Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Hamburger Buns (Bread Machine) Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Hamburger Buns (Bread Machine)

    Average Rating:

    218 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 218

    Sort by:

    • on June 14, 2010

      This was amazing! I warmed the milk, butter and egg slightly first, and I used 1 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour. YUMMMMMMM. I also didn't roll it out but just pinched off pieces in the size I wanted and made them nice and round. The egg wash made them gorgeously golden and the taste was fabulous!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 24, 2011

      Wow! Awesome! These are so good - I will (barring moments of great laziness) Never buy store bought buns again! I made these to sandwich Paula Deen's Crab Cakes from the Food Network website. Delish! Thanks :)

      ETA: I've made these a million times now and they're wonderful! Today I was halfway thru making them & realized I was out of eggs, so I added an extra 1/2 tsp yeast, 2 tbs of butter & a tbs of canola oil. They turned out great!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 02, 2011

      These were great! I don't have a bread machine, so I had to adapt for my Kitchen aid mixer. I added the yeast to the warm milk, then combined dry ingredients in another bowl. I then added the wet ingredients including the milk mixture to the kitchen aid bowl and mixed it together. I kneaded it at the number 2 setting for about 2 minutes until the dough pulled away from the bowl, but it was very sticky. I put it in an oiled bowl to rise. Once doubled, I punched it down and let it rise again. After that point I followed the directions in the recipe.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 25, 2011

      This recipe is wonderful. Everyone raved about how good these breads tasted. I tried to cut out circles like suggested but they all came out to small and thin. I made a second batch and simply cut the dough in 12 pieces and rolled each in to a ball and flattened them out a bit. The second batch came out PERFECT. I will make these again and again!!!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 29, 2011

      These were and great! I use this recipe a lot during the summer for friends and family to really talk about. Lol! It's a blast and I truly enjoy receiving the rave reviews from others. Thanks so much Marie from my kitchen to yours. 5 stars all the way

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 15, 2011

      LOVE this recipe! Had to adjust a bit for the size of my breadmaker, but they turned out great. I also used part whole wheat and added gluten, plus subbed coconut oil for the butter. I think I will cut the sugar in half next time though, it was a bit too sweet for my taste, but all in all this is a keeper. Very easy and delicious. They were light and fluffy! Found a link to this recipe on Money Saving Mom.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 14, 2011

      Yum! I used parchment paper instead of the greased pan and it worked out great.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 13, 2011

      Very easy to make using the bread machine. I used 3/4c whole flour, 3tbsp wheat gluten and the balance All purpose flour. The buns are delicioius. Made half as hamburger and the other half as hotdog buns. Very light and fluffy...just what we were looking for. We will be making these again for sure.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 09, 2010

      These were easy & AWESOME! Per another review, instead of 3.75C bread flour, I used 1.5C whole wheat flour, 1.5C bread flour, and .75C regular oats. Thanks for sharing this recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 20, 2010

      Made these for use with Sloppy Joes for supper. My husband and all five kids loved them. Two of my boys even ate extra buns plain, no meat. The only change I made was substituting 1 1/2 cups of freshly ground whole wheat flour for an equal amount of the bread flour. Perfect!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 21, 2009

      Wow! I used half wheat flour, half bread flour, and these turned out FANTASTIC! They are soft, tasty, and make fantastic burgers. My only other modification was brushing olive oil on top instead of butter, as I ran out... worked like a charm. And because there are only two of us in this house, we usually use a few buns right away and freeze the rest. They come back very well from frozen after 30-40 seconds in the microwave!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 12, 2012

      Wow - it's amazing how the bread can really impact the burger! For the first time ever, my daughter ate a hamburger and I attribute it to the bun! I didn't cut out them out ... I just pulled off the amount of dough I wanted (I weighed the dough to make sure I had the same size buns - a lifesaver in this house!) and shaped it into a round. I used the "Proof" setting on my oven to rise them. When you make 18 rolls, they're the perfect slider size! Thanks for the great recipe! I'm making another batch as I write this!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 17, 2011

