18 Reviews

Used both recipes..don't skip the parboiling. I have been cooking for years and have always avoided homemade hash browns as the potatoes always either stuck in the skillet, burnt and/or undercooked. These turned out very good and I will use these recipes from now on. Used my cast iron skillet, yellow skinned potatoes and substituted approx 2 tbl. butter with a little canola oil for the bacon and they were delicious! Thank you for sharing!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Groundhog Gal December 28, 2008

Good homemade hash browns are hard to come by anywhere, but these are fantastic. For years, I have known that it is best to parboil the potatoes -- so I recommend that everyone follow your preparation step from Potatoes for Hash Browns ( How to Parboil ). This morning I prepped the potatoes. Tonight I cooked the shredded result in vegetable oil -- no bacon on hand -- and got rave reviews from six people at the table

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Leggy Peggy March 12, 2007

Very good! I used a bit of butter and some veg oil instead of the bacon grease. Turned out very well thanks!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
soulmatesforever July 26, 2006

I use this same recipe to make breakfast tacos. I use red potatoes and add garlic powder. This is a very good base for the yummy sunday tacos!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sch30 March 29, 2010

These are delicious hash browns. Just perfectly golden. I used both shallots and onions as I wanted to use up both. I also added some green and red bell peppers. The bacon gave it great flavor. Made for ZWT4 for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lainey6605 June 30, 2008

These were just perfect! I used red potatoes and they cooked evenly and quickly. The bacon grease added a great flavor. I hate hash browns that are not crispy and I was able to get these a nice golden color in my cast iron pan. We had them with fried eggs and everyone in this house enthusiastically rates it 5 stars for yum factor!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
NcMysteryShopper May 01, 2008

Ok, I have spent aweek making hash browns and this nailed 85% of what I wanted. They were delicious (followed both the prep and cook) and they turned out great. The one addition I want is these were loose and I am shooting for the iant shredded disc that is one. Thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mbwolf June 03, 2014

Made these this morning. I diced up three potatoes and cooked them in the microwave for 2 min and 30 sec. Then fried them in the bacon greese. Added garlic salt and pepper. They were good but I rather steam them or fry with olive oil, healthier way to cook them. Had them with over easy eggs, bacon, and toast.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
seal angel November 23, 2013

I used both recipes for cubes hash browns. I let them sit on the stove for at least 15 minutes (used medium-sized potatoes). It took them at least 20-25 minutes to fully cook, I wound up covering the pan for the last few minutes to make sure they were done. They turned out great. My only problem was some off the onions got a little burnt.....this often happens to me when I make hashbrowns! Thanks for posting. Made for Cooking Tag Mania 2013.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
linguinelisa November 15, 2013

These turned out wonderful. I used yellow Yukon gold potatoes that were par-boiled according to your recipe. I diced them into about 1/2" dice and cooked them over med heat, in a tablespoon of canola oil and a pat of butter. My bacon was already cooked from the day before, so I didn't have bacon fat. I had made fajitas the night before, and had some left over cooked peppers and onions. I added those with the crumbled bacon at the end. I didn't use the onions in step 5. My potatoes took about 15 mins to brown and cook through. Thanks for the great recipe. Next time I'll try them shredded in bacon fat.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
JT'sMom May 31, 2013
Homemade Hash Browns