226 Reviews

These were very nice! I normally use bread machine yeast in my maker but my husband had fortunately (I guess) bought active-dry this last time and I wasn't sure how these would turn out since I thought you were supposed to proof active-dry? Anyway I just dumped it all in no proofing and these turned out excellent. I got 12 slider sized buns out of this with a bit of dough leftover so I just made 3 bonus rolls. The last few mins of baking I rubbed butter on the tops and sprinkled sesame seeds over, that was when they turned golden on top! Sliced each one and these took our st. paddy's day guinness burgers http://www.food.com/recipe/guinness-burgers-22210 over the top! Thanks!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
bubbleyumm82 March 18, 2016

I have been using this recipe since 5-24-07. It is my go-to burger bun recipe for all sandwiches (burgers, sloppy joes, Buffalo Ranch Chicken, BBQ'd beef & pork). It is easy & THE best! I started making them because I got tired of store bought buns disintegrating once all the ketchup, etc., was put on the bun. I want a solid piece of bun to the last bite! I always make one small bun to eat warm out of the oven. They are THAT good! Thanks for sharing the recipe Shelly K! Oh...I bake mine on my pizza stone! Perfect!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Nadine T. March 13, 2016

Taste great but too dense to be a burger bun. Great as a bread roll. In my country burger buns are extremely soft and light

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen B. February 02, 2016

I can't believe I finally found a bun recipe that actually taste great and has the texture one would imagine when thinking of hamburger buns. I just took mine out of the oven for the first time. Wow! They are beautiful, light and airy, soft, but not crumbly. My 20 year old Welbilt's dough cycle held up to the challenge. I stayed true to the recipe--didn't change a thing. Awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katrina B. August 18, 2015

I'm giving it 5 stars even though as written I don't think the buns would have turned out correctly. Small thing. Add the butter in the machine. The instructions say "Add everything but the butter.". Not sure what that is all about. But if you follow the directions with adding the butter into the machine they are delightful. Thank you so much!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lianna M. August 10, 2015

Excellent recipe for buns. Only change in recipe was to use 2 1/4 tsp. rapid rise yeast (one packet) in stead of the 1 1/4 tsp. listed. I also divided the dough into 12 balls when dough was completed- then flattened them slightly and baked them in my non stick hamburger bun pan. Will definately add this recipe to our "faves" for breads and rolls !

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Melanie Adrienne July 09, 2015

Love these rolls! I added a little garlic to the butter to give the rolls a little more flavor.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
steve5450 June 14, 2015

Great recipe! My husband said "those buns were awesome, please don't change that recipe ever!" And i totally agree! They were soft, chewy, perfumed and even if we stuffed them a lot they didn't fall apart. 12 big buns are gone in less than 12 hours. What else can i say? I can't wait to make them again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mari_vt81 January 04, 2015

I made these on Labor Day weekend because I forgot to buy buns and didn't want to grocery shop on the holiday. I put all the ingredients in my bread maker on the dough setting and let it do its thing. I was lazy on the cutting out, too- I rolled the dough out and just took a knife and cut it into 6 equal pieces and hand shaped each piece into a bun shape and let them rise again. They turned out amazing! Bonus; they were beautiful to look at, too! I ate one without a burger, just with butter and it was like heaven exploding in my mouth. A great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TammyLouCooks September 05, 2014

This is a review of the actual writing of the recipe. It is not very clear. It says to add ALL ingredients, but then later in the recipe it says to brush with melted butter. Is this additional butter outside of what was added with ALL ingredients, or was I supposed to reserve the butter? That should be edited for clarity. I guess I will know in a couple of hours if I did it right.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Myrab51 September 02, 2014
Homemade Hamburger Buns (Bread Machine)