Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    Summer Central

    Top Summer All-Stars

    Top Summer All-Stars

    50 Warm-Weather Picks
    30 Killer Burgers

    30 Killer Burgers

    Up Your Grill Game
    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Your Best Ribs, Realized

    Learn How to Make 'Em Right
    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Ice Cream...in a Bag! Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Ice Cream...in a Bag!

    Average Rating:

    74 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 74

    Sort by:

    • on November 12, 2009

      I Love this recipe I have discovered that it can also be made using two jars with lids if you are out of Ziploc bags though and the benefit of using the jars it that it is less likely to pop open and spill everywhere! another thing I have discovered is that regular milk can be used in place of the half and half in a pinch! the only down side it that it takes a little longer to achieve the desired effect when using these methods probably because the sides of the jar are thicker than the bags and therefore takes longer to get the inside cold. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 26, 2010

      Just made this tonite and it was fun and easy. We made chocolate and I recommend adding chocolate syrup for this and not cocoa, otherwise it's not sugary enough and has bland flavor. Used plain table salt 1/3 cup and tripled the recipe, divided it into 3 bags. Used snow for ice. Worked great. Also added malted milk powder. Will make this again! My 6 year old had fun

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 18, 2009

      This was pretty yummy but not as creamy as I would have liked. You really do need to double bag. Mine had a hole in it and dripped into the second bag. You could have a very interesting version of hot potato with this. (Or cold potato.) A fun activity for a really loooooong day in August.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 08, 2011

      This is so fun and sooo good! Much healthier than the stuff from the store. No additives, preservatives and who knows what else. I've gotten where I can't even tolerate the taste of ice cream from the store. Ick! This ice cream rocks! I use whole milk, instead of half & half, and it's great. We add chopped up candy bars or brownie pieces. Delish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 08, 2010

      My 3 yr old had a blast shaking the bag and wanted more after he inhaled the whole batch himself :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 01, 2009

      I just made this with my niece & nephew they loved it. I followed the directions to the letter. It didn't even take the full 10 minutes for it to thicken up. Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 16, 2009

      This is so easy and delicious!! I used regular ice as it was all I had but I think that crushed ice would definitely work better. I used sea salt just in case I got any in the small bag (unfortunately I did when I was opening it). Also my recommendation is to double bag, double bag, double bag!! :D I would use a plastic grocery bag to cover the ziplock one as I ended up getting some water leakage and also I would use a plastic sandwich bag around the small ziplock bag to prevent salt to getting by the zipper. Anyways I will be making this a lot as we have a lot of half and half. Thanks for this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2008

      This recipe made it into our Book #231450. 8/14/08 - We doubled the recipe and it worked great! We used a ziploc bag for the cream, and for the ice/salt portion (we used Kosher salt) we used two plastic grocery bags tied around the ice for a nice tight fit. We then wrapped that very snugly in a towel to keep our hands from freezing and to further make a tight fit. This is so the ice would not break thru as it shook around. This all worked perfectly. Delicious ice cream in about 20 minutes. We've also heard that substituting flavored preserves for the sugar works equally well for say peach or strawberry ice cream. :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 22, 2008

      May 1, 2006: I had my fourth grade class make this. On the day we made it, we went on a field trip to a very old house built in the 1800's. There my students were taught a lesson in the one room school house, churned butter and washed clothes with a washboard. I thought it was only fittingly that we made ice cream that afternoon without the modern conveniences that we have today. The students put the ingredients in their bags and then we went outside and had great fun throwing our bags around as we waited for them to harden. Some of my students were a little too zealous with their bags and the inner bag broke, thus releasing the cream into the salt water. However, many students were able to make ice cream, which we shared with those less fortunate students. They all raved about the ice cream and several students stuck their faces in their bags to lick up every last drop. One of my students is allergic to dairy, so I had him bring in some rice milk. I was delighted to see that this type of milk worked just as well as the half and half. All in all, we had a fabulous time and I am sure this recipe will live on in the hearts of my students. Edited to Add (Dec. 22, 2008) I just used this recipe again with twenty-five 4th and 5th graders in an after school cooking class. It fit the bill perfectly as it doesn't need to cook, chill or mix. I was once again surprised about how quickly it turned into soft-serve ice cream. I also had some students whose bags broke again, thus ruining the ice cream with salt water. Next time, I think I will double bag the inner ingredients part. At our next cooking class (a mere week later) several students reported they had made the recipe at home. One of the eighth grade teachers also just made this recipe with his students in his science class to demonstrate physical and chemical changes. He said it went very well and the students loved it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2007

      When I was a 4-H camp counselor, we made this as a workshop with the kids. We used milk in place of half-and-half and instead of ziploc bags, we used coffee tins. (Used a small one for the ingredients and a larger one for the ice and rock salt. Just be sure it's well sealed!) Then just rolled it back and forth between two of the kids. Worked great and was really delicious! The kids loved it! Thanks for reminding me of this great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 24, 2009

      We did this with our girls over the summer, and I forgot to review it. They had a great time--such fun! Thanks for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 14, 2009

      Wonderful and simple recipe! I couldn't believe it was so easy and fast! Never again will I have to drive to the store when I have an ice cream craving. I used sea salt instead of rock salt and ziplock bags and everything turned out perfect! I would prefer it to be a little more creamy, but very good overall!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2009

      This was awesome! My kids and I had a lot of fun tossing this around and enjoyed the sweet treat. I used skim milk with a squirt of chocolate syrup and kosher salt. I am sure we will be making this a lot.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 23, 2009

      This as lots of fun, and my first attempt at making ice cream! Since I did not have rock salt (or have a clue where to find it), I used coarse kosher salt as previously suggested.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2009

      This is fun, and tasty! My twins and I did this this afternoon as a new activity, they loved it, cold hands and all!! The only change I made was using agave nectar instead of the sugar since it's already a liquid. We'll be doing this many more times in the future (thank goodness I have an ice maker). Thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2009

      This was fun! I set out earlier this evening to find an ice cream machine...with no luck. I almost gave up but came home, read this, and had to try. I used milk and kosher salt. My husband was skeptical but he squished his bag around and ate it. We loved it. Easy ingredients, fun to make, perfect serving size, I think next time I will try to add some chocolate syrup. The thing I loved the most was...I didn't have to waste money on a machine!! Thanks Divinemom5!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 31, 2008

      i was pregnant, craving icecream and not wanting to go out for it-this was just the ticket! Yummy vanilla, thanks so much!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 23, 2008

      The sugar in this recipe can also be exchanged for a sugar substitute. Also, add-ins are fun! Honey and cinnamon with cashews and peanut butter with coconut are amazing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 28, 2008

      Great, fun recipe! I used fat free half and half and it worked wonderfully. Would suggest being careful when removing the ice cream from bag as the salt can make its way on to this dessert. Thanks for a clever way to make a tasty treat!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 17, 2008

      This was pretty good ice cream, reminds me of Eddy's. I would recommend wrapping the ziploc bag in a towel or using oven mitts...it gets really cold. My 2 year old keeps asking me to make ice cream.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Ice Cream...in a Bag!

    Serving Size: 1 (848 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 209.0
     
    Calories from Fat 125
    59%
    Total Fat 13.9 g
    21%
    Saturated Fat 8.6 g
    43%
    Cholesterol 44.7 mg
    14%
    Sodium 71.1 mg
    2%
    Total Carbohydrate 17.9 g
    5%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 12.9 g
    51%
    Protein 3.5 g
    7%

    The following items or measurements are not included:

    rock salt

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites