219 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

Wow! I used half wheat flour, half bread flour, and these turned out FANTASTIC! They are soft, tasty, and make fantastic burgers. My only other modification was brushing olive oil on top instead of butter, as I ran out... worked like a charm. And because there are only two of us in this house, we usually use a few buns right away and freeze the rest. They come back very well from frozen after 30-40 seconds in the microwave!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amy.hough June 21, 2009

Wow - it's amazing how the bread can really impact the burger! For the first time ever, my daughter ate a hamburger and I attribute it to the bun! I didn't cut out them out ... I just pulled off the amount of dough I wanted (I weighed the dough to make sure I had the same size buns - a lifesaver in this house!) and shaped it into a round. I used the "Proof" setting on my oven to rise them. When you make 18 rolls, they're the perfect slider size! Thanks for the great recipe! I'm making another batch as I write this!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
kvsmum February 12, 2012

Wow! I have to agree that these were REALLY good! I added slightly less sugar, and after brushing with the melted butter, I sprinkled on some dried minced onions and poppy seeds. I didn't cut them with the glass, just shaped them into an oval shape. They rose just fine, but mine took about 22 min to cook. We had them with some pulled pork, but both my DH and I also had another roll with just butter. I will definitely be making again! They would also be great for sandwiches or with soup!!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LI Girl July 17, 2011

Delicious, light and fluffy buns. I do take issue with the instructions to roll the dough to 1" thickness, though. I did this (yes I actually got out my ruler) and could only find a 3" glass to cut them out with so I thought I would get more than a dozen buns. I only got 101/2 buns...very tall buns. Some were 3" tall. Next time I make these (and there will be many next times) I'll do my best to find a 31/2" cutter and I'll roll the dough to less than an inch. All in all, a wonderful recipe, though. Thanks Marie!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Okra May 21, 2011

I made this recipe exactly as written with no deviations. The taste and texture of this bun is fantastic! I agree that I will probably never purchase store bought buns again. The only reason that I gave this recipe 4 stars instead of 5 is the method concerning rolling out the dough and cutting out the buns, which lead to a flatter bun. I made 6 buns by cutting them out and they turned out flat and not really what I would want in a hamburger bun. The second 6 buns I made by dividing the dough into 6 equal portions and rolling them into a ball. I brushed them with butter and topped with sesame and poppy seeds. The second set came out just like a good hamburger bun should; light, airy, nicely domed and absolutely perfect. I made these for my infamous stuffed bacon blue cheese burgers and the buns I rolled into balls where completely perfect in every way. I also suggest using this same method to make dinner rolls with this recipe. Perfection!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Brandess July 01, 2008

this is a great, easy recipe with quality result. I did use a large tuna can to cut since I wanted them for pork tendeloins. the dough is easy to work with , nice soft and tender.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Carole Koehler January 24, 2004

I have made these rolls twice now. The first time as the recipe said & the second time, I made some changes as others had suggested. I halved the sugar & added 1 1/2 cups wholewheat flour & 2 1/4 white flour - my 14th month old daughter devoured the first batch, so I thought I'd try to make the second batch a bit healthier for her! - I have to say, the first were better than the second. We had the first batch with this BBQ Beef recipe: http://www.slowandsimple.com/Crockpot_Barbecue_Beef_for_Sandwiches-r-727.html & it was fantastic!

For my third attempt, I will just use white flour, but I will still halve the sugar. The wholewheat flour made the rolls a bit spongy I found.

Finally, instead of butter, I brushed them with egg white & sprinkled sesame seeds on the top so we could have them as authentic burger buns. It worked really well. I plan to add some garlic powder & sprinkle them with parmesan cheese next time to see how that would taste with a spaghetti bolognese.

In all a very simple, effective & great recipe you can whip out when you know you've got people coming over but don't have time to get out to the shops! Thanks Marie :0)

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Kelly Hunt June 29, 2011

I have a cuisinart bread machine. I used rapid rise yeast on the 'white rapid' setting. Buns came out great! I would definitely make these again, I can see how you could do a lot of variations with this basic recipe. Loved it!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
sabesa January 30, 2011

Just took 12 of these beautiful buns out of the oven for the first time. I made these for burgers which I intended to make for dinner tomorrow but didn't make it as we ate them up right away. They are amazingly light, flavorful and I can see them being used for hamburgers, hot dogs, sandwiches and dinner rolls. LOVE EM! Thank you for sharing!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mwalker5 August 16, 2010

love this recipe! They came out soo soft n fluffy. Not to mention good! I would enjoy these by itself with some honey butter!

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
amaris mom August 06, 2010
Homemade Hamburger Buns (Bread Machine)