36 Reviews

Cooking gluten free often means making what you need from scratch to avoid contaminants. I used trusted ingredients from my pantry to put this recipe together and could rest easy knowing the dish I prepared was truly gluten free. The side benefit to making your own homemade condiments, etc, is avoiding preservatives or other undesirable ingredients such as MSG. I really appreciate this recipe. It was terrific! One thing I would suggest is mixing the peanut butter and honey together well first, then slowly incorporating the soy sauce, oil and remaining ingredients. I threw them all together as directed and found that it took lots of elbow grease with the whisk to get the peanut butter to incorporate with everything else. When I make this recipe, I double the ingredients and freeze the extra in ice cube trays, to always have some ready to go. Most trays hold 1 Tb in each compartment, making it super easy to measure out.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Madash August 12, 2013

I was so thankful to have found this recipe-I ran out of store-bought and needed it for Stir-fried Zucchini With Hoisin Sauce. I used molasses and hot chili garlic sauce and it was delicious! Thank you for a great recipe!!!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mrs.Jack August 08, 2008

imho (in my humble opinion) is my take on this is that stick with the molasses i use mushroom soy sauce and i use apple vinegar instead of rice vinegar.the mushroom and apple taste gives it much more depth.
also i am an onion and garlic freak so what i do is add a half a clove of crush garlic and a crushed leak to taste.
i have heard of using ginger but i have not tried but what i am suggesting is gitting more complex than the basic hoisin sauce,i look at that as a mere foundation but this is just 1 mans thought on the subject.

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
yankeejames February 11, 2013

Wow this was delicious! A different and unique sauce from what I'm use to making. My family loved it. I used honey and just a few dashes of hot sauce. I used it with Hoisin Chicken .and I have a little left over to make something else in a couple days. I will be making this again.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cookin_nurse September 15, 2008

I am gluten free and paleo. This recipe was very easy to adapt. Commercial brands are not an option for me. I enjoyed this recipe and will definitely make it again.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Trying Cake July 06, 2014

wow! this sauce has become a staple in my kitchen. Chicken is ridiculously moist and tender and tasty when baked in the oven with this simple sauce. And pork too. One of my favourite finds on Food.Com.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Gluten Free And Happy February 24, 2013

I used bean paste (from Ranch 99, Uwajimaya, H-Mart, etc.) instead of peanut butter and Sriracha (aka rooster sauce) instead of Chinese hot sauce. The recipe is easy and flexible, and the results very good. I am accustomed to a sweeter, thicker hoisin sauce, like Lee Kum Kee, but I like this enough to make a double batch to have at the ready.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
garlicdave January 29, 2013

Very yummy! I don't have a lot of experience with Hoisin sauce so I wasn't sure what it was supposed to taste like, but I really liked this! Used it with Mahogany Beef Stew (which calls for the sauce as a sort of secret ingredient, I guess). Would love to make it again and put it on chicken or something. I followed the recipe, save omitting the hot sauce, which I don't have and don't like, anyway. I didn't miss it. Thanks for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnnaJ22 January 06, 2013

Thanks so much for this recipe! I've been craving Japanese beef ribs for ages now but I can't have soy due to a recent allergy development . I used coconut aminos from my local health food store as it is a great substitute for soy sauce and sunflower seed butter in place of the peanut butter and it turned out marvelous! Thanks again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ToastedNut November 21, 2012

I needed some hoisin sauce to make Chicken With Cranberry-Hoisin Sauce by Shelby Jo that I tagged in the *Pet Parade* event, so I decided to make my own & found your recipe. It is an ingredient-friendly, easy-fix w/an authentic flavor. I used peanut butter & Tobasco for the hot sauce. Thx for sharing your recipe. I cannot imagine buying hoisin sauce again when this is so easy & good. :-)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
twissis July 24, 2008
Homemade Hoisin Sauce