12 Reviews

These granola bars are delicious and have some healthy ingredients too! I make these up for a quick bar to run on for my husband before work and for my son in the car. I use sunflower seeds instead of pecans, cashews, etc. Love them!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
chelseywhitfield October 21, 2012

This recipe is so delicious. My kids love it. Instead of sesame seed, I put in sunflower seeds. I didn't put in the coconut, and I drizzled chocolate over the top. This is going to be one of the snacks that I make my kids all the time.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
tmhaendel June 27, 2012

Fantastic granola bars! I made them using all the defaults except that I used agave nectar for honey because I was out of honey. Agave nectar is sweeter than honey, so I realize that I didn't need to add any of the sugar for that reason; I also believe another reviewer who suggested these are fine without the sugar, so I will use honey and omit the sugar next time. I can definitely see the mix/match possibilities with this recipe as gailanng and previous reviewers have suggested. I did notice that the bars were firm when I removed them from the 'fridge and started to fall apart as they came to room temp. Even so, I took a plate of them to work and everyone who tried them enjoyed them and one person even asked for the recipe. Thanks, gailanng! Made for Aussie Kiwi Recipe Swap #47 December 2010.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mersaydees April 29, 2011

I've never made a granola bar, and these turned out really great. I have to admit that though I was making a half-batch, I stuck with the original amounts for the wheat germ, sesame seeds, salt, cinnamon and vanilla. I used pecans and cranberries, and left out the coconut. I also cut them into squares instead of long bars...they are a perfect size when you just want something sweet but don't really need much. Absolutely love the flavor combination.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Karen67 February 01, 2011

Wow, were these ever a sleeper recipe! I've made a couple of granola bar recipes before, and wasn't particularly won over by them, but when I saw gailanng had one up for offer on PRMR Tag, I had to try it, as I've never been disappointed by her culinary deligts! And, wow, these are awesome! And so may potential options, too! I used golden flax seeds, and for my nuts, I used a combinations of almonds, pumpkin seeds (I know, I know), pecans, and macadamia nuts, added some fresh ground nutmeg in addition to the cinnamon. For the dried fruit, I used a combination of cranberries, dried cherries, and dried blueberries. So wonderful! Gratefully made for PRMR Tag! Thanks, gailanng, for sharing this fantasic recipe!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Katzen September 26, 2010

This is such a great recipe! It is easy and rather quick to make and the bars taste sooooooo yummy! Its very hard to stop eating them. :)
I made half the recipe using a mix of oats, corn flakes and cocoa puffs as well as a mix of dried cherries, cranberries and raisins.
I loved the combination of nuts, fruits and coconut. Soooooo moreish! YUM!
As my parents dont own a microwave, I melted the honey mixture on the stove-top, which took about 3 minutes on medium heat.
The bars needed a full night of refrigeration to harden enough for us to hold and eat them without breaking, but other than that everything worked perfectly as stated.
Next time I will leave out the sugar completely as I felt the honey made the bars sweet enough.
THANK YOU SO MUCH for sharing this awesome recipe with us, GailAnn!
Made and reviewed for the Aussie/NZ Recipe Swap #44 September 2010.

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Lalaloula September 19, 2010

Holy great granola bars batman! These are wonderful and pretty easy to prepare. I really like the flavors and also knowing that there are some mighty healthy ingredients. Thank you!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
LifeIsGood January 23, 2012

It was my first time doing granola bars and it won't be the last ;) I'm so pleased with the result. The taste is full of flavor, so good. I had to change a few things. I didn't have flax seed so I used chia seeds. I didn't have enough sesame seeds, so I used half white and half black. I didn't use salt. Thanks so much gailanng for posting this great recipe :) Made for Holiday tag game

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Boomette January 16, 2011

Great bar and easy to do. I used peanuts in mine. Quite an addictive slice - be warned !!

3 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
katew November 03, 2010

Wow, these turned out so good! I added lots of raisins, and only put in half the butter to make them really low fat. They still tasted amazing. I think next time I'll omit the butter all together. I kept them in the fridge and they stuck together nicely. Can't wait to make them again!

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Sugar Doll March 31, 2015
Homemade Granola Bars (Health or Energy Bars)