219 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Great recipe! My husband said "those buns were awesome, please don't change that recipe ever!" And i totally agree! They were soft, chewy, perfumed and even if we stuffed them a lot they didn't fall apart. 12 big buns are gone in less than 12 hours. What else can i say? I can't wait to make them again!!!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mari_vt81 January 04, 2015

I made these on Labor Day weekend because I forgot to buy buns and didn't want to grocery shop on the holiday. I put all the ingredients in my bread maker on the dough setting and let it do its thing. I was lazy on the cutting out, too- I rolled the dough out and just took a knife and cut it into 6 equal pieces and hand shaped each piece into a bun shape and let them rise again. They turned out amazing! Bonus; they were beautiful to look at, too! I ate one without a burger, just with butter and it was like heaven exploding in my mouth. A great recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TammyLouCooks September 05, 2014

This is a review of the actual writing of the recipe. It is not very clear. It says to add ALL ingredients, but then later in the recipe it says to brush with melted butter. Is this additional butter outside of what was added with ALL ingredients, or was I supposed to reserve the butter? That should be edited for clarity. I guess I will know in a couple of hours if I did it right.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Myrab51 September 02, 2014

I lost my recipe for hamburger buns which made 8 buns. I remembered most of the ingredents so I went looking for a good recipe. This recipe was so close to the one I had and all i had to do was cut the size down. I had to change some things but the buns came out great. The first batch came out taller so I cut the yeast down to 3/4 tsp. (remember I cut the recipe to 8 rols) I also knocked them down and flattened them to between 1/2 and 3/4 of an inch, They came out great and my pulled pork tasted great on them. I will be using it again. The ingredents on htis recipe is close to the king authers recipe and the taste is there too.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Joe M Anderson June 21, 2014

This was my 1st ever attempt at buns and I am very very impressed. Moist and very tasty

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Alan T. June 01, 2014

Nice buns! For Costco fans, I found that dividing the dough into 12 buns made them the perfect size for Costco 1/4 pound beef burgers. Dividing it into 8 buns made them the perfect size for Morningstar Black Bean-veggie burgers. These are really delicious...they have that slightly squishy quality that you want sometimes, like a store bought bun, but it tastes better!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
janelle_5388064 May 26, 2014

Recipe was perfect just as written! I have made it several times and it always turns out fantastic. The only change I have had to make is brushing the top with egg wash instead of butter when using sesame seeds for sandwich buns, otherwise the seeds won't stick. If not using seeds, melted butter is better. Thanks for the recipe!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
*Charly* April 05, 2014

This recipe is a must whenever we grill.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Julie B. April 05, 2014

WOW! This recipe is a keeper. They made perfect burger buns and with the leftover dough I had I made a cute little loaf of bread. I'm gonna try it for hot dogs, and white sandwich bread and... and... and... all sorts of tasty stuff! YAY!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
VelcrowMistress March 02, 2014

These were absolutely delicious! Light, fluffy. Seriously, I will never buy buns again! They were so easy to make, I have never made anything in the bread machine like this before. Definitely a keeper recipe!<br/><br/>I used 1/2 the sugar, and they needed to cook for maybe 15 minutes. Next time I will brush them with egg instead of butter to get them a nice golden brown. Even so, they are awesome!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
information March 01, 2014
Homemade Hamburger Buns (Bread Machine)