73 Reviews

OK - I'd LOVE to give this 4 1/2 stars, but RZ wouldn't let me... This recipe is ALMOST perfect! One thing you must remember when making this is that you DO NOT want it to get "dough-like" . Be careful not to add too much flour, let the dough be sticky (yes, you'll get some on your hands!).. That seems to be the only secret to make these absolutely perfect! My first batch was a bit too floury... second batch... perfect! Also feel free to sub leftover mashed 'taters from dinner for the potato portion.... Thanks, Marie, this was WONDEFUL.. and made a FANTASTIC dinner with a nice simple browned-butter sage/garlic sauce!!! Oh, Heck... I'll give it FIVE stars... After all, the ingredients and instructions were pretty much foolproof!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
cylee January 17, 2010

Wonderful! My 2 year old eats these straight from the colander! I used ghee instead of clarified butter (same thing I think). I had previously tried this recipe using olive oil instead of the clarified butter and parmesan instead of romano cheese but the texture wasn't as light. I used Pecorino Romano cheese. I devised a quick and easy method for making these: made the dough in my Kenwood Chef first using the whisk beater to beat the potato and eggs and then using the dough hook when I added the other ingredients. I processed it until the dough was smooth. Then I rolled the dough out on a floured board using a rolling pin until it was about 1/2 inch thick. Next, I used a pizza wheel to cut the dough criss-cross, making little squares. Much easier than rolling and cutting individual squares. This way I can make and cook these in under 20min!

4 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
npsmama October 07, 2007

I made gnocchi once before and it wasn't very good at all, this version was much, better, very light and fluffy! I subbed cottage cheese, as one reviewer suggested. I think one trick is to use as little flour as possible when you are working the dough--the less you use, the lighter the texture. For those that have never made clarified butter, it's very easy and can be done ahead of time. Heat a stick of butter on LOW heat until it melts, then skim the milk fats off the top and pour the liquid butter out, leaving the solids behind. I froze the leftovers on a sheet and they were great, so I will definitely make this ahead of time in the future. So much better than the stuff you buy at the grocery. Thank you for sharing.

2 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
Renegade Chef April 12, 2008

Love it! I used parmesan instead of romano & olive oil for the butter. It does freeze great. We eat it w/ pesto.

1 person found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mandapanda713 August 23, 2011

excellent recipe. This are many variations you cannot go wrong, these are so easy and forgiving. some additional advice: 1. use a lot of flour at each step to keep them from sticking. It does not effect the lightness of the final product. 2. I always keep the dough well chilled to ease handling. 3. These freeze very easily on a cookie sheet, then just pile them into a bag when frozen. 4. Cook completely frozen or you will end up with a soggy mess. 5. I roll the dough into "snakes" then cut small pieces off, you can leave them like that or press in the center with you thumb or as I do, I roll them off a fork to give a shell like appearance. 6. Cut small pieces as these swell when cooked, about the size of a finger nail (NOT thumb nail).

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
johnlee96 September 21, 2015

First time making gnocchi at home and it turned out so good!! Thanks to this awesome recipe. The only change I made was the cheese. I grabbed an 8-oz bag of shredded Italian six-cheese mix. The gnocchi was very smooth, tasty and filling! Will totally make it again! Thanks for posting!

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
SharonChen August 06, 2015

Kids ate it up. Used Ghee instead of butter. Cooked quickly, and very filling.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
MH33 February 21, 2015

YUMMY. I would make this again. I was always afraid to make these bc I thought they would be hard, but they were so not hard to make. I used a leftover baked potato and 1/2 c milk instead of butter. They came out perfect. I served them with homemade sauce and meatballs. I made them with my mom so we took turns kneading and then she rolled the dough and i cut and shaped them.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
mish1nyc October 16, 2014

These gnocchi are easy and taste amazing! I usually serve them with a vodka (or tomato-alfredo) sauce with spinach & chicken sausage medallions.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
ruthie655 May 07, 2014

These are just perfect. The recipe is a lot of work, but it's so worth it because you end up with flavorful, fluffy gnocchi that are restaurant quality. I'm sure this will be my gnocchi recipe of choice for years to come- thanks for posting.

0 people found this helpful. Was it helpful to you? [Yes] [No]
rpgaymer March 01, 2014
Homemade Gnocchi