      Wow! I have to agree that these were REALLY good! I added slightly less sugar, and after brushing with the melted butter, I sprinkled on some dried minced onions and poppy seeds. I didn't cut them with the glass, just shaped them into an oval shape. They rose just fine, but mine took about 22 min to cook. We had them with some pulled pork, but both my DH and I also had another roll with just butter. I will definitely be making again! They would also be great for sandwiches or with soup!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 21, 2011

      Delicious, light and fluffy buns. I do take issue with the instructions to roll the dough to 1" thickness, though. I did this (yes I actually got out my ruler) and could only find a 3" glass to cut them out with so I thought I would get more than a dozen buns. I only got 101/2 buns...very tall buns. Some were 3" tall. Next time I make these (and there will be many next times) I'll do my best to find a 31/2" cutter and I'll roll the dough to less than an inch. All in all, a wonderful recipe, though. Thanks Marie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 01, 2008

      I made this recipe exactly as written with no deviations. The taste and texture of this bun is fantastic! I agree that I will probably never purchase store bought buns again. The only reason that I gave this recipe 4 stars instead of 5 is the method concerning rolling out the dough and cutting out the buns, which lead to a flatter bun. I made 6 buns by cutting them out and they turned out flat and not really what I would want in a hamburger bun. The second 6 buns I made by dividing the dough into 6 equal portions and rolling them into a ball. I brushed them with butter and topped with sesame and poppy seeds. The second set came out just like a good hamburger bun should; light, airy, nicely domed and absolutely perfect. I made these for my infamous stuffed bacon blue cheese burgers and the buns I rolled into balls where completely perfect in every way. I also suggest using this same method to make dinner rolls with this recipe. Perfection!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2004

      this is a great, easy recipe with quality result. I did use a large tuna can to cut since I wanted them for pork tendeloins. the dough is easy to work with , nice soft and tender.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 29, 2011

      I have made these rolls twice now. The first time as the recipe said & the second time, I made some changes as others had suggested. I halved the sugar & added 1 1/2 cups wholewheat flour & 2 1/4 white flour - my 14th month old daughter devoured the first batch, so I thought I'd try to make the second batch a bit healthier for her! - I have to say, the first were better than the second. We had the first batch with this BBQ Beef recipe: http://www.slowandsimple.com/Crockpot_Barbecue_Beef_for_Sandwiches-r-727.html & it was fantastic!

      For my third attempt, I will just use white flour, but I will still halve the sugar. The wholewheat flour made the rolls a bit spongy I found.

      Finally, instead of butter, I brushed them with egg white & sprinkled sesame seeds on the top so we could have them as authentic burger buns. It worked really well. I plan to add some garlic powder & sprinkle them with parmesan cheese next time to see how that would taste with a spaghetti bolognese.

      In all a very simple, effective & great recipe you can whip out when you know you've got people coming over but don't have time to get out to the shops! Thanks Marie :0)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2011

      I have a cuisinart bread machine. I used rapid rise yeast on the 'white rapid' setting. Buns came out great! I would definitely make these again, I can see how you could do a lot of variations with this basic recipe. Loved it!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 16, 2010

      Just took 12 of these beautiful buns out of the oven for the first time. I made these for burgers which I intended to make for dinner tomorrow but didn't make it as we ate them up right away. They are amazingly light, flavorful and I can see them being used for hamburgers, hot dogs, sandwiches and dinner rolls. LOVE EM! Thank you for sharing!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 06, 2010

      love this recipe! They came out soo soft n fluffy. Not to mention good! I would enjoy these by itself with some honey butter!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4 5 6 ... 11

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Hamburger Buns (Bread Machine)

    Serving Size: 1 (75 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 12

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 198.8
     
    Calories from Fat 32
    16%
    Total Fat 3.6 g
    5%
    Saturated Fat 1.9 g
    9%
    Cholesterol 24.1 mg
    8%
    Sodium 181.6 mg
    7%
    Total Carbohydrate 35.3 g
    11%
    Dietary Fiber 1.1 g
    4%
    Sugars 4.2 g
    17%
    Protein 5.5 g
    11%

    Advertisement


    Over 475,000 Recipes

    Food.com Network of Sites