Recipe Sifter

X
  • Start Here
    • Course
    • Main Ingredient
    • Cuisine
    • Preparation
    • Occasion
    • Diet
    • Nutrition
1

Select () or exclude () categories to narrow your recipe search.

2

As you select categories, the number of matching recipes will update.

Make some selections to begin narrowing your results.
  • Calories
  • Amount per serving
    1. Total Fat
    2. Saturated Fat
    3. Polyunsat. Fat
    4. Monounsat. Fat
    5. Trans Fat
  • Cholesterol
  • Sodium
  • Potassium
  • Total Carbohydrates
    1. Dietary Fiber
    2. Sugars
  • Protein
  • Vitamin A
  • Vitamin B6
  • Vitamin B12
  • Vitamin C
  • Calcium
  • Iron
  • Vitamin E
  • Magnesium
  • Alcohol
  • Caffeine
  • Find exactly what you're looking for with the web's most powerful recipe filtering tool.

    You are in: Home / Recipes / Homemade Gel Pack Recipe
    Lost? Site Map

    Homemade Gel Pack

    Average Rating:

    36 Total Reviews

    Showing 21-36 of 36

    Sort by:

    • on June 10, 2005

      I used half alcohol. It was nice and slushy for when I had my wisdom teeth out. These stay cold for a long time and seem to freeze fairly quickly as well. I kept four packs (two for use while two froze again) and I was never without a pair of ice packs. Thank you for the inexpensive, slushy alternative!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 14, 2005

      A friend taught me to do this a couple years ago when my DH needed ice packs for several days. Worked great and a whole lot cheaper than the store bought ones. Glad you thought to share this great tip with others.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on February 06, 2005

      This is a great Idea!!! I used this recipe and then made a sleave to go over it. (kinda like a pillow case, but i added velcro to the ends so the Ice pack won't fall out.) I injured my back 2 years ago and I go thru them so quickly, that this is deffinatly the best solution yet. Thank you for this recipe!!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 28, 2004

      My husband just had foot surgery and this worked better than the icepack the hospital sent home. Thanks!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on August 07, 2004

      Thanks for sharing this great idea! I too used the vacuum sealer, and also added a bit of food coloring to the mix. I think I'll try the towel idea too . . .

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on July 23, 2004

      This works great! DH is 49 but tries to play sports like he is still 19 years old. I was tired of my ice always being used on his assorted injuries. Now this is always in the freezer waiting for him. His verdict is definitely five stars.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 11, 2004

      I used a 2:1 ratio (instead of 3:1) and had a very smooshy gel pack. Worked really well to get rid of a headache!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 07, 2004

      I made this in a zip lock bag, wrapped it in a couple of paper towels & place in the bottom of my husband's lunch box. Since it kept his salad plate cold, it will be used often in the summer months. Thanx JustaQT!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2004

      My husband hurt his ankle playing "ultimate football" for pt last week, and I remembered seeing this recipe for an icepack. I wipped up one, put it in a ziplock bag- He said that it really helped with his pain. Thanks so much for sharing!!!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2004

      This is an excellent ice pack! This formula was recommended to me by a physical therapist at Ft. Hood, TX four years ago for my daughter's knee problems. I, too, put it into a vacuum-seal microwave/freezer weight food storage bag. I'm glad you thought to post it, QT!

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 28, 2004

      Just had to try this when I saw the recipe. I've been having knee trouble and this worked great! I came here to leave the tip to freeze and then put in the vacuum sealer and you had all beat me to it!! lol.. But I also did something a little different. I folded a cotton dish towel and inserted it into the bag along with the water and alcohol. I froze it flat on the shelf in the freezer and it works great. It's very flexible, too.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2004

      My son is a baseball pitcher. Made these up for him to use on his arm. I also followed Amy's advice and put it in a vacuum sealer bag. I froze it in a resealable bag first and thin added the frozen ice to the vacuum bag.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2004

      I take physical therapy 3 times a week. this is the same recipe.That I was given to make up and use at home. I was told to use 2 1 gallon size zip loc- bag. It is a great thing to have on hand for all the things Amy mentioned,plus works great for headaches.(20 minutes on) Thanks, Amy:>)

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on May 27, 2004

      Cool. Use one of those vacuum food sealers for a very reusable product.

      person found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on June 22, 2012

      This recipe works, whoever thought of this is genius. However, I have a problem finding something to put it in. I used 2-1 gallon baggies and it leaked in my freezer so needless to say, my freezer smelled of alcohol. If anyone can tell me something to put this in that doesn't leak besides the vacuum sealer (I don't own one) I sure would appreciate it because I really need one of these ice packs. Thank you

      people found this review Helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes | No
    • on December 21, 2005

    1 2 Next »

    Advertisement

    Nutritional Facts for Homemade Gel Pack

    Serving Size: 1 (811 g)

    Servings Per Recipe: 1

    Amount Per Serving
    % Daily Value
    Calories 0.0
     
    Calories from Fat 0
    %
    Total Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Saturated Fat 0.0 g
    0%
    Cholesterol 0.0 mg
    0%
    Sodium 21.3 mg
    0%
    Total Carbohydrate 0.0 g
    0%
    Dietary Fiber 0.0 g
    0%
    Sugars 0.0 g
    0%
    Protein 0.0 g
    0%

    Advertisement


    Food.com Network of Sites

    • Mexican Recipes
    • Chinese Recipes
    • Australian Recipes
    • Breakfast Recipes
    • Greek Recipes
    • Restaurant Recipes
    • Italian Recipes
    • Christmas Recipes
    • Thanksgiving Recipes
    • Southern Recipes
    • Dessert Recipes
    • Deep Fried Recipes
    • Thai Recipes
    • Low Cholesterol Recipes
    • Indian Recipes
    • Healthy Recipes
    • Meatloaf Recipes