Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Gnocchi Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Gnocchi

    Average Rating:

    70 Total Reviews

    Showing 41-60 of 70

    Sort by:

    • on December 26, 2008

      Very good! Mine did not turn out as pretty as the picture but it tasted SO GOOD! I served it with a pink vodka sauce (Creamy Pink Vodka Sauce with Penne) and my husband and me AND the kids inhaled it! Very good and it froze well too.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 16, 2008

      These were great. My two-year-old loved them, as well as my sister who doesn't eat anything. A lot of work, but well worth the effort.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 11, 2008

      I really enjoyed these. Very simple and makes a ton! Others said they thought this was more like 4 servings but I think 8 is perfect. I got about 150-170 pieces. Thanks Marie!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 09, 2008

      I was expecting more flavor with the addition of a stronger cheese like romano, but these gnocchi didn't taste much different than potato and flour ones. The ricotta did give a great texture and none of these little guys went to waste here! I'm just not sure it's worth the expense of using the two cheeses, versus plain gnocchi. I'll definitely make this recipe again if I have leftover ricotta though.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 25, 2008

      Awesome recipe! My 6 yr old LOVES IT too!!!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 21, 2008

      This turned out soo good! DH said that it was better than the gnocchi we had in the Little Italy district of NYC. We froze half and ate the other half with tomatos and basil!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 05, 2008

      This is a winner recipe for gnocchi!! I , too, served it with the Olive Garden Gnocchi with spicey tomato and wine sauce!! FABULOUS!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 14, 2008

      I have always wanted to make homemade gnocchi, but the thought was frightening... my family abosuletly loves gnocchi and I decided to try this recipe after lots of searching on the internet. The preparation time was a lot longer for me than suggested. But the dough was easy to manage once mixed... it felt "right" in your hands. I made a small batch to try first and WOW delicious!!!!!! I can't wait to make it for the family tomorrow. They were light, and well... they melted in my mouth. Very tasty. I split the dough, rolled them into smaller balls, wrapped in plastic wrap put them in a freezer bag and I will finish shaping them tomorrow. Hopefully I will be able to freeze some. Now I need Alice Fazoolis recipe for Gnocchi alla vodka, I had that and it was to die for. I used parmesan cheese instead of romano and I clarified my own butter as in the recipe. This will be a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 20, 2008

      These turned out pretty good for my first time making gnocchi. I followed the recipe exactly, even though I questioned the measurements of the butter. The flavor was really good! I couldn't stop eating them as I took them out of the water to drain. Unfortunately, mine did not come out as light as a feather, they were actually quite heavy. Next time I should try making my pieces smaller and thinner. Thanks to those who submitted photos, as I really didn't know what shape I was going for. DH really liked it, he's great for trying new things. Thanks for a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2008

      Oh my word, this is GOOD...mmmm... I think I made mine too big, but oh well. I looked at how much was produced from this recipe and thought to myself "this is too much", but there's hardly anything left! It took some wrok to get this made, but I made it for Valentine's day dinner and it was a labor of love:). Thanks for a great recipe! BTW, used parmesan instead of romano just because that's all I had and it came out fine.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 04, 2007

    • on November 25, 2007

      Tom had some problems with this one. The 30 minute prep time was not even close. It took a lot of time to cook the tater, and work it into balls. So, ours were a little bigger than they should have been, but they were still very yummy! Comparable to what we get at Buca Di Beppo!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 25, 2007

      These were some of the tastiest homemade gnocchi I've ever had. Very easy to make and well worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on November 15, 2007

      These were very good; my neighbor makes her Grandmother's recipe all the time so they were being measured against a pro's gnocchi. I tried the whole pizza wheel method and think I cut them too large. Next time I will watch the size closer. Served with with Olive Garden "Olive Garden Gnocchi With Spicy Tomato and Wine Sauce" and it paired very nicely with it.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 28, 2007

      these were excellent, though a little grainy, perhaps I did something wrong. The flavor was great, and easy to make, though it definately took me more like an hour/hour and a half. For me i think next time i'll use 1 1/4 C ricotta, 3/4 C potato, as I would like them a little softer, though that is personal preference. Thanks!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 19, 2007

      We really enjoyed this dish! It was very simple to prepare- we ate half and froze half (6 servings total.) I substituted olive oil for the clarified butter and mixed shredded cheese for the romano cheese. It was even better the next day when we ate the leftovers!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2007

      I only had to use about 2 cups of flour (I always try to use a minimal amount as it seems chefs are always saying more flour means tougher foods), BUT I did have a huge potato. The dough was dreamy to work with. I made a batch of dumplings immediately. Then froze some lumps of dough. A few days later I took out the lumps and let them thaw overnight in the fridge and made a dish of gnocchi sorrentino within 15 min. of coming home from work. Tasted fresh still, definitely holds up well to the freezer. Very light and tasty. The first gnocchi recipe that worked in my hands. (didn't bother fork-forming the dough,left them as little pillows).

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 18, 2007

      Fab! I realized when I went to make this (I was intending on using sharp cheddar and some mozzerella (sp?)) that I didn't have nearly as much cheese as I thought AND the leftover mashed potatos I was going to use I had put corn in! :-/ So I went through the fridge, added some feta cheese, cheddar, and some sour cream to make up the cheese parts... turned out GREAT! I would say this is a fairly full proof recipe! VERY tastey - a big hit at my dinner get together!!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 28, 2006

      i think it is a really good recipe and is easy

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 22, 2006

      Have to admit, I was a bit leary of making these. The first gnocchi I ate (but did not make) were too tough, chewy and a bit bland. I bit the bullet and made these. SO glad I did. Perfect recipe. The texture was light, fluffy and enjoyable to eat. Simple to make. I cut them like you suggested, omiting the thumb print and left them to look like little pillows. I served them, tossed with pesto, as a side dish to minute steaks and fried squash. Very good. Made enough to serve 4 (with leftovers enough for a snack) and a batch to freeze. Thank you, Marie, for a delicious recipe. A definate keeper. Also one I will forward onto my brother, whom made the 'chewy and tough' ones I ate the first time. lol

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Gnocchi

    Serving Size: 1 (124 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 333.0
     
    Calories from Fat 110
    33%
    Total Fat 12.3 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.2 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 83.3 mg
    27%
    Sodium 497.2 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.9 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 13.6 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes