Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Hash Browns Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Hash Browns

    Average Rating:

    18 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-18 of 18

    Sort by:

    • on December 28, 2008

      Used both recipes..don't skip the parboiling. I have been cooking for years and have always avoided homemade hash browns as the potatoes always either stuck in the skillet, burnt and/or undercooked. These turned out very good and I will use these recipes from now on. Used my cast iron skillet, yellow skinned potatoes and substituted approx 2 tbl. butter with a little canola oil for the bacon and they were delicious! Thank you for sharing!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 29, 2010

      I use this same recipe to make breakfast tacos. I use red potatoes and add garlic powder. This is a very good base for the yummy sunday tacos!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 30, 2008

      These are delicious hash browns. Just perfectly golden. I used both shallots and onions as I wanted to use up both. I also added some green and red bell peppers. The bacon gave it great flavor. Made for ZWT4 for the Tastebud Tickling Travellers.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 01, 2008

      These were just perfect! I used red potatoes and they cooked evenly and quickly. The bacon grease added a great flavor. I hate hash browns that are not crispy and I was able to get these a nice golden color in my cast iron pan. We had them with fried eggs and everyone in this house enthusiastically rates it 5 stars for yum factor!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 12, 2007

      Good homemade hash browns are hard to come by anywhere, but these are fantastic. For years, I have known that it is best to parboil the potatoes -- so I recommend that everyone follow your preparation step from Potatoes for Hash Browns ( How to Parboil ). This morning I prepped the potatoes. Tonight I cooked the shredded result in vegetable oil -- no bacon on hand -- and got rave reviews from six people at the table

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 26, 2006

      Very good! I used a bit of butter and some veg oil instead of the bacon grease. Turned out very well thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 03, 2014

      Ok, I have spent aweek making hash browns and this nailed 85% of what I wanted. They were delicious (followed both the prep and cook) and they turned out great. The one addition I want is these were loose and I am shooting for the iant shredded disc that is one. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 23, 2013

      Made these this morning. I diced up three potatoes and cooked them in the microwave for 2 min and 30 sec. Then fried them in the bacon greese. Added garlic salt and pepper. They were good but I rather steam them or fry with olive oil, healthier way to cook them. Had them with over easy eggs, bacon, and toast.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2013

      I used both recipes for cubes hash browns. I let them sit on the stove for at least 15 minutes (used medium-sized potatoes). It took them at least 20-25 minutes to fully cook, I wound up covering the pan for the last few minutes to make sure they were done. They turned out great. My only problem was some off the onions got a little burnt.....this often happens to me when I make hashbrowns! Thanks for posting. Made for Cooking Tag Mania 2013.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 31, 2013

      These turned out wonderful. I used yellow Yukon gold potatoes that were par-boiled according to your recipe. I diced them into about 1/2" dice and cooked them over med heat, in a tablespoon of canola oil and a pat of butter. My bacon was already cooked from the day before, so I didn't have bacon fat. I had made fajitas the night before, and had some left over cooked peppers and onions. I added those with the crumbled bacon at the end. I didn't use the onions in step 5. My potatoes took about 15 mins to brown and cook through. Thanks for the great recipe. Next time I'll try them shredded in bacon fat.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 22, 2012

      Good recipe but it needs to specify how done the potatoes should be before you fry them. I made them both ways. Without prepping beforehand, it takes forever but the potatoes are pretty crispy. The pre-prepped ones didn't get crispy at all, they stuck to the bottom of the pan and just stuck together.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 26, 2009

      Yum! This was so good, but so bad for you.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 30, 2008

      These are the best hashbrowns I've ever had. Parboiled as suggested. I like mine a little more well done than most and was able to accomplish this without any burning or sticking. I like breakfast casseroles, but it is hard to find a recipe for one or two. This will be a great jumping off point for me to create my own without having enough for an army.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2008

      Crispy and very tasty,will make again

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 07, 2005

      These potatoes were excellent. The bacon added a nice flavour. I chopped them fairly big. I think I will try them shredded the next time. Thanks Auntwoofiewoof

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2004

      I just had these for dinner and they were VERY good!I must tell you though *blush* I screwed up *LOL* I didn't thoroughly read the recipe... I skimmed ;) I'm bad about that. Anyway , I was thinking the bacon was to be fried up in pieces , so I cut it into pieces, then at the end , mixed the bacon IN with the potatoes and onions *LOL* Ya know what though?It was still good :) Thanks for posting this!! We love 'em!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2004

      Aunty, This is the third time that I have made these, and I actually thought that I had already rated these!..these are just wonderful, the onion and bacon gives these hash browns such a delicious flavor. I did shred my potatoes on the grater, and hand-squeezed out the excess moisture....this is a great recipe, that I will be making again and again... we loved them! Thanks so much Auntwoofiewoof for posting....KC :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 09, 2004

      Very flavorful! Love them! Jessica S.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Hash Browns

    Serving Size: 1 (269 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 2

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 253.2
     
    Calories from Fat 66
    26%
    Total Fat 7.4 g
    11%
    Saturated Fat 2.4 g
    12%
    Cholesterol 10.8 mg
    3%
    Sodium 147.6 mg
    6%
    Total Carbohydrate 41.0 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 5.3 g
    21%
    Sugars 3.3 g
    13%
    Protein 6.6 g
    13%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes