13 Reviews

I'm not the best burger griller you'll meet, but this recipe is helping to change that! I tweaked a bit by not using a potato, dicing the onion and frying it and then adding it to the recipe. I prepared the rest of the recipe as is, substituting garlic powder for salt. This recipe yields a moist burger, even when cooked through. Thank you for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Scribbler515 June 11, 2011

Since finding this recipe, I've tried several variations. First, I used a half and half mixture of ground chuck and pork sausage, making meatballs instead of hamburger patties. To this I added Paula Deens meatloaf topping (to 1 cup of ketchup add 3 tablespoons prepared mustard, 6 tablespoons brown sugar and stir). My wife, who is not particularly carnivorous, still makes yummy noises whenever it is mentioned, and I must admit I don't care as much for "plain" burgers anymore. I've been compiling a book of tried-and-true recipes for my daughter, recently married. This is definitely going in! Thank you, Christie.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rodney h. February 04, 2010

The potato and bread crumbs really helped to hold the burgers together. I used 1 small onion and about 1/3 of a green pepper that I grated in with the onion. I added about 1/2 tsp. garlic powder also. We had these as burger patties with ketchup along side garlic mashed potatoes and corn on the cob. Delicious!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KitchenWitchWay May 26, 2008

I don't quite get why the potato helped, but these were really tasty burgers. Very juicey, full of flavor. Thanks.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Pure Lard January 21, 2008

very moist!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PrettyMess November 21, 2007

This recipe was so easy to put together. I don't eat red meat so I can't comment on the flavour, but hubby said it was "Very Good" and Little Miss (DD) inhaled the burger. I dressed them with tomatoes, lettuces, gherkins and cheese. Sauced the patty with tomato sauce (ketchup) and Mc Dugan's Mc Donald's Mc Nugget Mc Mustard Sauce. Thank you Christie*

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef floWer October 18, 2007

Wonderful taste, love the potatoes for my irish family. I used beef, veal, and pork.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
GreenGlam July 27, 2007

This was very good. It was like a meatloaf sandwich in texture, like another reviewer said. I used 1.34 lbs of hamburger and got 6 HUGE burgers. I thought the onion flavor was a bit strong for us, so I will reduce it next time. DH said he didn't like these as much as my regular burgers, but that they were still good. I loved that they were so tender and juicy. Thanks for a great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Amanda Beth April 19, 2007

I reduced the onion and potato. I used 2 slices of crumbled bread and then I added Italian bread crumbs (about 1/4 cup) until I thought it was about the right consistency. I enjoyed this and it's moistness very much and it reminded me of a meatloaf sandwich.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Chef Mommie January 15, 2007

Hating MacDo with a vengence and liking a big fat decent it's-a-real-meal hamburger as they make them in New Zealand, I found that the Dutch equivalents always fell far short and were usually sporting almost totally rare meat in the middle... ugh. Therefore I have not eaten a burger here in The Netherlands for at least 5 years, but today I had a craving for one and as usual came to Zaar to finially make my own. Why did I wait so long????? This was JUST what I wanted, a recipe that kept the meat soft and juicy while it cooked ALL the way though :) Wonderful ! DO add the fried onions, salad green, gurkins and tomato... but expecially have this with the fried onions because it goes really well with the milder burger taste and lifts it away from boring. The patties held together well in the pan and cooking them over a medium to low heat ensured through cooking while the potato helped it not dry out. Good move. We will be eating burgers more often than every 5 years from now on! Thanks Christie !!!Please see my rating system, 5 stars for ending my longings for a decent burger :)

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kiwidutch December 19, 2006
Homemade Hamburgers