Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Hamburger Buns (Bread Machine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Hamburger Buns (Bread Machine)

    Average Rating:

    218 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-40 of 218

    Sort by:

    • on June 29, 2010

      A-m-a-z-i-n-g!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 19, 2010

      You are so right, I will ever buy them again. Soft yet firm enough to hold up. Good flavor and stores reasonably well. Since this next batch is going to be for sloppy joes I'm going to top them with some onion flakes. Thanks

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 09, 2010

      These are absolutelt heavenly. This is now a regular at our house. DH wants his sandwiches made from these not just burgers. Mine bake for about 15 minutes and I only seem to end up with 9 or 10. They are so light and tall. I like the fact that they don't taste like a yeast roll but like a sandwich bun! I need to make a cutter out of a tin can to get the correct size. I don't have any glasses that are over 4" across and I think 4.5 to 5" would be perfect ! UPDATE: I found that an EGG RING (My large one) makes a great way to cut these into nice size rounds

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2010

      These are awesome!! I'm so happy I found it on my quest to match my grandmother's recipe. It's the closest I've ever seen to my grandmother's recipe. Hers were still a little bit more airy, so I'm wondering if she added some vital gluten to hers. It was the exact same taste though! I made these for hot beef sandwiches for supper, and have already eaten 2 plain! My grandmother used to use her bun recipe to make what she called kolache. It was either a prune or apricot filled bun (not the normal kolache), but no one ever could get the recipe down perfectly because she did them off of a chicken scratch recipe. You don't know what finding this recipe really means to me! I will be able to carry on a family favorite!! Thank you Marie! You even have my grandmother's name...

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 29, 2010

      From all of the other reviews, I had some pretty high hopes for this recipe, but I was absolutely floored by how well these turned out. I was somewhat concerned when I put everything in the bread machine and turned it on, because at first the "dough" was extremely wet. I was concerned that I had done something wrong, but at the end of the dough cycle, it was more manageable (though still quite sticky). I used about half whole wheat flour (which turned out great), and forgot to brush the tops with butter (the buns really did not suffer for it, the tops browned beautifully, just were not shiny). I also took half of the dough, rolled it into smaller dinner-roll sized balls (I think I ended up with about 8 from half of the dough) and put them in a greased pie dish. I baked those about five minutes longer. They turned out slightly denser and more moist that way - perfect for a fluffy roll.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 17, 2009

      Fantastic! Thanks Marie!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 16, 2009

      As my husband said "don't do anything different"! All I did do differently is to use plain old AP flour because that's what I had on hand. This recipe is a life-saver. We were so sick and tired of the store-bought buns. First of all, they aren't even any good around here, and second ~ too many in a package for just the two of us. These buns freeze well (unlike store-bought) so we can just fill up a big freezer bag and take out what we need. Next time, I am going to make half hamburger shaped and half for hot dogs or sausages. These are SO good. Thank you so much for posting, Marie!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2008

      Wow! These were awesome! They were a huge hit on my Holiday BBQ. I substitued Buttermilk for the milk and they were fantastic. Everyone raved. I found myself making some the next day just so I could have some. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2007

      I halved the dough and made cinnamon rolls out of the other half. They were delicious!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 31, 2007

      I'd give this 10 stars if I could. They beat store bought hands down. I really liked the texture of these buns too. I saved part of the dough for homemade cinnamon rolls. Perfect dough for that too!Thanks Marie for this great recipe.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 05, 2014

      I made these on Labor Day weekend because I forgot to buy buns and didn't want to grocery shop on the holiday. I put all the ingredients in my bread maker on the dough setting and let it do its thing. I was lazy on the cutting out, too- I rolled the dough out and just took a knife and cut it into 6 equal pieces and hand shaped each piece into a bun shape and let them rise again. They turned out amazing! Bonus; they were beautiful to look at, too! I ate one without a burger, just with butter and it was like heaven exploding in my mouth. A great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 02, 2014

      This is a review of the actual writing of the recipe. It is not very clear. It says to add ALL ingredients, but then later in the recipe it says to brush with melted butter. Is this additional butter outside of what was added with ALL ingredients, or was I supposed to reserve the butter? That should be edited for clarity. I guess I will know in a couple of hours if I did it right.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2014

      I lost my recipe for hamburger buns which made 8 buns. I remembered most of the ingredents so I went looking for a good recipe. This recipe was so close to the one I had and all i had to do was cut the size down. I had to change some things but the buns came out great. The first batch came out taller so I cut the yeast down to 3/4 tsp. (remember I cut the recipe to 8 rols) I also knocked them down and flattened them to between 1/2 and 3/4 of an inch, They came out great and my pulled pork tasted great on them. I will be using it again. The ingredents on htis recipe is close to the king authers recipe and the taste is there too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 01, 2014

      This was my 1st ever attempt at buns and I am very very impressed. Moist and very tasty

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 26, 2014

      Nice buns! For Costco fans, I found that dividing the dough into 12 buns made them the perfect size for Costco 1/4 pound beef burgers. Dividing it into 8 buns made them the perfect size for Morningstar Black Bean-veggie burgers. These are really delicious...they have that slightly squishy quality that you want sometimes, like a store bought bun, but it tastes better!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2014

      Recipe was perfect just as written! I have made it several times and it always turns out fantastic. The only change I have had to make is brushing the top with egg wash instead of butter when using sesame seeds for sandwich buns, otherwise the seeds won't stick. If not using seeds, melted butter is better. Thanks for the recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 05, 2014

      This recipe is a must whenever we grill.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 02, 2014

      WOW! This recipe is a keeper. They made perfect burger buns and with the leftover dough I had I made a cute little loaf of bread. I'm gonna try it for hot dogs, and white sandwich bread and... and... and... all sorts of tasty stuff! YAY!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2014

      These were absolutely delicious! Light, fluffy. Seriously, I will never buy buns again! They were so easy to make, I have never made anything in the bread machine like this before. Definitely a keeper recipe!<br/><br/>I used 1/2 the sugar, and they needed to cook for maybe 15 minutes. Next time I will brush them with egg instead of butter to get them a nice golden brown. Even so, they are awesome!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2014

      This recipe was easy enough to put together, but for me and my family, it was way too sweet for hamburger buns. Rolling out I found to be a waste of time, really. I did roll them and cut them as directed, but found it was just as effective to divide the dough and shape into buns. For home made I would've liked a tad bit more yeast as well. Overall, we did enjoy these and it was fantastic having them hot like the meat patties. (My cooktime ended up being 20 minutes). I will be making them again and again, but I will cut the sugar in half (for starters) and increase the yeast by 1/4 t. increments until I get it the way that I prefer it. Thank you so much for sharing! :)

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Hamburger Buns (Bread Machine)

    Serving Size: 1 (75 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 198.8
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    16%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 24.1 mg
    8%
    Sodium 181.6 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.3 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    17%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites