219 Reviews

  • Most Helpful
  • Newest
  • Highest Rating

This was amazing! I warmed the milk, butter and egg slightly first, and I used 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour. YUMMMMMMM. I also didn't roll it out but just pinched off pieces in the size I wanted and made them nice and round. The egg wash made them gorgeously golden and the taste was fabulous!

11 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
crazy but capable June 14, 2010

Wow! Awesome! These are so good - I will (barring moments of great laziness) Never buy store bought buns again! I made these to sandwich Paula Deen's Crab Cakes from the Food Network website. Delish! Thanks :)

ETA: I've made these a million times now and they're wonderful! Today I was halfway thru making them & realized I was out of eggs, so I added an extra 1/2 tsp yeast, 2 tbs of butter & a tbs of canola oil. They turned out great!

9 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
lolablitz July 24, 2011

These were great! I don't have a bread machine, so I had to adapt for my Kitchen aid mixer. I added the yeast to the warm milk, then combined dry ingredients in another bowl. I then added the wet ingredients including the milk mixture to the kitchen aid bowl and mixed it together. I kneaded it at the number 2 setting for about 2 minutes until the dough pulled away from the bowl, but it was very sticky. I put it in an oiled bowl to rise. Once doubled, I punched it down and let it rise again. After that point I followed the directions in the recipe.

8 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
christina.cross January 02, 2011

This recipe is wonderful. Everyone raved about how good these breads tasted. I tried to cut out circles like suggested but they all came out to small and thin. I made a second batch and simply cut the dough in 12 pieces and rolled each in to a ball and flattened them out a bit. The second batch came out PERFECT. I will make these again and again!!!!!!

6 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
starkrazi May 25, 2011

These were and great! I use this recipe a lot during the summer for friends and family to really talk about. Lol! It's a blast and I truly enjoy receiving the rave reviews from others. Thanks so much Marie from my kitchen to yours. 5 stars all the way

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
stanner33 May 29, 2011

LOVE this recipe! Had to adjust a bit for the size of my breadmaker, but they turned out great. I also used part whole wheat and added gluten, plus subbed coconut oil for the butter. I think I will cut the sugar in half next time though, it was a bit too sweet for my taste, but all in all this is a keeper. Very easy and delicious. They were light and fluffy! Found a link to this recipe on Money Saving Mom.

5 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
The Frugal Cheflady March 15, 2011

Yum! I used parchment paper instead of the greased pan and it worked out great.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cavedweller July 14, 2011

Very easy to make using the bread machine. I used 3/4c whole flour, 3tbsp wheat gluten and the balance All purpose flour. The buns are delicioius. Made half as hamburger and the other half as hotdog buns. Very light and fluffy...just what we were looking for. We will be making these again for sure.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
purpleducks March 13, 2011

These were easy & AWESOME! Per another review, instead of 3.75C bread flour, I used 1.5C whole wheat flour, 1.5C bread flour, and .75C regular oats. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LillyZackMom June 09, 2010

Made these for use with Sloppy Joes for supper. My husband and all five kids loved them. Two of my boys even ate extra buns plain, no meat. The only change I made was substituting 1 1/2 cups of freshly ground whole wheat flour for an equal amount of the bread flour. Perfect!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
covenantmom5 May 20, 2010
Homemade Hamburger Buns (Bread Machine)