223 Reviews

A-m-a-z-i-n-g!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
WeddingGirl June 29, 2010

You are so right, I will ever buy them again. Soft yet firm enough to hold up. Good flavor and stores reasonably well. Since this next batch is going to be for sloppy joes I'm going to top them with some onion flakes. Thanks

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
matt_maples May 19, 2010

These are absolutelt heavenly. This is now a regular at our house. DH wants his sandwiches made from these not just burgers. Mine bake for about 15 minutes and I only seem to end up with 9 or 10. They are so light and tall. I like the fact that they don't taste like a yeast roll but like a sandwich bun! I need to make a cutter out of a tin can to get the correct size. I don't have any glasses that are over 4" across and I think 4.5 to 5" would be perfect ! UPDATE: I found that an EGG RING (My large one) makes a great way to cut these into nice size rounds

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Janie Cooper May 09, 2010

These are awesome!! I'm so happy I found it on my quest to match my grandmother's recipe. It's the closest I've ever seen to my grandmother's recipe. Hers were still a little bit more airy, so I'm wondering if she added some vital gluten to hers. It was the exact same taste though! I made these for hot beef sandwiches for supper, and have already eaten 2 plain! My grandmother used to use her bun recipe to make what she called kolache. It was either a prune or apricot filled bun (not the normal kolache), but no one ever could get the recipe down perfectly because she did them off of a chicken scratch recipe. You don't know what finding this recipe really means to me! I will be able to carry on a family favorite!! Thank you Marie! You even have my grandmother's name...

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
enestvmel January 31, 2010

From all of the other reviews, I had some pretty high hopes for this recipe, but I was absolutely floored by how well these turned out. I was somewhat concerned when I put everything in the bread machine and turned it on, because at first the "dough" was extremely wet. I was concerned that I had done something wrong, but at the end of the dough cycle, it was more manageable (though still quite sticky). I used about half whole wheat flour (which turned out great), and forgot to brush the tops with butter (the buns really did not suffer for it, the tops browned beautifully, just were not shiny). I also took half of the dough, rolled it into smaller dinner-roll sized balls (I think I ended up with about 8 from half of the dough) and put them in a greased pie dish. I baked those about five minutes longer. They turned out slightly denser and more moist that way - perfect for a fluffy roll.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LadyPhoenix January 29, 2010

Fantastic! Thanks Marie!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
PearTree November 17, 2009

As my husband said "don't do anything different"! All I did do differently is to use plain old AP flour because that's what I had on hand. This recipe is a life-saver. We were so sick and tired of the store-bought buns. First of all, they aren't even any good around here, and second ~ too many in a package for just the two of us. These buns freeze well (unlike store-bought) so we can just fill up a big freezer bag and take out what we need. Next time, I am going to make half hamburger shaped and half for hot dogs or sausages. These are SO good. Thank you so much for posting, Marie!!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
KeyWee July 16, 2009

Wow! These were awesome! They were a huge hit on my Holiday BBQ. I substitued Buttermilk for the milk and they were fantastic. Everyone raved. I found myself making some the next day just so I could have some. Thanks!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ImaLuckyMan May 26, 2008

I halved the dough and made cinnamon rolls out of the other half. They were delicious!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LoisAnn February 20, 2007

I'd give this 10 stars if I could. They beat store bought hands down. I really liked the texture of these buns too. I saved part of the dough for homemade cinnamon rolls. Perfect dough for that too!Thanks Marie for this great recipe.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
TipMuf January 31, 2007
Homemade Hamburger Buns (Bread Machine)