12 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

We liked this more than I thought we would. It does make a lot. 8 oz of pasta makes a very saucy dish. With a pound of pasta you can freeze some to bake as a casserole later. I had to double the spices (except salt) for our family. I used 1% milk, reduced-fat cheddar, and reduced-fat cream cheese. I also cooked the beef with a small, chopped onion. Good comfort food.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ruebarbe April 20, 2013

Although I slightly modified, this recipe is exactly what the title claims.
It's a rich, yummy comfort food. I like it better than the boxed version-It's
much less salty. I left out the cream cheese and it was still a very rich,
creamy sauce. Like a previous reviewer, I used mozzerella cheese instead
of cheddar. Also previously stated, 1/2 lb.pasta was well more than enough.
As meat-lovers, I will probably use a bit more beef the next time. This was
a great, quick, easy recipe!!!!
time, even with the reduced pasta amount.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
dianes92 July 18, 2012

I tweaked the recipe and it turned out great! Used 1/2 lb of pasta, ground turkey instead of beef and significantly reduced the amount of cheeses. Also put mozzarella instead of cheddar (that's all I had.) In addition to the corn I added some frozen peas and frozen broccoli. Yum!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
miss marz July 12, 2012

I so wanted to love this. My family likes hamburger, we eat cheese, we eat pasta, and we enjoy meals with tomato sauce. Combine it all and it sounded delicious. My 4 year old, who eats almost everything I cook and is not the least bit picky, didn't like it at all. I thought the cream cheese made it way too heavy and gave it an odd consistency, and the tomato sauce gives it too much of a tang. Hubby ate it, but it wasn't his fave. Also, with the 1 lb. of macaroni in the recipe, it made a HUGE amount, way more than the servings suggested. Won't be making this again.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
delta.j July 06, 2012

My husband and 3 yo love this recipe. I've made it several times and it's usually gone before I even get a chance to eat any. It's incredibly hearty and rich. A few bites is usually all I need to feel satisfied. I do make a few changes though. I only use 1/2 box of pasta and that is more than enough. I also only use one small can of tomato sauce because I suspect it's only being used to adjust the color and I dislike dishes that have a strong tomato flavor. I also use Italian seasoning since I don't typically have basil and oregano separately and add sweet peas instead of corn. I strongly suspect the serving size is wrong. This makes a big pan of hamburger helper and it can easily serve 6-8 generously.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SaharaGA May 27, 2012

whole pound of turkey.
about a half a cup of heavy cream instead of milk (you know, since there weren't enough calories)
about a half a box of bow tie pasta

devoured by family

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Banthaman January 16, 2012

The only thing I did different was use a whole pound of beef. It turned out excellent!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
noellevk November 10, 2011

for once I followed a recipe verbatim. was very good. easy..thanks!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
coolcooking October 12, 2011

This is a decent base recipe, but I did change it up some to make it closer to actual hamburger helper. I used a lb of hambuger and two dry cups of macaroni, because a whole box would make a LOT of pasta. I think that may be why the calorie count is so high. Even with two cups it's a little heavy on the pasta.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Ekho September 04, 2011

Woah! This recipe has 1000 calories per serving! I am glad I looked at that before making it.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sioux21 August 29, 2011
Homemade Hamburger Helper