an ice cream maker, (although i really want one), but i really wanted some homemade ice cream. Maybe not as good as stuff made in an ice cream machine, but pretty close. I made 2 different bags, and added cinnamon to one of them. Delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2008

      My husband loves ice cream so I made this for him as a surprise. It turned out great and was fun to make. We'll definitely make it again.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2008

      Update: We tried this again, but tripled the recipe. It is better to keep the recipe in single servings. Seems to work better. But Still a lot of fun and very yummy. It is mid winter here, and my 6 yr. old wants Ice Cream.. So I look here and what do I find? Yes. The answer I was looking for. I did not have half and half. I did however, have Canned evaporated milk. (mix with equal amounts to rehydrate) . So I used 1/4c canned evap. Milk and 1/4c water, the sugar and Vanilla. I also did not have any ice cubes. But, there was plenty of snow, beings there is a blizzard out side. I ended up using about 6 cups snow. Once the snow starts to melt the Ice cream sets up real quick. Keep checking it. No need to be real vigorous with the mixing, it is so easy to do..and cuts that craving for Ice Cream quickly.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2007

      awesome !! kept the kids outa my hair this afternoon **updated 20/05/07 used hazelnut creamer for coffee & vert very YUMMY!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 14, 2003

      Made this with the kids for my daughter's birthday party! It was fun for the kids to make their own ice cream! While using half and half will give you a very creamy product it is possible to make this with plain milk as well. I also just used plain table salt and it worked just fine. We used a mixture of ice and snow from outside as her party theme was a "Winter Party". A really fun thing do do with the kids and I always have these ingredients on hand too. Thanks for this great activity!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 03, 2012

    • on June 06, 2011

      Love it! Tastes great as written. It's also good with cacao powder added in.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2011

      My two daughters (4 & 13) and myself made this today, it was so much fun. We will be making different variations of it again throughout the summer.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2008

      Awesome!! We made this with my kids, & nieces,& nepews during our Cousins Camp. The kids(& Adults) LOVED it. It will defenitely be an annual treat. Thanks!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2008

      This was soooo good - thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2008

      Hello. I am a college student and everyone knows that college students have NOTHING in the fridge. So I like most have nothing. So I was at the store and bought some soy milk because cow milk was WAY to much. I bought the vanilla kind cause it had flavor. Then I came across this recipe and thought I would try it with soy milk so I did because I of course had NO ice cream. I followed the recipe and it turned out FANTASTIC. Because I used Soy milk with vanilla, I did not have to add any, and btw I did not even have any. But overall it turned out FANTASTIC. Love it and SOO much cheaper than any Ice cream and SOO much better for you. I am gonna try it next with Splenda.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 24, 2008

      We use this in Cub Scouts today. It was a lot of fun. The boys even said it tasted better than Blue Bunny It got a lot of energy out of them also. Thanks

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 10, 2008

      This was so easy! We used non-fat milk and peppermint extract with chocolate chips. Yum, yum, yum!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 08, 2008

      Terrific!!! My 3-year-old had was SO excited to make her own ice cream, all by herself! We used milk instead of half-and-half, and it literally set up in 5 minutes! I'm sure we'll be making this a LOT in the future! Thank you for posting this easy and delicious recipe! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 26, 2007

      I like to make this with my little brother and sister. Kosher salt or rock salt is best to use, but I've used table salt as well. Thanks for posting!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 20, 2007

      This ice cream was great! We didn't have any half and half so I used milk, and it still turned out delicious! It was a lot faster than I thought it would be too, it was done in less than 10 minutes.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Ice Cream...in a Bag!

    Serving Size: 1 (848 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 209.0
     
    Calories from Fat 125
    59%
    Total Fat 13.9 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 44.7 mg
    14%
    Sodium 71.1 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 12.9 g
    51%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rock salt

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes