Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Gnocchi Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Gnocchi

    Average Rating:

    70 Total Reviews

    Showing 1-20 of 70

    Sort by:

    • on January 17, 2010

      OK - I'd LOVE to give this 4 1/2 stars, but RZ wouldn't let me... This recipe is ALMOST perfect! One thing you must remember when making this is that you DO NOT want it to get "dough-like" . Be careful not to add too much flour, let the dough be sticky (yes, you'll get some on your hands!).. That seems to be the only secret to make these absolutely perfect! My first batch was a bit too floury... second batch... perfect! Also feel free to sub leftover mashed 'taters from dinner for the potato portion.... Thanks, Marie, this was WONDEFUL.. and made a FANTASTIC dinner with a nice simple browned-butter sage/garlic sauce!!! Oh, Heck... I'll give it FIVE stars... After all, the ingredients and instructions were pretty much foolproof!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 07, 2007

      Wonderful! My 2 year old eats these straight from the colander! I used ghee instead of clarified butter (same thing I think). I had previously tried this recipe using olive oil instead of the clarified butter and parmesan instead of romano cheese but the texture wasn't as light. I used Pecorino Romano cheese. I devised a quick and easy method for making these: made the dough in my Kenwood Chef first using the whisk beater to beat the potato and eggs and then using the dough hook when I added the other ingredients. I processed it until the dough was smooth. Then I rolled the dough out on a floured board using a rolling pin until it was about 1/2 inch thick. Next, I used a pizza wheel to cut the dough criss-cross, making little squares. Much easier than rolling and cutting individual squares. This way I can make and cook these in under 20min!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on April 12, 2008

      I made gnocchi once before and it wasn't very good at all, this version was much, better, very light and fluffy! I subbed cottage cheese, as one reviewer suggested. I think one trick is to use as little flour as possible when you are working the dough--the less you use, the lighter the texture. For those that have never made clarified butter, it's very easy and can be done ahead of time. Heat a stick of butter on LOW heat until it melts, then skim the milk fats off the top and pour the liquid butter out, leaving the solids behind. I froze the leftovers on a sheet and they were great, so I will definitely make this ahead of time in the future. So much better than the stuff you buy at the grocery. Thank you for sharing.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 23, 2011

      Love it! I used parmesan instead of romano & olive oil for the butter. It does freeze great. We eat it w/ pesto.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on October 16, 2014

      YUMMY. I would make this again. I was always afraid to make these bc I thought they would be hard, but they were so not hard to make. I used a leftover baked potato and 1/2 c milk instead of butter. They came out perfect. I served them with homemade sauce and meatballs. I made them with my mom so we took turns kneading and then she rolled the dough and i cut and shaped them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 07, 2014

      These gnocchi are easy and taste amazing! I usually serve them with a vodka (or tomato-alfredo) sauce with spinach & chicken sausage medallions.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on March 01, 2014

      These are just perfect. The recipe is a lot of work, but it's so worth it because you end up with flavorful, fluffy gnocchi that are restaurant quality. I'm sure this will be my gnocchi recipe of choice for years to come- thanks for posting.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 24, 2014

      So light and delicious- better than any I've ever had in a restaurant! My first attempt at making gnocchi, but it sure won't be my last. Yes, it's a little time-consuming, but easy, and well worth the effort. I made half the recipe and it made about 75 gnocchi, so plenty left for me to freeze. I did substitute lowfat cottage cheese for the ricotta, as it was what I had on hand. I used a hand mixer to mix all ingredients up to the point of kneading. Worked out well. I laid the rolled out strips on a floured pastry board, so when I cut and formed them, I could just kind of "drag" them across the board for the "dusting" part. After cooking them I drained them in a colander, then added them to the sauce I had simmering on the stove; let them simmer about 2 minutes and then served. Thanks for such a great recipe!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 06, 2014

      This recipe worked well. Everyone enjoyed the finished product. The prep time isn't accurate.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 27, 2013

      I made this to go with the Chicken and Gnocchi soup I was making (Olive Garden Style Chicken and Gnocchi Soup). They were so yummy! My whole family loved them. I saved half of the gnocchi to be used the next time I make the Chicken and Gnocchi soup. I will definitely be making these again.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on January 30, 2013

      This is by far the most successful gnocchi recipe I've ever tried. They really are pretty light. The dough came together easily, and I did use my mixer (judiciously), finishing incorporating the flour by hand. One thing I did do was cook then riced the potatoes onto a baking sheet and let them cool, so they'd be less water-dense. I think this is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 03, 2012

      This recipe is, by far, the best gnocchis we have ever had. We like to think of ourselves as gnocchi experts but these are the best I have ever had in any fine dining Italian I've been to and I've been to many across this country. I cannot keep these in the freezer. As soon as I make them, my husband and son eat them up. Thanks so much. This is a keeper.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 19, 2011

      Made this with my tween girl. These came out good. Very simple and very tasty. It took us a while to get them all formed and cooked, I think next time I'll double the batch and get extra done at the same time.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 13, 2011

      I just made this and it super easy and tasty. I meant to freeze it all and make a sauce later, but I ended up making a couple (tunred into several) trial gnocchis that were devoured w/o sauce. Thanks for this recipe! I'll post pics when I make a complete meal.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 18, 2011

      pure perfection. I used fresh ricotta and subbed parmesan for romano. my first time making gnocchi and although a bit time consuming, well worth it!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 13, 2011

      These were really yummy! I have never made gnocchi before, and these were really good. I did not know that making these would be so exhausting, but it was well worth the effort. I wasn't sure how long to keep them in boiling water, as some popped to the surface sooner than others, and I have only had gnocchi a few times, and wasn't sure of the perfect consistency. This made the perfect dinner for my boyfriend and I and our celebration of Valentine's Day :] I tossed these with homemade pesto, chicken, and roasted tomatoes and asparagus. My boyfriend was totally impressed. Thanks for a great main dish!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 02, 2011

      With so many reviews on this one already all I have to say is this made one delicious meal that my whole family loved! I was very proud of myself for conquering these on the first try!

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 01, 2011

      Delicious! They are tender, not doughy, and tasty.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on September 15, 2010

      Excellent recipe! My husband commented that on a scale of 1-10, he would give these an 11
      They remind me of my Sicilian grandmothers gnocchi. I made a homemade spaghetti sauce with It. sausage to go with them.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 08, 2010

      These were wonderful! I added some fresh chopped basil and paired very well with a homemade pasta sauce and fresh mozzerella.

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    « Previous 1 2 3 4

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Gnocchi

    Serving Size: 1 (124 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 8

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 333.0
     
    Calories from Fat 110
    33%
    Total Fat 12.3 g
    18%
    Saturated Fat 7.2 g
    36%
    Cholesterol 83.3 mg
    27%
    Sodium 497.2 mg
    20%
    Total Carbohydrate 40.9 g
    13%
    Dietary Fiber 1.6 g
    6%
    Sugars 0.5 g
    2%
    Protein 13.6 g
    27%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes