Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Hershey's Chocolate Syrup Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Hershey's Chocolate Syrup

    Average Rating:

    27 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 27

    Sort by:

    • on March 16, 2011

      If only I could give this recipe 10 stars I would this is very good and very easy. BTW if you think it is to thin just boil a little longer like 1 to 2 minutes and it will be thicker. Thank You for positing this great recipe

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2012

      This chocolate syrup recipe is the better of the two found on this site. It is a perfect imitation of Hershey's syrup and costs about .85 - .99 cents per bottle equivalent, vs. over $2.00 for the real thing in the local store. If you get your sugar in bulk and make vanilla extract from scratch it is even cheaper. Make sure you let it boil to get rid of any "powder" taste.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2012

      Perfect copy! I'll be making this from now on to avoid all those chemicals they put in the store bought stuff. I only used 1 1/2 cups of sugar and thought it was enough. I might even cut it back a little more next time. Thanks for posting this money-saving recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 08, 2012

      I made this syrup this morning and took the suggesting of other reviews using 1 1/2 cups of sugar instead of two and boiling the syrup five minutes instead of three and it was just perfect! After it got cold in the frig, it was nice and thick with just the right amount of sweetness. This recipe is just as good if not better than the original hershey's syrup and deserve more than five stars. Thank you so much for posting. I will not have to buy bottled chocolate syrup again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 29, 2011

      Awesome recipe! My hubby drinks it in his almond milk and loves it. Thank you!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 11, 2011

      This is wonderful! I only used 1 1/2 cups of sugar, and it was plenty sweet for us. Thanks so much.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 10, 2010

      This is a wonderful, corn syrup-free treat! Simple to follow recipe. Delicious! Thanks for posting!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 24, 2009

      From the bottom of my heart: THANK YOU for posting this recipe. It is fantsasic. I made exactly as listed and wouldn't change a thing. I'll never buy nesquick or hersheys ever again, This was so simple, tasty, and cheap! I had 2 glasses of chocolate milk before this even cooled (oops, shame on me!) Highly recommended!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 15, 2009

      Tried this recipe for Chocolate Syrup and was very pleased with the results. The only reason for 4 instead of 5 stars is the amount of vanilla extract may be a tad rich for my taste. However, I plan to make my own syrup from now on rather than buying store bought only with slightly less vanilla extract. My wife thought it tasted exactly like the real thing and will be trying it with Splenda. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 16, 2009

      I was very pleased with this recipe! Thank you so much! I would like to try adding peppermint extract next time, and use it to make chocolate peppermint coffee creamer. (I hate the thought of all the artificial stuff they add to the store-bought versions!) Thanks again!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2009

      Made this today to try it. Subbed Splenda for sugar but followed recipe otherwise. I haven't tried it other than tasting off the whisk, but husband says this one is a keeper! I will be making again, since it was quick, easy, and I always have the ingredients. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 11, 2014

      A couple of notes:<br/>1) It's a syrup, as long as you boil and stir occasionally it will thicken until the water has evaporated and the temperature goes up.<br/>2) If you simmer for 5 minutes you give the starches in the cocoa a chance to "cook" so the sauce can thicken of it's own accord.<br/><br/>Also, make sure to stir every so often so it doesn't scorch. This recipe is similar to the recipe that used to be on the back of the Hershey's Cocoa can in the 1960's.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 01, 2014

      Perfect! Made it exactly as written and the next day, after it had cooled, the consistency was exactly right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2014

      Hii... I tried ds syrup for breakfast. Turned out superb.. My hubby,baby and sissy liked it.. Thanx a ton for posting ds awesum recipe...

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2014

      I love this recipe. It is so easy and delicious! After reading previous reviews, I used 1 1/2 cups of sugar instead of 2. I am a chocoholic with a major sweet-tooth, but I thought even that was too sweet. Next time I'll try using 1 cup. It is much better than Hershey's, with a much richer chocolate flavor.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 28, 2014

      After I let it sit in the fridge for about 4 hours I tried mixing it with milk again and it did just fine. Great alternative to Hershey's HFCs GMO cocktail

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 23, 2014

      Me and my husband really liked this recipe its the best way to make chocolate syrup

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2014

      I didn't think it would be too sweet with the 2 cups of sugar, so I followed the recipe exactly. While it was cooling, I tasted it and thought it was a little too sweet. Can't take out sugar, so I added about 1/4 cup more cocoa powder! Really liked the taste after that. I went ahead and boiled the mixture a few more minutes, as others suggested, to thicken the syrup.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 09, 2013

      I would not say this is a dead ringer for hershey's....what I would say is, it is way better then hershey's syrup! This recipe rocks. I boiled mine for the 5 minutes and got a perfect consistency. Flavor is superior to hershey's syrup I think. I also only used the 1 1/2 cups of cane sugar. This recipe is going to be on my make for gifts list! THANK you for a great recipe!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2013

      I don't find this to be a copycat for Hershey's by any means, but it's a solid recipe that's good to have in a pinch (like today, when I'm snowed in and DYING for chocolate milk!). I boiled for 5 minutes and the end result had a good consistency. Thanks for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Hershey's Chocolate Syrup

    Serving Size: 1 (21 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 32

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 51.5
     
    Calories from Fat 1
    14%
    Total Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.1 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 9.7 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 13.2 g
    4%
    Dietary Fiber 0.4 g
    1%
    Sugars 12.5 g
    50%
    Protein 0.2 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites