12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

My experience was different from some other postings. I used Russets, none smaller than my little girly hand. I doubled the recipe, used no butter, pepper or salt. I refrigerated overnight as directed. I did cook for 20 minutes instead of 10 as they were still uncooked in middle after 10 minutes. When I grated them the next day, they did great. As I grated, the potato peels ended up not grating so by the time I grated each half, I had the peel in my hand. Unexpected surprise. Only thing I did different the 2nd time was adding lots of salt while cooking- estimated at 1/4 cup kosher salt per large pot of potatoes. These hashbrowns are great to have on hand. Perfect for a quick side dish, added to a can creamed soup, or as breakfast with an egg on top. One last note, I think soaking them overnight must do something for easy grating so I wouldn't skip that step. I froze all mine individually on flat mounds between parchment paper, then bagged in freezer safe bag once frozen.

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Spuffed May 23, 2009

Just like the frozen hash browns, but much cheaper. I ate some of these the day I finished them, and also after freezing. I did defrost mine instead of cooking from frozen, but they were perfect both times. Thanks for this money saver!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Simply Sarah November 25, 2008

Haven't tried this recipe yet, but I thought I'd just point out (given Bake-A-Holic's comment) that some potatoes hold their shape when cooked and others don't. Baking/russet potatoes would be bad for something like this. Where as red potatoes or gold potatoes would work much better. Also you've got to keep an eye on your boiling potatoes! I'll be giving this a try soon and be back!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nikoma March 10, 2009

My oldest daughter loves hashbrowns so I thought I'd give this recipe a try. She told me these tasted better that the other ones (meaning store bought). Thanks for such a great recipe!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
BamaBelle30 April 12, 2007

This turned out very strange. When I took the potatoes out of the water, the outsides were mushy and very hard to grate. Other then that, the flavor was good and it was relatively easy to make. EDIT: After reading Nikoma's note, I wanted to respond. Following the directions exactly as written, "about 10 minutes" turned the outsides of my potatoes to mush, while the insides were still hard. I actually took them out of the pot before I would have ever considered them "just tender". If there needs to be a specific potato used for this recipe, it was not indicated, and the recipe may need to be edited. Next time, I'll try it with a different kind of potato (as Nikoma suggested) and give another review.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Bake-a-holic!!! May 12, 2009

Given minimum stars for oamc reference.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Jeff #631750 November 04, 2008

These worked out great for me. I made these a couple of months ago and have almost used them all up now. They also work beautifully in hash brown casseroles. I have used them in Fabulous & Easy Potato Casserole Side Dish with success. Thanks for the recipe.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JuliJ September 13, 2008

Great technique to know, thanks for sharing! I didn't plan for the overnight step, but had an extra hour before the meal, so i just left them in the fridge for an hour and thankfully the hashbrowns were delicious.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
CookofLove October 21, 2007

I Have these made and in the freezer. Thanks for the great idea

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JJarmer August 14, 2007
Homemade Hash Browns (Oamc)