29 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

If only I could give this recipe 10 stars I would this is very good and very easy. BTW if you think it is to thin just boil a little longer like 1 to 2 minutes and it will be thicker. Thank You for positing this great recipe

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Laurachingo March 16, 2011

This chocolate syrup recipe is the better of the two found on this site. It is a perfect imitation of Hershey's syrup and costs about .85 - .99 cents per bottle equivalent, vs. over $2.00 for the real thing in the local store. If you get your sugar in bulk and make vanilla extract from scratch it is even cheaper. Make sure you let it boil to get rid of any "powder" taste.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
gardeninthepocket February 06, 2012

Perfect copy! I'll be making this from now on to avoid all those chemicals they put in the store bought stuff. I only used 1 1/2 cups of sugar and thought it was enough. I might even cut it back a little more next time. Thanks for posting this money-saving recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Realtor by day, Chef by night October 24, 2012

I made this syrup this morning and took the suggesting of other reviews using 1 1/2 cups of sugar instead of two and boiling the syrup five minutes instead of three and it was just perfect! After it got cold in the frig, it was nice and thick with just the right amount of sweetness. This recipe is just as good if not better than the original hershey's syrup and deserve more than five stars. Thank you so much for posting. I will not have to buy bottled chocolate syrup again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Mavis S. September 08, 2012

Awesome recipe! My hubby drinks it in his almond milk and loves it. Thank you!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
franmicsulli December 29, 2011

This is wonderful! I only used 1 1/2 cups of sugar, and it was plenty sweet for us. Thanks so much.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tednjoc August 11, 2011

This is a wonderful, corn syrup-free treat! Simple to follow recipe. Delicious! Thanks for posting!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BeagleMommy April 10, 2010

From the bottom of my heart: THANK YOU for posting this recipe. It is fantsasic. I made exactly as listed and wouldn't change a thing. I'll never buy nesquick or hersheys ever again, This was so simple, tasty, and cheap! I had 2 glasses of chocolate milk before this even cooled (oops, shame on me!) Highly recommended!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef bifaerie79 October 24, 2009

Tried this recipe for Chocolate Syrup and was very pleased with the results. The only reason for 4 instead of 5 stars is the amount of vanilla extract may be a tad rich for my taste. However, I plan to make my own syrup from now on rather than buying store bought only with slightly less vanilla extract. My wife thought it tasted exactly like the real thing and will be trying it with Splenda. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crpdusty July 15, 2009

I was very pleased with this recipe! Thank you so much! I would like to try adding peppermint extract next time, and use it to make chocolate peppermint coffee creamer. (I hate the thought of all the artificial stuff they add to the store-bought versions!) Thanks again!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
AnotherSwedishChef May 16, 2009
Homemade Hershey's Chocolate Syrup